.


 

Theatre

This guide surveys the discipline of theatre broadly, from acting to history to scenic design.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Other 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias, other reference works, and evaluated subject directories such as Librarians' Internet Index, are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They can provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading. 

Cambridge guide to theatre R 792.0321 C144 1995
Librarians' Internet Index > Performing Arts Web resource
The Oxford companion to american theatre library subscription source
The Oxford companion to the theatre R 792.03 C748
The Oxford encyclopedia of theatre & performance library subscription source & R792.03 Ox25 
Oxford Reference Online
(performing arts, architecture, art)
library subscription database
Performing Arts Encyclopedia - from the Library of Congress Web resource

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.  Sources with call #s preceded by R, are located in Kent Reference, main floor.

Facts on File dictionary of the theatre R 792.03 F119
The Tony Award: a complete listing of winners and nominees ... R 792.097309 T616 2001
[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases & to access these online resources, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following print indexes and online databases:

Academic Search Premier 
multidisciplinary database, cover theatre journals
library subscription database
ARTstor
images
library subscription database
E Journal Portal   - gateway to "shelves" of full text journals & magazines library subscription resource
Full text online theatre journals & magazines library subscription resource
MLA
covers theatre as literature
library subscription database
Project Muse 
includes full text theatre journals
library subscription database
Westlaw Campus Research
reviews of plays & shows from many newspapers
library subscription database
Wilson Web OmniFile
includes Art Index & Humanities Index
library subscription database

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk.

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

391s    fashion / costume
646s    dressmaking, clothing and dress
792s    acting, costume design, directing, lighting and scene design, theater / theatre in general, theaters
800s     literature - includes plays and dramatic works, criticism

[go to top of page]
 
People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Notable women in American theatre R 927.92082 N843
Who's who in contemporary world theatre R 927.92 W613
[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Alliance for Theatre and Education
Google - Theatre Organizations
Southeastern Theatre Conference (SETC)
Theatre Communications Group
Theatre Communications Group - Member Companies
United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT)
Yahoo - Theatre Organizations
 

[go to top of page]
 
Other


Acting

Playing the audience: the practical actor's guide to live performance 792.028 N542p
Working on a new play: a play development handbook for actors, directors, designers & playwrights 792.0293 C6603w

Costumes

Costume construction 687.16 St815c
Costume design 792.026 An23c2
Costume design: techniques of modern masters 792.0260922 P337
Costume designer's handbook 792.026 In43c2
Costume Gallery Web resource
Costume in detail, 1730-1930 R 391.00942 B727c 1997
Costumer's Manifesto Web resource
Costume technician's handbook 646.47 In4c3
Designing and making stage costumes 792.026 M857d 1992
Designing stage costumes 792.026 T3936d
Fairchild's dictionary of fashion R 391.00321 C125f2
More costumes for the stage 792.026 J138m 1998

Directing and Management

The Directing process  (video) IM/DV 7088
Stage directing 792.0233 B1934s
Stage management  (video) IM/DV 569

History

Cambridge history of American theatre R 792.0973 C1443
History of the theatre 792.09 B782h9
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) Web resource
Theatre History on the web Web resource
Search for an American voice in theater  (video) IM/VC 9373-9378

Lighting, Sound, and Scene Design

Design and drawing for the theatre 792.025 P337d
Design and painting for the theatre 792.025 P337de
Google Directory - Stagecraft Web resource
Handbook of scenery, properties, and lighting 792.0250202 Sw36h
Introduction to technical theater  (video) IM/DV 565
Lighting for theater (video) IM/DV 567
Scene design and stage lighting 792.025 P229s8
Scenographic imagination 792.025 P293s3
Set design IM/DV 570
Stage crafts 792.023 H6797S2
Theory and craft of the scenographic model 792.0250228 P293t

Make-Up

The complete make-up artist 792.027 D3731c2
Period make-up for the stage 792.027 Sw64p
Stage makeup 792.027 C818s7
Stage makeup: step-by-step 792.027 Sw64s
Theatrical FX makeup 792.027 Sa773t

Musical Theatre

American musical theatre: a chronicle R 782.140973 B644a3
Broadway - the American musical Web resource
The encyclopedia of the musical theatre R 782.1403 G159e2
Musicals101.com Web resource

Plays and Playwrights

The Best Plays 822.2 M3194
and 822.2 M319
The Crown guide to the world's great plays from ancient Greece to modern times R 809.2 Sh64c 1984
Google Directory - Contemporary Playwrights Web resource
The Ivan R. Dee guide to plays and playwrights R 928 G8759t
New playwriting strategies 808.2 C274n
Play Index R 808.820016 P698
Playbill Web resource
TheaterMania Web resource
Yahoo - Playwrights Web resource

 

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ CAR
created 11/05; updated 04/09