|
The purpose of this guide is to
point out resources useful in preparing for teaching careers in
the sciences. Disciplines span the sciences from Astronomy through
Zoology, with emphasis
on the foundation sciences of Biology, Chemistry, and Physics.
Background Information |
Facts & Figures |
Databases |
Periodical Indexes |
Books and Other Cataloged
Materials | People |
Web
Resources |
Professional Associations |
Foundations |
Encyclopedias and other
reference works are an excellent place to start a research project
or to gather basic information about a topic. They provide
summaries and bibliographies while
also placing given topics in context with related areas of inquiry.
Grzimek's Animal Life
Encyclopedia (R 591 G929g 2003)
Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals
(R599 G929)
Encyclopedia of Water Science
(R
627.03 En198)
Science in the Enlightenment: An Encyclopedia
(R
509.03 B9379s)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
(R
503 M178 2002)
The Encyclopedia of Soil Science
(R
631.403 En192)
Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate
(R
551.603 Al518e)
Encyclopedia of Evolution (R
576.803 En194)
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia (R
503 V839 2002)
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
(R
551.203 R51e 2001)
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution: From Copernicus to
Newton (R
509.403 En197)
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
(R
363.703 En194)
Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia
(R
502.84 In7)
Encyclopedia of Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Cyclones
(R 551.552 L866)
Q is for Quantum: An Encyclopedia of Particle Physics
(R 539.703 G8711q)
History of Astronomy: An Encyclopedia
(R 520.3 H629)
[Return
to top]
Use dictionaries, statistical
works, atlases, handbooks, and similar works to find and check facts
about topics, people, or events.
International Handbook of
Science Education (R 507 In8)
The New York Public Library Science Desk Reference
(Ref Desk 500 B263n)
The Facts on File Dictionary of Astronomy
(R 520.321 F119 2000)
The Facts on File Dictionary of Biology
(R 574.03 F119 1999)
The Facts on File Dictionary of Botany
(R 580.3 F1198)
The Facts on File Dictionary of Marine Science
(R
551.46003 F1198 2001)
An A to Z of DNA Science: What Scientists Mean When They Talk
About Genes and
Genomes (R
576.503 W775a)
Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary
(R 631.405 So341)
A Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics
(R 574.50321 L638d2)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
(R 547.00212 C421)
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry
(R 540.3 M178)
Larousse Dictionary of Science and Technology
(R 503 L328 1995)
[Return
to top]
Kent Library subscribes to a
wide range of databases which provide access to journal articles
in subjects across the curriculum. The following are particularly
useful in science education:
| AGRICOLA |
The database of the National
Agricultural
Library, it provides indexing for journal articles,
books, and government documents.
|
| Basic BIOSIS |
Subsumed under FirstSearch,
it indexes core
journals in the life sciences.
|
| Wilson Omnifile |
A full-text database, it
includes indexing,
abstracts, and full text for a good share of the
articles indexed in the Biological and
Agricultural Index and the General Science
Index.
|
| CINAHL |
Indexes and abstracts the
nursing and allied
health journal literature.
|
| MEDLINE |
The database of the National
Library of
Medicine, it provides indexing for journals in
medicine, nursing, and dentistry.
|
| National Library for the
Environment |
A freely available database
which includes
information on EPA Superfund sites and a
wide range of other resources. Produced by
The National Council for Science and the
Environment. Provides access to
Congressional Research Service Reports
related to the environment. Also includes a
variety of other resources, including career
information, links to environmentally focused
webpages, local to international reports,
bulletin boards and more.
|
| GeoBase |
Subsumed under FirstSearch,
this database
indexes the Worldwide literature on geography,
geology, and ecology
|
| IEEE Computer Society
Digital Library |
Full text of 22 IEEE
computing journals, and
over 150 annual conference proceedings.
|
| ERIC |
Subsumed under FirstSearch,
ERIC provides
citation and abstract information from over 750
educational journals and related documents
from the Educational Resource Information
Center and educational symposium report
literature dating back to 1967. References to
thousands of educational topics. Includes
journal articles, books, theses, curricula,
conference papers, and standards and
guidelines.
|
[Return
to top]
Kent Library subscribes to
periodical indexes and abstracts which provide access to journal
articles in subjects across the curriculum. The following are
particularly useful in science
education:
General Science Index
Biological Abstracts
Physics Abstracts
Zoological Record
Education Index
Chemical Abstracts (local holdings end with volume 114, 1991;
more recent postings are
available online through the Chemistry Department)
[Return
to top]
Kent Library's online catalog
includes books, government documents, video and audio
recordings, and other types of materials. Examples of Library of
Congress subject headings
which are useful in searching for materials related to science education
include:
Science -- Study and teaching
Science -- Experiments
Science teachers -- Training of
Biology -- Study and teaching
Chemistry -- Study and teaching
Earth sciences -- Study and teaching
Ecology -- Study and teaching
Physics -- Study and teaching
Books dealing with the sciences
will generally be found in the following call number areas:
500
Science
520 Astronomy
530 Physics
540 Chemistry
550 Earth sciences & geology
560 Fossils & prehistoric life
570 Life sciences; biology
580 Plants (Botany)
590 Animals (Zoology)
[Return
to top]
American Men and Women of
Science (R 925 Am35)
American Women in Science: A Biographical Dictionary
(R 920.72 B153a)
Asimov's Biographical Encyclopedia of Science and Technology:
The Lives and
Achievements of 1510 Great Scientists from
Ancient Times to the Present
Chronologically Arranged (R 925
As42a2 1982)
The Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists
(R 925 C144)
[Return
to top]
Standards
National Science Education
Standards
http://www.nap.edu/readingroom/books/nses/html/
Curriculum Development
AAAS Project 2061
http://www.project2061.org/default_flash.htm
TTL: The Textbook League
http://www.textbookleague.org/
Event-Based Science
http://www.mcps.k12.md.us/departments/eventscience/
IMSEnet: Instructional Materials in Science Education
http://www.ncsu.edu/imse/
Community Science Action Guides
http://www.fi.edu/guide/
C3P: Comprehensive
Conceptual Curriculum for Physics
http://phys.udallas.edu/
Project ARISE: American Renaissance in Science Education
http://www-ed.fnal.gov/arise/arise.html
Project Sky Lab
http://www.projectskylab.org/
National Computational Science Education Consortium
http://www.ncsec.org/
Girls Tech: Girls, Science, and Technology
http://www.ncsec.org/
Math/Science Nucleus
http://www.msnucleus.org/
General
Bad Science
http://www.ems.psu.edu/~fraser/BadScience.html
National Institutes of Health Office of Science Education
http://science.education.nih.gov/
National Institute for Science Education
http://www.wcer.wisc.edu/NISE/
CIESE: Center for Innovation in Engineering and Science Education
http://www.k12science.org/
Science Jokes
http://www.xs4all.nl/%7Ejcdverha/scijokes/
Astronomy
Windows to the Universe
http://www.windows.ucar.edu
The Universe in the Classroom
http://www.astrosociety.org/education/publications/tnl/tnl.html
Stanford Solar Center
http://solar-center.stanford.edu/
From Stargazers to Starships
http://www-istp.gsfc.nasa.gov/stargaze/Sintro.htm
National Astronomy Education Projects
http://www.astrosociety.org/education/resources/naep.html
Mysteries of Deep Space
http://www.pbs.org/deepspace/
Hayden Planetarium. The Astrophysics Visualization Archive
http://www.haydenplanetarium.org/hp/vo/ava/index.html
SEGway: Science Education Gateway for Teachers
http://cse.ssl.berkeley.edu/segwayed/index.html
Biology
The WHY? Files: Science
Behind the News
http://whyfiles.org/
National Biological Information Infrastructure Teacher Resources
http://www.nbii.gov/education/index.html
MadSci Network
http://www.madsci.org/
Neuroscience for Kids
http://faculty.washington.edu/chudler/neurok.html
Howard Hughes Medical Institute BioInteractive
http://www.biointeractive.org/
Inner Learning Online
http://www.innerbody.com/
BEN BioSciEdNet
http://www.biosciednet.org/portal/
Incubation and Embryology
http://www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/eggs/
Living Cell, Tissue,
Human
Body
Interactive animated atlas of structure and
function
http://www.bioanim.com/
Chemistry
LearnNet
http://www.chemsoc.org/networks/learnnet/index.htm
The Periodic Table of Comic Books
http://www.uky.edu/Projects/Chemcomics/
Rader's Chem 4 Kids
http://www.chem4kids.com/
Element Flash Cards
http://education.jlab.org/elementflashcards/
1001 Periodic Table Quiz Questions
http://www.1001-periodic-table-quiz-questions.com/
Institute for Chemical Education
http://ice.chem.wisc.edu/
Chemathon
http://www.chem.umd.edu/chemathon/
Science is Fun in the Lab of Shakhashiri
http://scifun.chem.wisc.edu/
The Chemistry Hypermedia Project
http://www.chem.vt.edu/chem-ed/vt-chem-ed.html
Education 4 Kids Chemistry Drill
http://www.edu4kids.com/chem/
Cavalcade O' Chemistry
http://www.chemfiesta.com/
Chemical Education Resource Shelf
http://www.umsl.edu/divisions/artscience/chemistry/books/welcome.html
The Evil Tutor's Guide for Science Students
http://www.psreporter.com/evil/eviltutor0.html
Terrific Science: Fun Science Resources for Teachers, Parents, and
Kids
http://www.terrificscience.org/
Learn Chem.Net
http://www.learnchem.net/
Mr. Ferwerda's High School Chemistry Help Page
http://www.lni.net/bchelp/frp/Chem_help_page.htm
Chemistry.org: The Website of the American Chemical Society:
ACS Education
http://www.chemistry.org/portal/a/c/s/1/acsdisplay.html?DOC=education%5cindex.html
Earth Sciences
The Exploration of the Earth's
Magnetosphere
http://www-spof.gsfc.nasa.gov/Education/Intro.html
Water Science for Schools
http://ga.water.usgs.gov/edu/
Earth Fact Sheet
http://nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov/planetary/factsheet/earthfact.html
California Underground: Our Caves and Subterranean Habitats
http://www.museumca.org/caves/onli_realm.html
Earth Science Resource Center
http://www.mines.edu/Outreach/Cont_Ed/esrc.shtml
Science for Everyone
http://www.agu.org/sci_soc/everyone.html
EarthNet
http://earthnet.bio.ns.ca/index.html
Environment
Environmental Education
http://www.epa.gov/enviroed/
FrogWeb: Amphibian Declines and Deformities
http://www.frogweb.gov/index.html
Encyclopedia of the Atmospheric Environment
http://www.ace.mmu.ac.uk/eae/english.html
EnviroLink: Educational Resources by Topic
http://www.envirolink.org/categories.html?catid=1
People and Environmental Change on the Northern Great Plains
http://www.usd.edu/anth/epa/index.html
Meteorology
Auroras: Paintings in the
Sky
http://www.exploratorium.edu/learning_studio/auroras/
Snow Crystals
http://www.its.caltech.edu/~atomic/snowcrystals/
WW2010: Weather World 2010
http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/home.rxml
Bad Meteorology
http://www.ems.psu.edu/~fraser/BadMeteorology.html
About Rainbows
http://www.unidata.ucar.edu/staff/blynds/rnbw.html
The NOAA Central Library: Teachers' and Students' Corner
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/docs/education.html
Index to Training Materials and Essays
on Storm Chasing and Meteorology
http://www.k5kj.net/training.htm
Weather One
http://www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/weather/
Everything About Teaching Weather
http://teachnet.edb.utexas.edu/~Eunmi_Lee/index.html
Physics
Amusement Park Physics
http://www.learner.org/exhibits/parkphysics/
Insultingly Stupid Movie Physics
http://www.intuitor.com/moviephysics/
Physics 2000
http://www.colorado.edu/physics/2000/index.pl
Contemporary Physics Education project
http://www.cpepweb.org/
Stephen Hawking's Web Site
http://www.hawking.org.uk/home/hindex.html
Spacetime Wrinkles
http://archive.ncsa.uiuc.edu/Cyberia/NumRel/NumRelHome.html
Web Physics
http://webphysics.davidson.edu/
How Things Work: Explaining the Physics of Everyday Life
http://rabi.phys.virginia.edu/HTW//
Physics Central
http://www.physicscentral.org/
Inventor's Toolbox: The Elements of Machines
http://www.mos.org/sln/Leonardo/InventorsToolbox.html
Physical Sciences Resource Center
http://psrc.aapt.org/
Numerical Relativity Exhibitions
http://jean-luc.ncsa.uiuc.edu/Exhibits/
How to Study Physics
http://www.lhup.edu/~dsimanek/chapman.htm
Physics and Bicycling
http://ist-socrates.berkeley.edu/~fajans/Teaching/bicycles.html
Motion Mountain--The Physics Textbook
http://motionmountain.dse.nl/welcome.html
Animations of Wave Motions
http://physics.usask.ca/~hirose/ep225/anim.htm
The Physics of Learning
http://icn2.umeche.maine.edu/instruments/PHYSLRNR.html
Bad Physics
http://www.geoffers2000.freeserve.co.uk/main.htm
Cockpit Physics
http://www.usafa.af.mil/dfp/cockpit-phys/
ASPIRE: Astrophysics Science Project Integrating Research and
Education
http://outreach.physics.utah.edu/
Instructional Cartoons, Movies and Programs
http://ist-socrates.berkeley.edu/~fajans/Teaching/cartoons/
Physics Simulations in Education
http://www.clab.unibe.ch/physim/index.htm
Science Fair Resources
Discovery Channel: Science Fair Central
http://school.discovery.com/sciencefaircentral/
Siemens Westinghouse Competition
http://www.siemens-foundation.org/science/default.html
The WWW Virtual Library: Science Fairs
http://physics.usc.edu/~gould/ScienceFairs/
Science Fairs Homepage
http://www.cdli.ca/sciencefairs/
iScience Project
http://www.iscienceproject.com/
Science Fair Projects
http://www.jimloy.com/science/sfair.htm
Science Fair Videos for Grades K-12 and Teacher Education
http://sciencevideos.com/products/fair/fair.html
NSTA Teacher Resources; NSTA Position Statement: Science
Competitions
http://www.nsta.org/positionstatement&psid=3
[Return
to top]
Association for Astronomy
Education
http://solar.physics.montana.edu/aae/
National Science Teachers Association
http://www.nsta.org/
School Science and Mathematics Association
http://www.ssma.org/
National Association for Research in Science Teaching
http://www2.educ.sfu.ca/narstsite/
National Earth Science Teachers Association
http://www.nestanet.org/
National Middle Level Science Teachers' Association
http://www.nmlsta.org/
Center for Science Teaching and Learning
http://www.cstl.org/
Society of Physics Students
http://www.aip.org/education/sps/
American Association of Physics Teachers
http://www.aapt.org/
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
http://www.aaas.org/index.shtml
NASSMC: National Alliance of State Science and Mathematics
Coalitions
http://www.nassmc.org/
National Association of Health Science Education Partnerships
http://128.2.228.79/
Curriculum Links for Science Teachers
http://esu8.esu8.k12.ne.us/~esu8web/curriculum/science.html
[Return
to top]
National Science Foundation
Directorate for Education and Human Resources
http://www.ehr.nsf.gov/default.asp
National Academy of Sciences
http://www4.nationalacademies.org/nas/nashome.nsf
National Youth Science Foundation
http://www.nysf.com/
|