Articles & Databases

Kent Library offers a wide-variety of databases to help with your research. Hover over the links to the left with your mouse to view a brief description of each database.

This icon indicates a library subscription resource. If off campus, please log in with your Southeast ID.


Not sure where to start?
Search over 16,000 full text journals:

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 12,665 titles, with over 9,745 titles in full-text. This is a great source for research in almost any field of study.

Tags: 

AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)

AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.

America History & Life (EBSCOhost)

America History & Life (EBSCOhost)

America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is an important reference tool for students of U.S. and Canadian history.

Tags: 

American Memory

American Memory

The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections. There are currently over 60 collections in the American Memory Historical Collections.

Archive Finder

Archive Finder

Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Credo is a collection of 360+ reference titles covering a wide range of subjects. It features a unique concept mapping/visual search functionality and other useful research tools, such as a unit and measurement converter and quick find gadgets for quotations, holidays, and locations.

Edgar: SEC filings

Edgar: SEC filings

he EDGAR: SEC Filings database performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Films on Demand

Films on Demand

A streaming video library including over 12,000 titles covering a wide range of academic subjects from freshman to graduate level. Content includes documentaries, lectures, instructional/curricular videos, and historical primary source videos.

Tags: 

GPO (FirstSearch)

GPO (FirstSearch)

GPO (U.S.Government Printing Office) Monthly Catalog offers coverage of various U.S. government documents. This includes Congressional reports, hearings, debates, records, as well as any documents released by the following U.S. government departments: Defense, State, Labor, and Office of the President.

Tags: 

HathiTrust

HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)

Historical Abstracts is a resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Tags: 

IEEE Xplore

IEEE Xplore

A digital library that provides access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Access is provided to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.

Issues & Controversies

Issues & Controversies

Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, Issues and Controversies offers in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates.

Iter - Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Iter - Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Iter is an Open URL- and Zotero-enabled bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library

This database provides instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. Over 1,000 online practice tests and interactive skill-building tutorials are available, along with more than 200 eBook titles-all developed by expert academic and industry professionals.

MAS Ultra School Edition (EBSCOhost)

MAS Ultra School Edition (EBSCOhost)

MAS Ultra - School Edition provides full-text from over 460 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 520 magazines; over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text; 5,000 full-text Magill Book Reviews; full-text of 140 Macmillan books; over 540 health and science-related pamphlets in full-text; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; and Essential Documents in American History.

Tags: 

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library

Offers streaming audio of musical works with access to more than 98,490 CDs with more than 1,429,800 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record labels, along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock being represented.

Naxos Sheet Music

Naxos Sheet Music

This sheet music library offers 100,000 titles/works, including music from the catalogs of BMG, Alfred, EMI, Mel Bay among others. In contrast to the Classical Scores library, most of the works here are geared toward solo and ensemble performance sheet music, as opposed to study scores.

Open Library

Open Library

Over 20 million book records from a variety of large catalogs as well as single contributions, with more on the way, and the goal of cataloging every book ever published.

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online

Provides access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links, and 5,500 images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as more than 5,000 entries and 500 images from the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Thematic timelines and learning resources also provide users with powerful tools for navigating the content.

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online offers users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location, providing more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works, as well as more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works, including detailed information across a broad subject range.

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 12,665 titles, with over 9,745 titles in full-text. This is a great source for research in almost any field of study.

Tags: 

Psychology Journals (ProQuest)

Psychology Journals (ProQuest)

Psychology Journals provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1,000 titles and also includes 4,000 full-text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines. Users also have access to charts, diagrams, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research

Tags: 

Religion (ProQuest)

Religion (ProQuest)

Religion (ProQuest) covers religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies.

Tags: 

Snapshots (ProQuest)

Snapshots (ProQuest)

rovides concise business information including market size, market segmentation, market shares, market share weblinks, market distribution, market forecasts, and socio-economic data provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit, along with a list of "further sources" for additional research opportunities.

Something About the Author

Something About the Author

This database provides biographical profiles for authors, including addresses, career, awards and honors, writings, essays about the author’s life and works, adaptations, as well as additional sources for research. Includes more than 12,000 entries and nearly 17,000 images.

Wright American Fiction

Wright American Fiction

A digital collection of 2,887 titles allows insight into American literature, culture, and history otherwise unattainable. The Wright corpus is now full-text searchable in its entirety, comprised of edited, mid-level encoded texts and unedited, minimally encoded texts.

Tags: