.

 
Newspaper Finder

Finding Newspapers at Kent Library and on the Web.

Contents of this research guide

Overview  |  Newspapers at the Periodicals Desk  |  Newspapers in the Archives  |  Newspapers in Subscription Databases  |  Newspapers on the Web 


 Overview

 

[go to top of page]
 
Newspapers at the Periodicals Desk

In the Periodicals Department, on the main level of Kent Library, you'll find current newspapers in print and historical newspapers on microfilm.

Finding Newspapers by Title

To find out what newspapers are available for what dates in periodicals, use the Kent Library Catalog.  Click on Journal Title and type in the name of the newspaper. 

Click here for a listing of all the newspapers from Missouri in the Kent Library Catalog.

If you prefer a hard copy, there is a binder at the periodicals desk that lists newspaper holdings by decade and title.

Finding Newspaper Articles by Date

The newspapers in the Periodicals Department are arranged by title, and then by date. To find out which newspapers cover which dates, ask at the Periodicals Desk.

If you are working on an assignment that involves finding an article from the year you were born, Kent Library has prepared a handy research guide for that here.

Finding Newspaper Articles by Subject

Some newspapers have a corresponding print index.  A print index allows you to look up a subject or topic and see each time that subject appeared in the newspaper for the year(s) the index covers. Once you have found an article in an index, write down the citation (the name of the newspaper, date and page number). Take it to the periodicals desk and ask for help locating the full text. Click here for a listing of print indexes available on the main floor.

If you need help finding articles for your research, don't hesitate to ask for help. Contact the librarians at Kent Library at the Reference Desk on the third floor.

[go to top of page]
 
Newspapers in the Special Collections and Archives

The Special Collections and Archives of Southeast Missouri State University acquires, preserves and makes accessible research materials that document the historical, literary and cultural experience of Southeast Missouri, the Mississippi River Valley region, and the history of Southeast Missouri State University.

The Archives has an interesting collection of historical newspapers. For a selected list of resources please click here. For a comprehensive list of materials in the Special Collections and Archives or for help using the collection please visit the Archives on the third floor of Kent Library or contact them by phone or email.

[go to top of page]
 
Newspapers in Subscription Databases

If you know the title of the newspaper you would like to search, you can use the E-journal Portal to find electronic and print holdings. Simply type the title of the newspaper into the search box and hit enter. A list of matching titles with coverage ranges will be displayed. Click on the name of the database that contains the coverage you require. If you are off campus you will need to log-in for access. You will be taken to a search screen in the database where you can type in keywords and limit by date. The search will already be limited to just the newspaper you want to search.

Searching for newspaper articles by topic in a database. Kent Library has many subscription databases that make finding newspaper articles easy! Some of the best databases for newspaper articles are:

Newsbank

ProQuest Newspapers

WestLaw Campus Research

Databases A-Z is an alphabetical listing of subscription databases in Kent Library. The databases listed above are contained in Databases A-Z.

For tips and help using the databases, contact a librarian!

[go to top of page]
 
Newspapers on the Web

Try the Internet Public Library Newspaper Directory if you are looking for an online newspaper from a state, town, or foreign country.

The New York Times Archive offers full-text PDFs of articles from 1851 - 1922 and text-only from 1980 - present.  Articles from 1922 - 1980 can be accessed at the Periodicals Desk.

If you are looking for more Missouri Newspapers, check out the State Historical Society of Missouri's newspaper collection. While most materials are in print or on microfilm and must be requested through ILL, some are digitized.

Google News is a great place to get current news from multiple sources.  You can sign up for alerts on topics you are interested in.

Google News Timeline shows you digitized entries on historical events.  Search for your topic and enter your date.  You may want to "x" out of the Wikipedia option.  Most historical newspapers are not yet digitized, so check out our Periodicals Collection as well.

[go to top of page]
 
page developed by Information Services/ AC and MWH
last updated: 06/16/09