http://library.semo.edu/images/riverboat.jpg
 
 
 
 

 

http://library.semo.edu/images/guide_title.jpg

.

 

World Cultures

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on world cultures.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |    Web Resources  |  Additional Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

A Guide to Countries of the World
The African American Encyclopedia
(R 973.0496073 Af824)
American Immigrant Cultures
(R 305.800973 Am249)
Countries and Their Cultures (R 306.03 C83265)
CultureGrams
(R 909.828 C899)
Encyclopedia of African Peoples
(R 305.896003 En193)
Encyclopedia of Community
(R 307.03 En194)
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
(R 980.003 En183)
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
(R 306.03 En182)
The Encyclopedia of Religion
(R 200.321 En19)
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
(R 305.403 En198)
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
(R 306.03 En19)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
(R 973.0497 G131)
The World Factbook
(R 910.5 W893)
Women in the Third World
(R 305.4209172 W8425)
World Encyclopedia
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
(R 305.8003 W893)

[go to top of page]

 

Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
County and City Data Book
(R 317 Un3c)
A Dictionary of World History
A Dictionary of World Mythology
The Dorling Kindersley World Reference Atlas
(R 912 D7351d2)
The Statesman's Yearbook
(R 305 St29)
Statistical Abstract of the United States
(R 317 Un3)
The World Almanac (R 310 W893)
World Flags
World Maps

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and magazine articles, use the following print sources:

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Humanities Index, 1974+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1966-1974)
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
International Index to Periodicals, 1907 - 1965
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier
America: History and Life
Historical Abstracts
JSTOR
Project Muse

ProQuest Research Library
Wilson OmniFile

[go to top of page]

 

Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Some appropriate subject headings include:
Cross-cultural studies
Cultural awareness
Culture
Intercultural communication
Language and culture
Mass Media and culture
Politics and culture
Religion and culture
Subculture

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you in the right subject areas.

[go to top of page]

 

Web Resources

The British Museum
   (http://www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk/world/world.html)
Country Studies
   (http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/)
Foreign Government Resources on the Web
   (http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/foreign.html)
Internet Resources for Social and Cultural Anthropology
   (http://www2.lib.udel.edu/subj/anth/soccult/internet.htm)
Portals to the World
   (http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html)
U.S. Census Bureau
   (http://www.census.gov)
World Cultures
(http://www.princetonol.com/groups/iad/lessons/middle/world.htm)

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searthing tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]

Additional Resources

CIA World Factbook
   (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook)
Doing Business in ...
  
(do a title search in Galahad)

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/ cp
last updated: 3/9/09