| |
MUSIC |
This guide
suggests resources and strategies for research on music.
|
Contents of this research guide |
Background
Information | Facts &
Figures | Find
Articles | Find Books
| Criticism
& Reviews | Primary
Sources | People
| Organizations
| Web
Resources
|
|
| |
Background Information (Overview Sources) |
Encyclopedias and
other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or
simply learn more about a particular topic. They provide topic
summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.
Encyclopedia of
Country Music (R 781.64203 En194)
Encyclopedia of
Popular Music (R 781.6403 En19 1998)
Guinness
Encyclopedia of Popular Music (R 781.6403 G948 1995)
Garland
Encyclopedia of World Music (R 780.9 G183 )
New Grove
Dictionary of Jazz (R 785.4203 N42)
New Grove
Dictionary of Music and Musicians (R 780.3 G919 2001)
New Grove
Dictionary of Opera (R 782..103 N42)
Performance
Practice: Music after 1600 (781.4309 P416 1990)
|
[go to top
of page] |
| |
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources) |
Use dictionaries,
statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check
facts about topics, people, or events.
American
Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia (R 782.140973 H622a)
Dictionary of
Western Church Music (R 782.3203 P864d)
Film it with
Music: an Encyclopedia guide to the American Movie Musical (R 791. 436
H622f)
Key Concepts in
Popular Music (781.6403 Sh92k)
New Grove
Dictionary of Musical Instruments (R 781.910321 N42)
New Grove High
Renaissance Masters (780.922 N4197 1984)
New Grove
Italian Baroque Masters (780.922 N42 1984)
New Grove
Modern Masters (780.922 N4198 1984)
|
[go to top
of page] |
| |
Find Articles |
Search indexes,
abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper
articles. For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and
databases, see the Find:
articles page.
To find
historical/source materials, such
as newspaper and magazine articles use the following prin
New York Times Index, 1851+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Official Index to the Times & The Times Index, 1906+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
To find recent
articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online
databases:
Dissertation Abstracts
Encyclopedia Britannica
JStor
Music Index
|
[go to top
of page] |
| |
Find General Collection Books |
Use the Kent Library Catalog to
find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos,
government documents and other materials.
Keyword searches allow you to use
your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings.
Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on
the main floor.
Music subject headings include -
Music
Music-- (keyword
descriptors) as in Music--Social Aspects
Music--
(geographical discriptor) as in Music--United States
Musical analysis
Musicology
Composers may be
listed individually as in Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750
|
Browse the
shelves by
call number. Use the Dewey Decimal
chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you
in the right subject areas or try the following:
In Kent Library
materials on/ or related to music are classified in the 780's.
|
[go to top
of page] |
| |
Criticism & Reviews |
Critical analysis
of musical compositions can be found in Music Index (paper and online) and
in individual works found in the general collection. For example for a
critical analysis of works by J.S. Bach, search under Bach, Johann
Sebastian, 1685 - 1750. For critical analysis of a particular performance
of a musical work, search the Music Index, Readers Guide to Periodical
Literature, or an online resource such as Lexis Nexis or Academic Search
Elite.
|
[go to top
of page] |
| |
Primary Sources |
Butt, John. Bach
interpretation: articulation marks in primary sources of J.S. Bach.
Cambridge, England. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1990. (780.92
B122b)
Tracy, Steven C. Write
me a few of your lines: a Blues reader. Amherst: University of Massachusetts
Press, 1999. (781.643 W9391)
Lawson, Colin. The
historical performance of music: an introduction. Cambridge, England.
New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999. (781.4309 L444h)
Stowell, Robin. The
early violin and viola: a practical guide. Cambridge, England. New
York: Cambridge University Press, 2001. (787.214309 St79e)
|
[go to top
of page] |
| |
People |
Claghorn, Charles
Eugene. Women composers and songwriters: a concise biographical
dictionary. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 1996. (927.8092 C519w)
Cowden, Robert H. Popular
singers of the twentieth century: a bibliography of biographical materials. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1999. (782.0640922 C8388p)
Giddins, Gary. Visions
of jazz: the first century. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
(781.65092 G36v)
Greene, David
Mason. Greene's biographical encyclopedia of composers. Garden city,
N.Y: Doubleday, 1985. (780.922 G8316)
Handy, D.
Antoinette. Black conductors. Metuchen, N. J: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
(973.0496073 H1926)
Reagon, Bernice
Johnson. We'll understand it better by and by: pioneering African
American gospel composers. Washingon: Smithsonian Institution Press,
1992. (782.25 W485)
Schonberg, Harold
C. The great conductors. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1967.
(927.81635 Sch65g)
Schonberg, harold
C. The lives of the great composers. New York: W. W. Norton, 1981.
|
[go to top
of page] |
| |
Organizations |
Professional
organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related
information.
American Society
of Composers, Authors, and Publishers http://ascap.com/
Broadcast Music,
Inc. http://bmi.com/
|
[go to top
of page] |
| |
Web Resources |
Worldwide Internet Music Resources http://music.indiana.edu/music_resources/
|
|
[go to top
of page] |
|
page developed by Information
Services/ BL
last updated: 4/28/09
06/24/09
|
|