|
|
|
The Names on the Library's Faade |
There are seventeen authors whose names grace
the faade of Kent Library. Often referred to as "the seventeen
dead white guys," they are:
Victor Hugo (1802-1885)
John Henry cardinal Newman (1801-1890)
Eugene Field (1850-1895)
Leo Tolstoy (1828-1910)
Homer
Thomas Carlyle (1795-1881)
William Shakespeare (1564-1616)
Henry David Thoreau (1817-1862)
John Milton (1608-1674)
Walt Whitman (1819-1892)
Mark Twain (1835-1910)
Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)
Virgil
John Ruskin (1819-1900)
Geoffrey Chaucer (d.1400)
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832)
Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849)
|
|
Contents of this
research guide |
Background
Information |
Find Articles | Find Books
| Criticism & Reviews |
Primary Sources |
Organizations | Web
Resources |
|
|
|
|
|
Background
Information (Overview Sources) |
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an
excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about
a particular topic. They provide topic summaries, context, and
bibliographies for further reading. To find information about
any of these authors, consult:
All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia
of Shakespeare's World
R 822.33 A6ol
Cyclopedia of World Authors
R 809 C992 1997
Dictionary of Literary Biography
R 928.1 D561
Encyclopedia of American Literature
R 810.3 En193
Edgar Allan Poe, A to Z: The Essential Guide to His Life
R 818.309 P752so
Encyclopedia of German Literature
R
830.90003 En19
The Oxford Companion to Chaucer
R 821.17 Ox24
The Oxford Companion to English Literature
R
820.3 D78o 2000
The Oxford Companion to Mark Twain
R 817.44 A6ca
The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation
R 809 Ox26
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Find Articles |
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find
journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. For a complete list of
Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the
Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.html).
To find historical/source materials,
including literary criticism, use
the following print sources, which are located in the
Indexes/Abstracts area:
International Index
Social Science and Humanities Index
Humanities Index
Biography Index
MLA Bibliography
To find recent articles, literary criticism, and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles
use the following online databases:
MLA Bibliography
Wilson Omnifile
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Find General
Collection Books |
Use the
Kent Library Catalog
(http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals
(journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and
other materials.
Keyword searches allow you to use your
own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject
headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the
Reference Desk on the main floor.
Search by the person's last name for either a subject search or
an author search. For example:
Author search (retrieves works by
the person)
Twain, Mark
results:
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Adventures of Tom Sawyer
Mark Twain's Autobiography
The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County and Other Sketches
A Connecticutt Yankee in King Arthur's Court
Innocents Abroad
Roughing It
Subject search (retrieves subject headings leading to works
about the person or his works)
Twain, Mark
results
Mark Twain 1835-1910
Mark Twain 1835-1910 Anecdotes
Mark Twain 1835-1910 Bibliography
Mark Twain 1835-1910 Censorship
Mark Twain 1835-1910 Characters
Mark Twain 1835-1910 Childhood and Youth
Mark Twain 1835-1910 Criticism and Interpretation
Mark Twain 1835-1910 Quotations
Mark Twain 1835-1910 Travel
|
Browse the shelves by call number. Use
the
Dewey Decimal chart (http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/fi_books_dd_list.htm)
to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:
| Works By |
|
Works About |
| 843.78 H874 |
Victor Hugo |
928.4 H87 |
| 230, 252, 828 |
John Henry Newman |
922.242 N465 |
| 811 F454 |
Eugene Field |
928 F454 |
| 891.783 T588 |
Leo Tolstoy |
928.917 T588 |
| 883 |
Homer |
883, 913.3 |
| 824.82 C199 |
Thomas Carlyle |
824.82, 928.2 |
| 822.33 |
William Shakespeare |
822.33 |
| 818.3 T391 |
Henry David Thoreau |
928.1 T391 |
| 821.47 M642 |
John Milton |
928.2 M642 |
| 811.38 W596 |
Walt Whitman |
811.38 |
| 817.44 |
Mark Twain |
817.44 |
| 814.36 Em34 |
Ralph Waldo Emerson |
814.36 |
| 873.1 V587 |
Virgil |
873.1 |
| 824.86 R897 |
John Ruskin |
928.2 R897 |
| 821.17 C393 |
Geoffrey Chaucer |
928.2 C393 |
| 832.62 G554 |
Johann Wolfgang von
Goethe |
832.62 G554, 928.3 G555 |
| 811.32 P752, 818.309
P752 |
Edgar Allan Poe |
818.309 P752 |
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Criticism &
Reviews |
Literary Critics and Criticism
R 801.95 C8684 1999
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
R 809 L712
For additional sources of literary criticism,
see Kent Library Research Guide: Literary Criticism at
http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/litcrit.html
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Primary Sources |
In the study of literature, the literary work itself is considered to
be the primary source. For instance, if one were studying Mark
Twain's The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, the novel would be
the primary source while the various concordances, commentaries, and
critical reviews of it would be secondary or tertiary sources.
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Organizations |
Professional organizations and/or societies
often provide very useful topic related information.
American Academy of Arts and Letters
http://www.artsandletters.org
Association of Literary Scholars and Critics
http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~wcd/alsc!.htm
International Comparative Literature Association
http://www.byu.edu/icla
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Web Resources |
Victor Hugo and His Works
http://comp.uark.edu/~zhagins/hugo.html
John Henry Cardinal Newman
http://www.newman.upenn.edu/jhcn.html
Eugene Field Links
http://www.amherst.edu/~rjyanco/literature/eugenefield/links/menu.html
Reminiscences of Tolstoy
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/etcbin/browse-mixed-new?tag=public&images=images/modeng&data=/texts/english/modeng/parsed&part=0&id=TolRemi
Homer Homepage
http://www.gpc.edu/~shale/humanities/literature/world_literature/homer.html
Thomas Carlyle
http://cepa.newschool.edu/het/profiles/carlyle.htm
The Shakespeare Society of America
http://www.shakespearesociety.org/home.htm
The Writings of Henry D. Thoreau
http://www.thoreau.niu.edu/
John Milton
http://www.luminarium.org/sevenlit/milton/
The Walt Whitman Archive
http://www.whitmanarchive.org/
The Mark Twain Papers and Project
http://bancroft.berkeley.edu/MTP/
Ralph Waldo Emerson
http://www.vcu.edu/engweb/transcendentalism/authors/emerson/
Virgil
http://www.uwm.edu/Library/special/exhibits/clastext/clspg041.htm
Ruskin Museum
http://www.ruskinmuseum.com/ruskin.htm
Chaucer MetaPage
http://www.unc.edu/depts/chaucer/
Goethe Society of North America
http://www.goethesociety.org/
Edgar Allan Poe Society of Baltimore
http://www.eapoe.org/
|
For a list of Web searching tools, see
the Find: web
resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
page developed by Information
Services/ pw
last updated: 05/03/05 |
|
|