.

 
Nursing

This guide suggests resources for research in the field of nursing and related fields.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.  Sources with call #s preceded by R, are located in Kent Reference, main floor.

Encyclopedia Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior R 362.2903 En19
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management R 362.1068 En195
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition R 613.203 En195
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine R 615.503 G1317
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing R 610.7309 Sh52h

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events. Sources with call #s preceded by R, are located in Kent Reference, main floor.

The Human Body: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function, and Disorders R 612.00222 H88
Merck Manual of Health &Aging R 613.0438 M537
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference R 616.075 P14m6
Mosby's  Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary R 610.3 M8513
Nursing Drug Reference R 615.1 M85
Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures R 610.73 Sm672n4
Nurses' Handbook of Health Assessment R 610.73 W3885n4
PDR Nurse's Drug Handbook R 615 P299
Professional Guide to Diseases R 616 P9428
[go to top of page]
 
Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases & to access these online resources, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier 
(multidisciplinary database)
online database
Alt HealthWatch online database
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) online database
Full text journals & magazines related to nursing online resource
GPO Monthly Catalog
(government information)
online database
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition online database
Medline  online database
PsycInfo online database
Wilson Web OmniFile online database

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor. Here are a couple of suggestions to try.

communication in nursing
community health nursing
family nursing
intensive care nursing
nursing
nursing assessment
nursing care plans
nursing diagnosis
nursing ethics
nursing law and legislation
primary nursing
psychiatric nursing
rural nursing
surgical nursing

Browse the shelves by Dewey Decimal call number. 

174   nursing ethics
344   nursing law and legislation
610 - 619   nursing, medicine & health

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Nurses Association
American Nurses Credentialing Center
National League for Nursing
Nursing Associations

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources


allnurses.com
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Data & Statistics
Health Resources and Services Administration
Human Anatomy Online
Librarians' Index to the Internet: Health

Medical Images on the Web
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Merck Manuals online
National Center for Health Statistics
National Institute of Nursing Research
National Institutes of Health
National Library of Medicine
Nursing Center
Professional Nursing Network
RxList: the Internet Drug Index
U. S. Department of Health & Human Services

For a list of Web searching tools, see Kent Library's Find: web searching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ CAR
last updated: 05/09/08