|
|
|
Political Science
|
This guide
suggests resources and strategies for research on the general subject of
political science.
|
|
Contents of this research guide
|
Background Information | Facts
& Figures | Find Articles
| Find Books | Criticism
& Reviews | Primary Sources
| People | Organizations
| Web Resources | Additional
Resources
|
|
|
|
|
|
Background Information (Overview Sources)
|
Encyclopedias and
other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or
simply learn more about a particular topic. They provide topic
summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.
Brewer's
Politics (R
320.03 C734b)
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (R 327.73 En19)
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America (R 323.1196073 En 19)
The Encyclopedia of Democracy (R 321.803 En19)
Encyclopedia of the American Judicial Systems (R 347.300321 En19)
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency (R 353.031303 En19)
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations (R327.73 En198)
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights (R 323.03 M263i)
The
Oxford Companion to American Law
The
Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)
|
Use dictionaries,
statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check
facts about topics, people, or events.
America Votes (R 324 Am35)
The Book of the States (R 353 B644)
Civil Rights in America (R 323.0973 Si25c)
The
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
Congressional Quarterly Almanac (R 328.73 C761)
A
Dictionary of Political Biography
The Europa World Year Book (R 314 Eu741)
Great American Court Cases (R 348.04 G798)
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court (R 347.326 C76g3)
Minority Rights in America (R 323.17303 Ax22m)
Official Manual of the State of Missouri (R Ref Desk 353.9 M691)
The
Oxford Guide to the United States Government
The
Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions
Political Systems of the World (R 320.3 D444p2)
Statesman's Yearbook (R 305 St29)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (R Ref Desk 317 Un3)
The Supreme Court A to Z (R 347.2603 Su76)
The United States Government Manual (R Ref Desk 353 Un31)
Vital Statistics on American Politics 2005-2006 (R 320.973021 V83)
The World Factbook (R 910.5 W893)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Find Articles
|
Search indexes, abstracts, and
databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. For a
complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles
page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).
To find
historical/source materials, such
as newspaper and magazine articles, use the following print sources:
Readers' Guide
to Periodical Literature,
1900+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Social Sciences Index, 1974+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1966-1974
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
International Index to Periodicals, 1907-1966
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Political Science 1866-1974
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Official Index to the Times & The Times Index, 1906+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the
following online databases:
Academic Search
Premier
America: History and Life
GPO
Historical Abstracts
JSTOR
Project Muse
Proquest Research Library
Westlaw
Wilson OmniFile
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Find Books
|
Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml)
to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos,
government documents and other materials.
Keyword searches allow you to use
your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings.
Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on
the main floor.
Some Political Science subject headings include:
Comparative government
Democracy
International relations
Municipal government
Political ethics
Political science
State rights
|
Browse the
shelves by
call number. Use the Dewey Decimal
chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you
in the right subject areas or try the following:
Political Science
320s
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Criticism & Reviews
|
Book Review Digest (this database is available
at http://library.semo.edu/find/db_az.asp#F)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Primary Sources
|
Congressional Record (X1.1)
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (latest two
presidents at R 353.035 Un3)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
People
|
Learn about important people,
such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic
or field.
American
National Biography
(R 920.073 Am347)
Biography Index (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Contemporary Authors (R 928 C7671)
Dictionary of Literary Biography (R 928.1 D561)
Dictionary of National Biography (R 920.042 D561)
Directory of American Scholars (R 923.7 D628)
The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography (R 920.073 N213)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Organizations
|
Professional organizations
and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.
American Political Science Association
(http://www.apsanet.org)
International Political Science
Association
(http://www.ipsa.org/site)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
Web Resources
|
American Civil Liberties Union
(http://aclu.org)
The Brookings Institution
(http://www.brook.edu)
Country Studies
(http://memory.loc.gov/frd/cs)
FirstGov
(http://firstgov.gov)
Foreign Government
Resources on the Web
(http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/foreign.html)
GPO Access
(http://www.gpoaccess.gov)
Project Vote Smart
(http://www.vote-smart.org)
U.S. Census Bureau
(http://www.census.gov)
|
For a list of Web searching
tools, see the Find:
web searching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
Additional Resources
|
CIA
World Factbook
(https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook)
CQ Researcher
(this database is available at http://library.semo.edu/find/db_az.asp#C)
Facts.com
(this database is available at http://library.semo.edu/find/db_az.asp#F)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
page developed by Information
Services/cp
last updated: 3/4/09
|