.

 
Physical Education and Coaching

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research about Physical Education and Coaching.

Contents of this research guide

Getting Started  |   Find Articles  |  Find Books  |   People 

Organizations  |  Web Resources  |  Related  Research Guides


Getting Started

Use these sources for getting a general overview, key elements, vocabulary and facts about topics, people or events.  They are in the Reference Collection on the Main Floor.

Physical Education/Coaching

Encyclopedia of physical education, fitness and sports R 796.03 En19 v.4
Encyclopedia of Sports Science R 613.17 En19
How did sports begin? R 796.09 B736h
Oxford companion to sports & games R 796.03 Ox2
Sports: the complete visual reference R 796 Sp67543
Sports: a reference guide R 796 H536s
Sports rules encyclopedia R 796 Sp67 1990

Education

Encyclopedia of Education R 370.3 En192 2003
Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities R 371.903 T847l
Encyclopedia of Special Education R 371.90321 En19
Learning Theories, A to Z R 370.3 L5523l

Medical

ACSM's guidelines for exercise testing and prescription R 615.824 Am3532a6
A Dictionary of sports injuries and disorders R 617.102703 P849d
The Human body: an illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders R 612.00222 H88 1995
Sports injuries sourcebook R 617.1027 Sp6748
Injury and trauma sourcebook R 617.1 In552
Quick reference to wound care R 617.1406 B8114q
go to top of page

Find Articles

 

Historical Articles -  use the following print indexes to find historical articles.

They are located in the Indexes/Abstracts Area on the Main Floor.

 

Title Years
Education Index 1929-Present
Physical Education Index 1978-2003


Recent Articles  - use the following online databases & print index to find recent articles:

Academic Search Premiere General
ERIC Education
Health Source - Consumer Edition Health
Health Source - Nursing & Academic Health
MEDLINE Medical
Physical Education Index (Print Index - Main Floor)
PsycINFO_1887 Psychology
SPORTSDiscus Sports
Wilson Omnifile General/Education/Social Sciences

Browse & Search selected Physical Education journals

 

International Journal of Physical Education
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
Journal of Teaching in Physical Education
Physical Educator
Quest
Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
Strategies
Teaching Elementary Physical Education

 

go to top of page

Find Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog to find books, DVDs/videos, and government documents.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.

Coaching and Baseball                School Sports and Psychology

Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings.

Sample Subject Headings

Athletic Ability -Testing Physical education and training
Children - Health and Hygiene Physical education for children
Coaching (athletics) Physical education for children with disabilities
Exercise for children Physical education for people with disabilities
First aid in illness and injury Physical education teachers -Training of
Motor ability in children Physical fitness for children
Movement education Physical fitness- testing
Muscle strength School sports
Perceptual motor learning Violence in sports
go to top of page

People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures.

AAHPERD: the first 100 years    796.07 V26a

A History of physical education

and sports in the U.S.A.

   613.70973 L514h
Innovators and Institutions in Physical Education    613.7 G313i
Oxford companion to sports & games    R 796.03 Ox2
go to top of page

Organizations

Consult these organizations for information on  conferences, accreditation, workshops, additional resources,  etc.

 

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance www.aahperd.org/ 
Council for Exceptional Children www.cec.sped.org/
International Society for Technology in Education www.iste.org/
Missouri Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance www.moahperd.org/ 
 
Missouri National Education Association www.mnea.org/
Missouri State Teacher's Association www.msta.org/
National Education Association www.nea.org/
National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) www.ncate.org/
National Association for Sport and Physical Education

www.aahperd.org/naspe/

template.cfm

go to top of page

Web Resources

 

Framework for Curriculum Development - Show Me Standards for P.E.

http://dese.mo.gov/divimprove/curriculum/frameworks/hthphys.htm

Missouri State Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

 

GEM: The Gateway to Educational Materials

www.thegateway.org/

 

PE Central

www.pecentral.org/

 

Physical Activity and Health: A Report of the Surgeon General

www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/sgr/sgr.htm

 

Physical Education/Coaching Resources on the Internet

www7.tamu-commerce.edu/library/pe.htm

Texas A&M University-Commerce

 

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page

go to top of page

Related Research Guides

 

Health Management Recreation
Education Sport Management
go to top of page

page developed by Information Services/ md
last updated: 05/13/2008