.

 
Technical graphics

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on technical graphics.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Dictionary of art. (R 703 D561)
HarperCollins dictionary of art terms and techniques (R 703 M452h2 )   
Illustration index (R  741.65016 Il697 1980)  

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, use the following print sources:


To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
Proquest Research Library
Wilson Omnifile 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Cad Cam Systems
Computer Aided Design
Computer graphics
Mechanical Drawing
Technical Illustration

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

006.6 Computer graphics
604.2 Technical drawing
741-743 Drawing
760 Graphic arts.
 

[go to top of page]
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

ACM SIGGRAPH. (Association for Computing Machinery graphics special interest group)
IEEE Technical Committee On Visualization and Graphics  
The National Association of Industrial Technology (NAIT)
-Graphics division of NAIT
[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources

Selected list of web resources from SIGGRAPH

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/KS
last updated: 08/18/2006