.
 
Psychology
This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on the Psychology
Contents of this research guide
Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  | People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 

 
Background Information (Overview Sources)
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Credo reference psychology titles (9 titles)
Encyclopedia of human behavior (R 150.3 En184)
Encyclopedia of psychology (R150.3 En191)
Handbook of psychology (R 150 H19171)

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)
Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

The 'R' at the beginning of the call numbers indicate that the items are in the reference collection

Dictionary of psychology
(R 150.3 C71d) (2001 edition, print)
Dictionary of psychology (2003 edition, online)
Test  Critiques
  (R 150.287 T286)
Mental Measurements Yearbook
(R 151.2 M528) Online index - Editions 9-17
Tests in print (R 153.93 T289)
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-IV.
(R 616.89075 D541 1994)
 

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

ERIC (Educational Psychology)
Project Muse
Psychology journals available in print or electronically  A browsable list of titles
PsycARTICLES
PsycInfo


General databases which include some psychology content:

Academic Search Premier

Proquest Research Library
Wilson OmniFile

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books
Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Psychology
Mental Health
Psychiatry

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart  to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

150: Psychology
152: Perception, movement, emotions, drives
153: Mental processes & intelligence
155: Differential & developmental psychology
156: Comparative psychology
158: Applied psychology
154 Subconscious & altered states
610: Medicine (diagnosis manuals and information on medications)

[go to top of page]
 
People
Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers, & historical figures, related to this topic or field.

Biographical dictionary of psychology (R 921 B5193)

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations
Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Psychological Association (APA) http://www.apa.org
State/ Canadian province branches of the APA http://www.apa.org/practice/refer.html
American Psychiatric Association http://www.psych.org
Internet Public Library listing of psychology & related field associations
http://www.ipl.org/div/aon/browse/soc30.00.00/

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources
For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Fenichel's Current Topics in Psychology
[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/ ks
last updated: 10/07/2009