.

 
Public Speaking

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on creating speeches for public presentation.  (It is best viewed at a 1024x768 resolution)

 

 

 

Look to example boxes for samples on how each resource type can provide different, but useful information.  The example boxes will follow a burning issue, "Medical Marijuana."

 

 

Contents of this research guide

Choosing a Topic | Background Information | Journal Articles | Local Newspapers  National Newspapers | Editorials | People | Public Opinion | Statistics 

Web Resources | Additional Guides


Choosing a Topic

Multiple avenues are available to help in topic selection, including news headlines, opinion series, and web pages.  However, a speaker will need to investigate a topic fully beyond any one source, and often examine many types of sources.

 

Resources

The following resources are valuable for selecting current, controversial or classically debated topics.

CQ Researcher

Subscription access to comprehensive weekly reports on various topics.

 

Issues & Controversies

Subscription access to Facts on File Issues & Controversies reports.

 

Newseum.org

Read the front pages of newspapers from all over the world from this online museum of news.  You can browse by thumbnails  or use their virtual map located at the top of the page.

 

White House News and Policies

The Policies & Initiatives Column has topics arranged by group.

 

World Headlines

Follow the links to the Headlines of various news outlets.

 

World News Digest

U.S. and world news 1940 to the present; groups top news stories by decade, issue, and country.

Opinion Series

These series have books that summarize and present both sides of an issue on all types of speech topics including pollution, adoption, violence in the media, etc.

At Issue

Contemporary World Issues

Current Controversies

Opposing Viewpoints

Web Directories - Offer lists of broad topics you can narrow and use for your paper.

Google's Directory - Society > Issues

Yahoo - Issues and Causes

 
[go to top of page]

Background Information

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

 

 

In 1996 California passed Proposition 215 which decriminalized marijuana, but Attorney General Janet Reno said the federal ban would still stay. (more)

 

Topics in the News. American Decades:1990-1999. Ed. Trandy McConnell. Vol. 10. Detroit: A Manly, Inc. Book, 2001, 293.

 
     
Title Location

American Decades

American culture by the decade since 1900.

R 973.92 Am352

Atlas of Contemporary American:

portrait of a nation : politics, economy, environment, ethnic and religious diversity, health issues, demographic patterns, quality of life, crime, personal freedoms

973.92 D777a

CQ Researcher

Weekly in-depth reports on issues in the news. 

Online - through Library

The New Encyclopedia Britannica

Find encyclopedia articles, images and videos

Online - through Library

R 031 B777  2002

Milestones of the 20th Century

Includes timelines, biographies, and descriptions of major events.

R 909.82 M598

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture

Search popular culture by topics.

R 973.9 st1

World Almanac

Statistics and lists of all kinds.

Online - through Library

R 310 W893

 

[go to top of page]

Journal Articles

Select a Database

Search a database to find scholarly journal articles, popular magazines articles and trade publications. Select a database by subject or from the database A-Z list.

 

 

 

Select a Subject Database for Medical Marijuana

 

What does the medical community say? MEDLINE - Medicine

 

What legal reviews can I read? LexisNexis - Legal

 

What does the Supreme Court Ruling mean for businesses?

ABI/Inform Complete - Business

 

 

There are general databases that the library subscribes to which contain a broad overview of many topics.  Our three largest are  Academic Search Premiere, ProQuest Research Library, and Wilson Omnifile

Popular & Scholarly Articles

Popular Articles: Use them to get a general feel for public sentiment.

Scholarly Articles: Use them to discover the findings of experts on a topic.

To help determine if an article is popular or scholarly examine the characteristics of each type, view a chart to compare the two or view an expert chart for more options.

[go to top of page]

Local Newspapers

Access subscriptions to local and regional newspapers. Local/Regional newspapers are a good resource for background information on contemporary issues, and they often illuminate regional views. 

 

 

Columbia, MO attorney Dan Viets helped change Columbia's marijuana possession law to low fines and no jail time for those caught with 35 grams or less. He hopes "to get the Missouri Legislature to allow statewide the use of marijuana with a doctor's approval."

 

"High times in Columbia" St. Louis Post-Dispatch 26 Nov. 2004, late ed.: C14. LexisNexis Academic Universe. 23 Aug. 2005 <http://web.lexis-nexis.com>.

 
Overwhelmed by the size of a print newspaper? Try this minute long tutorial for tips and tricks on how to read a newspaper.
Title Coverage Location
Commercial Appeal (Memphis) 1990 - Present E Journal Portal Access
Paducah Sun 2000 - Present E Journal Portal Access
Riverfront Times, St. Louis 1998 - Present  Online
Southern Illinoisan (Carbondale) 2002 - Present Online
St. Louis Daily Record 2003 - Present E Journal Portal Access
St. Louis Post-Dispatch

1988 - Present

E Journal Portal Access

1879 - Present

Full text is on Microfilm & Paper

Springfield News-Leader 1999 - Present

Online

Southeast Missourian 2002 - Present Online
1918 - Present

Full text is on Microfilm & Paper

 

Paper Index to find Southeast Missourian articles by topic is available on the main floor in indexes/abstracts area.

[go to top of page]

National Newspapers

Access subscriptions to national newspapers. National newspaper offer more comprehensive and in-depth coverage from reporters who are often on the scene.

 

 

 

Riverside County Board bans medical marijuana dispensaries for 45 days while they determine how to regulate establishments in compliance with both California's Proposition 215 to decriminalize and the U.S. Supreme Court to continue the federal ban.

 

"Medical Pot Outlets on Hold" Lost Angeles Times  24 Aug. 2005: B1. LexisNexis Academic Universe. 20 Sept.. 2005 <http://web.lexis-nexis.com>.

 

 

Overwhelmed by the size of a print newspaper? Try this minute long tutorial for tips and tricks on how to read a newspaper.

 

Title Coverage Location
Atlanta Journal Constitution 1988-Present E Journal Portal Access
Chicago Tribune 1985 - Present E Journal Portal Access
1972 - 1981 Full text is on Microfilm
Dallas Morning News 2000-Present E Journal Portal Access
Los Angeles Times 1985 - Present E Journal Portal Access
Miami Herald 2000-Present E Journal Portal Access
New York Times 1980 - Present E Journal Portal Access
1857 - Present Full text is on Microfilm & Paper

Paper Indexes to find New York Times articles by topic is available from from 1851-1912 and 1913-2004 on the main floor in the indexes/abstracts area.

Washington Post 1987 - Present E Journal Portal Access
1972 - 2003 Full text is on Microfilm

Index to find Washington Post articles by topic is available from 1972-1978 and 1979-1988 on the main floor in the indexes/abstracts area.

[go to top of page]

Editorials

Editorials and Opinion Pieces will tune you in to the political ideology of newspapers across the country on various topics.

 

 

 

"Americans need to get way from their discomfort over the issue of marijuana as a medicine and on with the debate...Tennessee should be in on the discussion...This is a state that passed the first safety seat laws to protect young children. The comfort of the sick and dying should be no less an issue for Tennesseans." (more)

 

Editorial. The Tennessean. 26 November, 2004. Editorials on File. Vol. 36. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 2005.

 

 

Title

Info

American Enterprise Institute

Public Policy Think Tank

Search by Keyword and Date.

Brookings Institution

Public Policy Think Tank

 Search by keyword and change Content Type.
Ref Desk- Virtual Newspaper Links to editorial section of major newspapers.

Editorials on file

United States and Canadian newspaper editorials.

Print full text of editorials from major newspapers grouped chronologically by event. 1970 - 2006
Proquest Newspapers From drop down list select "Document  type," browse documents, "Editorial."
World News Digest See "Newspaper Editorials" in Special Features column.  Editorials from 1979 to the present.
 
[go to top of page]

People

Learn about important people.

 

 

Janet Reno took office as the United State Attorney General on March 12, 1993, three years before facing California's Proposition 215.  As a democrat, she was elected chief prosecutor for the Great Miami area from 1978-1993. (more)

"Reno, Janet." Current Biography Yearbook 1993: 485-489.

 
     
Title Information Location
American National Biography Famous Deceased Americans. R 920.073 Am347
Biography.com Famous Deceased and Living Persons. www.biography.com
Current Biography Yearbook 1940- Present.  Famous Living Persons. R 920 C936
Encyclopedia of Modern American Extremists & Extremist Groups Famous Deceased and Living American Extremists. R 320.5303 At53E
Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists & Extremist Groups Famous Deceased and Living World Extremists. R 320.5303 At53ew
[go to top of page]

 
Public Opinion

Search Public Opinion Polls and Surveys for reports that reflect the ideas of large groups of people. What is a public opinion poll?

 

 

A 2003 national Gallup Poll found that  74% of the population favored making marijuana legal for doctors to prescribe.

 

Gallup Organization. "Would you favor or oppose making marijuana legally available for doctors to prescribe to reduce pain and suffering?" 30 Nov. 2003.  LexisNexis Academic Universe. Lexis Nexis. Kent Library, Cape Girardeau, MO. 1 Sept. 2005. <http://web.lexis-nexis.com>.

 
Title Information

Health Poll Search

Kaiser Family Foundation

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research polls on major health care issues facing the nation.

State Election Day Exit Polls

The Roper Center

Organized by year and state.
Time Magazine Organized by date.
Pew Research Center Organized into main categories.
Gallup Poll Search by Politics & Government or Economics & Management.

The Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing

Monthly collection of Polls.

We have print full text  for 1984-1989 and 1989 to 2001 and 2002 to 2005

 

[go to top of page]

Statistics

 

 

In 2002, 200.5 out of every 100,000 people in the United States was arrested for possession of Marijuana.

 

United. States. Bureau of Census. "Drug Arrest Rates for Drug Abuse

Violation, 1990-2002." Statistical Abstract of the U.S., 2004-2005, Oct. 2004: 199. LexisNexis Statistical. LexisNexis Academic Universe. Kent Library, Cape Girardeau, MO. 1 Sept. 2005 <http://web.lexis-nexis.com>.

 
     
Title Information
FedStats Gateway to all government agency statistics.
American Fact Finder Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data based on the U.S. Census.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Social, political and economical statistics of the United States population.
Library Spot - Statistics Search by topic or select a government website.
Southeast Missouri State University - Fact Book A collection of statistics about the University from the office of Institutional Research.
Southeast Missouri State University Crime Statistics Recent campus crime statistics from the Department of Public Safety.
[go to top of page]

Web Resources

For a list of Web Searching Tools, like search engines & reference sites, see the Find: web searching tools page.

Web Directories

Be smart about searching for web pages involving your topic and use a web directory. 
 

Google's Directory - Society > Issues

Yahoo - Issues and Causes

Newspaper Directories

Use a directory to find the homepage for local, college, regional, national or international newspapers. 

 

Benefits of directories include greater breadth and ability to browse by region.  However, these links don't  give you access to our subscriptions, so you won't have comprehensive access to articles.  Use the E-journal Portal to see if the library has a subscription to a particular newspaper.

 

Internet Public Library

Search by major world region

 

Newslink

In addition to national papers, find campus, alternative & specialty newspapers.

 

NewsDirectory

Search by continent, includes U.S. protectorates and territories.

 

News Voyager

Use a map of the United States to find a newspaper.

Selected Web Sites

American Rhetoric - Speech Bank

Access to 5,000 full text, audio, visual and streaming speeches.

CQ Press: Current Events in Context

C-Span  - The website from the cable service. Search for online videos, radio shows, featured topics and other resources.

Great Debate & Beyond: The History of Televised Presidential Debates

Includes videos, photographs, newspaper headlines and memos.

 

History Channel - Video & Speeches

Search by topic or keyword for video and audio clips.

 

Pew Research Center

Public Opinion Polls and Social Science Research

State and Local Government on the Net - a directory of websites for state and local government. Searchable by state, county and city.

USA.gov: Government Departments and Agencies -Search for federal agencies by branch of government or try the A-Z List.

[go to top of page]

Additional Guides
The following guides to audiovisual material and other resources may be helpful.

Speeches on Video

A list of major speeches and collection we have on video at Kent Library.

 

Subject and Class Research Guides

A full list of Research Guides in Kent Library organized by major, topic and class.

 

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/ Michelle Dubaj and Glen Williams
last updated: 10/27/2009/ C.Ruediger

created: 10/03/2005