.

 
Sport Management

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research in the field of Sport Management.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  | Checking the Facts | Find Articles

Find Books | Organizations | Web Resources | Career Resources


Background Information

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.  Those that begin with "R" are in the reference collection on the third floor.  Those with hyperlinks are electronic, and can be accessed from anywhere.
Business: The Ultimate Resource Credo Reference Coll.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society R 174.403 En193
Handbook of Sports Economics Research 338.47796 H19174
Major League Leases: an overview of major league facility leases and how they are negotiated R 796.068 An242m
The Nonprofit Handbook: Fund Raising R 658.048 N733
The Nonprofit Handbook: Management  R 658.048 N7324 1997
Sports, Jobs and Taxes: the economic impact of sports teams and stadiums R 338.43796 Sp 676
The Stadium Game R 796.068 G829s2
[go to top of page]

Checking the Facts
Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.  Those that begin with "R" are in the Reference Collection on the third floor.  Those with hyperlinks are electronic, and can be accessed from anywhere.  Those that begin with a number are in the Kent Stacks on the fourth floor.
A Dictionary of Business Terms Being processed.  Ask at reference desk.
A Dictionary of Business and Management Oxford Reference Coll.
Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism Credo Reference Coll.
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media R 070 Ay2414 2007
Law of Professional and Amateur Sports R 344.099 C412
The Marketing Glossary R 658.800202 C591m
Pioneers in Public Recreation 927.96 B976p
Revenues and expenses of Divisions I and II intercollegiate athletics programs : financial trends and relationships. 796.043021 F957r Div.1-2  1999
Revenues and expenses of Division III intercollegiate athletics programs : financial trends and relationships. 796.043021 F957r Div. 3  1999
The Sport Summit Sports Business Directory R 796.02573 Sp67 2000
Understanding American Business Jargon : a Dictionary R 650.03 F73u2
World Tourism Directory R 338.4791025 W893
[go to top of page]

Find Articles
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page.

To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and magazine articles, use the following print sources:

Physical Education Index 1978 - 2003 (Print Index-Table 5, Main Floor)
Social Sciences Index 1974 - 1985. Previously Social Sciences and Humanities Index 1965 - 1974. (Print Index- Table 3, Main Floor)

To find recent articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier

ABI Inform Complete -includes Global, Dateline and Trade & Industry

Business Full Text (Wilson)

Business Source Premier - business enhanced interface

EconLit

ERIC (FirstSearch) - Education Resource Information Center

Proquest Research Library -Select "Business Module" from Multiple database list.

SPORTSDiscus

SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network

Westlaw Campus- Under categories, check on the "Business" and "Advertising & Marketing" boxes.

WilsonOmni File

Title not Indexed

Team Marketing Report  - Periodicals, Main Floor of Library.

[go to top of page]

Find Books
Use the Kent Library Catalog to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.

Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor. Below are sample subject headings.

Coaches Athletics Sports Administration
College Athletes Psychology Sports Facilities Management
Communication in Management Sports Moral and Ethical Aspects
Olympics Sports Public Relations
Organizational Behavior Sports Psychological Aspects
Physical Education Facilities Sports Sociological Aspects
Professional Sports United States Sportsmanship
Professionalism in Sports Stadiums Economic Aspects United States
Recreation Areastd>  
Sex discrimination in Sports Law and Legislation

Selected Sources

The Business of Sport Management 796.069 B9647
Diversity in Sport Organizations 796.069 C9173d
Foundations of Sport Management 796.069 F8254
An Insider's Guide to Managing Sporting Events 796.069 So474i
Managing Sport Organizations 796.069 Ac72m
Man, Play and Games 301.21 C122m
Sport Finance 796.069 F9125s
Sociology of Sport: An Annotated Bibliogrpahy Available through MOBIUS
Sport and Social Systems Available through MOBIUS
Sport: A Philosophic Inquiry Available through MOBIUS
[go to top of page]

Organizations
Consult these organizations for information on  conferences, accreditation, workshops, additional resources,  etc.

Organization

Web Address

The American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance www.aahperd.org/ 
International Olympic Committee

www.olympic.org/uk/organisation/

ioc/index_uk.asp

National Association for Sport and Physical Education www.aahperd.org/naspe/template.cfm
North American Society for Sports Management www.nassm.org/
International Association for Assembly Managers www.iaam.org/
International Coach Federation www.coachfederation.org/
Positive Coaching Alliance www.positivecoach.org/
Sport and Recreation Law Association http://srlaweb.org/
Sports Lawyers Association www.sportslaw.org/
Sport Marketing Association www.sportmarketingassociation.com/
Sporting Good Manufacturer Associations www.sgma.com
Stadium Managers Association www.stadiummanagers.org/
Women's Sports Foundation  www.womenssportsfoundation.org/cgi-bin/iowa/

 

[go to top of page]

Web Resources

 

Page Web Address
FindLaw.com - Sports Law News

http://news.findlaw.com/legalnews/

sports/

MLB - Major League Baseball

 

http://mlb.mlb.com/index.jsp
NBA - National Basketball Association www.nba.com
NFL - National Football League www.nfl.com
NCAA - National Collegiate Athletic Association. http://www.ncaa.org/wps/ncaa?ContentID=101
NHL - National Hockey League www.nhl.com
SEVT - Sport, Entertainment, and Venues Tomorrow Conference http://www.sevt.org/
SIRC - Sport Information Resource Centre

Check out Monthly Features & Newsletter!

www.sirc.ca  
Sports: Breaking Records, Breaking Barriers

A new exhibit from the Smithsonian.

http://americanhistory2.si.edu/sports
United Soccer Leagues www.uslsoccer.com
WNBA www.wnba.com

 

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]

Career Resources
  • Career Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations 659.02373 F458c4

  • Career Opportunities in the Sports Industry  R 331.702 F458

  • Peterson's Internships R 378.34 In81 2005

  • Graduate Schools Directory - Sports Administration/Sports Management/School Athletics www.gradschools.com/programs/sports_administration.html

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/ md / mwh
last updated: 1/23/2009