.

Plant and Soil Science

This guide suggests resources for locating information and materials on Plant and Soil Science.

 

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  BooksArticles  | Statistics | Organizations | Additional Resources


Background Information

 

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Agronomic Handbook - (R 630 J7181a)

CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names - (R 580.14 Q29c)

The Cultural History of Plants - (R 630.9 C8995)

Dictionary of Ecology - (Oxford Reference Online)

Dictionary of Plant Sciences - (Oxford Reference Online)

Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology - (R 632.303 En196)

The Encyclopedia of Soil Science - (R 631.403 En192)

Facts on File Dictionary of Botany - (R 580.3 F1198)

Invasive Plant Species of the World - (R 632.5 W3883i)

The Penguin Dictionary of Plant Sciences - (R 580.3 P3767 1999)

Plant - (R 580 P6941 2005)

Plant Identification Terminology - (R 581.014 H242p)

Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary - (R 631.403 So431)

Turfgrass Encyclopedia for Golf Course, Grounds, Lawns, Sports Fields - (R 635.9642 B38t)

Westcott's Plant Disease Handbook - (R 632.3 W522p5)

go to top of page

Books
 
Use the Kent Library Catalog to find books, videos/DVDs, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.

Examples:

weed and turf

soybeans


Subject Heading searches look for items that are part of a group or topic.

Examples:

Crops

Fertilizers

Food Crops

Grain

Lawns

Pests Control

Plant Diseases

Plants Nutrition

Seeds

Soils

Soil Conservation

Soil Fertility

Turf Grasses

Turf Management


 

Browse the Shelves - Books on Plant and Soil Science can fall into many different subject areas and many different call number ranges.  Use the Dewey Decimal Classification summaries to find other areas that may be of interest.

 

630 Agriculture

632 Plant injuries, disease & pests

633 Field & plantation crops

636 Garden Crops (horticulture)

638 Insect Culture

go to top of page

Articles

 

Search an article database to find scholarly journal articles, popular magazines articles and trade publications. For a full list of databases see the the database A-Z list or database by subject.

Subject Database
Botany & Ecology Biological and Agricultural Index
Geology & Ecology GEOBASE
Agriculture AGRICOLA
Agriculture, Science & Technology Wilson Omnifile
Botany & Plant Sciences JSTOR
Business & Trade ABI/Inform Complete

Business Source Premier

Health Health Source Plus Nursing & Academic Edition
Science & Technology ArticleFirst
Law & News Westlaw Campus
Multidiscipline Academic Search Premier

Proquest Research Library & Newspapers

go to top of page

Statistics

 

National Agricultural Statistics Service - (www.nass.usda.gov)

Soybean Statistics from the U.S. Soybean Export Council - (www.ussoyexports.org/resources/statistics.html)

Pesticide Statistics from the National Pesticide Information Center -
(http://npic.orst.edu/tech2.htm#ps)

Soil Survery from the Natural Resources Conservation Service (http://soils.usda.gov/survey)

World Census of Agriculture - (http://www.fao.org/es/ess/census/)

go to top of page

Organizations

 

U.S. Grains Council - (www.grains.org)

Organic Trade Association - (www.ota.com)

USA Rice Federation - (www.usarice.com)

U.S. Rice Producers Association - (www.usriceproducers.com/)

American Soybean Association - (www.soygrowers.com)

American Society of Agronomy - (www.agronomy.org)

Crop Science Society of America - (www.crops.org)

National Society of Consulting Soil Scientists, Inc. - (www.nscss.org)

Soil Science Society of America - (www.soils.org)

go to top of page

Additional Resources
For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searching tools page at the Kent Library Homepage.

Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Soils -
(http://soils.usda.gov/)

United States Department of Agriculture - (www.usda.gov)

Pesticide National Synthesis Project - (http://water.usgs.gov/nawqa/pnsp/)

Kent Library Research Guides

You may wish to consult the following Subject Research Guides:

Agriculture

Horticulture

Chemistry

go to top of page

page developed by Information Services/md

created: 5/11/06

last updated: 08/27/09 | mo