.
 
Mythology
This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on mythology
Contents of this research guide
Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |    Web Resources  

Background Information (Overview Sources)
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Clowns & tricksters: an encyclopedia of tradition and culture (R398.209 C4621c)
The facts on file encyclopedia of world mythology and legend (R291.130321 M533f)
Encyclopedia of creation myths (R 291.2403 L517e)
Enyclopedia of hell (R 291.23 V362e)
Encyclopedia of Russian and Slavic myth and legend (R398.20947 D645e)
The golden bough : a study in magic and religion (R 291 F869G3) | online version (abridged ed.) Project Gutenberg: plain text  |  Bartleby.com: interactive interface | Archives.org: digitized original (20MB .pdf) -- also available is an online 'flip book' of original page images
An Illustrated encyclopedia of mysticism (R291.42 F381I)
Legends of the earth, sea, and sky: an encyclopedia of nature myths (R291.21203)
Mythologies of the world (R291.13 M999)
Mythologies (R291.1303 M999)
Mythology of all races (R290 M998)
The woman's encyclopedia of myths and secrets (R291.088042 W151w)
World mythology (R291.13 W893)
 

 
[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

Bloomsbury dictionary of myth
Dictionary of African Mythology
Dictionary of Asian Mythology
Dictionary of Celtic myth and legend (R299.16003 G824d) 
Dictionary of Celtic Mythology
Dictionary of Egyptian gods and goddesses (R299.31 H251d) 
Dictionary of gods and goddesses, devils and demons (R291.210321 L974d)
Dictionary of Norse myth and legend (R293.13 Or1d) 
Dictionary of symbols : an illustrated guide to traditional images, icons, and emblems (R302.2223 T725d 1998)
A dictionary of world mythology (R291.13 C827d) 
Dictionary of world mythology
Guide to the gods (R 291.211 L467g)
Handbook of Norse mythology (R293.13 L6451h)
The Oxford dictionary of classical myth and religion (R292.1303 Ox25)
Who's who in classical mythology
 

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, use the following print sources:

Anthropological Literature
Humanities Index
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
Religion Index One: Periodicals

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier
Anthropological Index Online
Iter
Project Muse
Proquest Research Library
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Wilson Omnifile
 
 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books
Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Folklore
Myth
Mythology
     can also be subdivided by nation/ethnic group, such as
           Mythology Celtic or
           Mythology Egyptian
 

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart  to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

201 Religious mythology & social theology
290 Other religions
292 Greek & Roman religion
293 Germanic religion
294 Religions of Indic origin
295 Zoroastrianism
296 Judaism
297 Islam, Babism & Bahai Faith
398 Folklore
 

[go to top of page]
Web Resources

Bullfinch's Mythology: the age of fable: Project Gutenberg: plain text  |  Bartleby.com: interactive interface 
Encyclopedia Mythica
Librarian's Index to the Internet mythology links
Modern Mythology by Andrew Lang

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).
[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/KS
last updated:10/07/2009