|
|
|
Physics |
This guide suggests resources and strategies for
research on topics falling under the general discipline of Physics.
|
|
Contents of this
research guide |
Background
Information | Facts & Figures |
Find Articles | Find Books
|
People |
Organizations | Web
Resources |
|
|
|
|
|
Background
Information (Overview Sources) |
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an
excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about
a particular topic. They provide topic summaries, context, and
bibliographies for further reading.
| Q is for Quantum: An
Encyclopedia of Particle Physics |
|
R 539.703 G8711q |
| |
|
|
| Macmillan Encyclopedia of
Physics |
|
R 530.03 M228 v. 1-4 |
| |
|
|
| The New York Public Library
Science Desk Reference |
|
Ref Desk 500 B263n |
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Facts & Figures
(Fact Sources) |
Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases,
handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics,
people, or events.
| CRC Handbook of Chemistry
and Physics |
|
R
547.00212 C421 |
| |
|
|
| American Institute of
Physics Handbook |
|
R 530.0202 Am35a3 |
| |
|
|
| Encyclopaedia of Scientific
Units, Weights and Measures |
|
R 530.812 C1783e |
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Find Articles |
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find
journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. For a complete list of
Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the
Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).
To find historical/source materials, use
the following print source:
Physics Abstracts
To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles
use the following online databases:
E-print ArXive (physics)
Article 1st
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Find General
Collection Books |
Use the
Kent Library Catalog
(http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals
(journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and
other materials.
Keyword searches allow you to use your
own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject
headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the
Reference Desk on the main floor.
Possible subject headings include:
Physics
Astrophysics
Ballistics
Biophysics
Capillarity
Conservation laws (Physics)
Constraints (Physics)
Cosmic physics
Critical phenomena (Physics)
Diffusion
Expansion (Heat)
Fluids
Force and energy
General relativity (Physics)
Geophysics
Gravitation
Heat
Magnetism
Matter
Mechanics
Microphysics
Motion
Nanostructures
Nuclear physics
Optics
Permeability
Physical metallurgy
Pneumatics
Quantum theory
Radiation
Solid state physics
Sound
Thermodynamics
Viscosity
|
Browse the shelves by call number. Use
the
Dewey Decimal chart (http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/fi_books_dd_list.htm)
to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:
530 Physics
531 Classical mechanics; solid mechanics
532 Fluid mechanics; liquid mechanics
533 Gas mechanics
534 Sound & related vibrations
535 Light & infrared & ultraviolet
phenomena
536 Heat
537 Electricity & electronics
538 Magnetism
539 Modern physics
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
People |
Learn about important people, such as authors,
researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.
| American Men and Women of
Science |
|
R 925 Am35 |
| |
|
|
| Remarkable Physicists:
From Galileo to Yukawa |
|
530.0922 J2339r |
| |
|
|
| Brotherhood of the Bomb:
The Tangled Lives of Robert Oppenheimer, Ernest Lawrence, and
Edward Teller |
|
539.7092273 H4258b |
| |
|
|
| Great Physicists: The
Life and Times of Leading Physicists from Galileo to Hawking |
|
R 925.3 C8832g |
| |
|
|
|
In the Shadow
of the Bomb : Bethe, Oppenheimer, and the Moral Responsibility of
the Scientist |
|
172.422 Sch971i |
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Organizations |
Professional organizations and/or societies
often provide very useful topic related information.
Society of Physics Students
http://www.aip.org/education/sps/
American Association of Physics Teachers
http://www.aapt.org/
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
http://www.aaas.org/index.shtml
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Web Resources |
American Physical Society: A Century of
Physics
http://timeline.aps.org/APS/home_HighRes.html
Fundamental Physical Constants
http://www.chemie.fu-berlin.de/chemistry/general/constants_en.html
College Physics for Students of Biology and
Chemistry
http://www.rwc.uc.edu/koehler/biophys/text.html
Physics 2000
http://www.rwc.uc.edu/koehler/biophys/text.html
Center for History of Physics
http://www.aip.org/history/
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
http://www.physics.ucla.edu/~cwp/
Amusement Park Physics
http://www.learner.org/exhibits/parkphysics/
PhysicsWeb: Physics News, Jobs and
Resources
http://physicsweb.org/
Inquiring Minds
http://www.fnal.gov/pub/inquiring/
|
For a list of Web searching tools, see
the Find: web
resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
|
page developed by Information
Services/ PW
last updated: 04/07/05 |
|
|