|
Kent Library Microform Collections
Kent Library's microform collections are housed in cabinets in the Periodicals
Department and include ERIC documents,
government documents, microfilmed newspapers, the National Criminal Justice
Reference Service microfiche collection, and
various individual titles.
Three important collections that
are particularly noteworthy
Selected Americana from SABIN s Bibliotheca Americana: Dictionary of Books
Relating to America, from its Discovery
to the Present Time.
Call No.: MR 973 Sa13d
Arranged by Lost Cause Press Fiche Number
Based on Joseph Sabin s Bibliotheca Americana, which according to RWG Vail
includes everything that deals with
political, governmental, military, economic, social and religious history of the
Western Hemisphere from the discovery of
the New World to 1936.
Access:
1) Some of the titles are individually cataloged and can be found by
searching the Kent Library online catalog by author or
title.
2) Sabin microform guide in the reference collection (R 015.73 Sa13d
Microform Guides) is arranged alphabetically
and has a pencil mark by the titles held by Kent Library.
3) A second method to
determining whether Kent Library owns a
particular title that has not been individually cataloged is to go to the
Primary Source Microfilm home page at www.galegroup.com/psm/, click Free Access to PSM Online Guides on the right
under Related Links, click on Browse by
Collection, go to Sabin Collection, click on view guide.
4) For electronic
database access, go to WorldCat (Advanced
Search). Type in selected americana and choose notes.
Early English Books, 1475-1640 (Pollard and Redgrave) and Early English Books,
1641-1700 (Wing)
Call No.: MF 820.8 Un3e (Pollard and Redgrave) / MF 820.8 Un3ea (Wing)
Arranged
by reel number
Based on Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalog and Wing's
Short-Title Catalog that lists all English books from the beginning of printing
in
England in 1475 until 1700.
Access:
1) A catalog record for the microform set of Early English Books, 1475-
1640 and for Early English Books, 1641-1700 can be found in the Kent Library
online catalog.
2) For all
titles acquired by Kent Library, reel numbers have been written into the margin
of
the first edition of Pollard and Redgrave (R 015.42 P761s Microform Guides)
and Wing (R 015.42 W726s Microform Guides), respectively.
3) For individual
titles in the series, consult a finding aid created from a photocopy of Eleanora
A.
Baer's Titles in Series (R Microform Guides 011.36 B141t).
Remains Historical and Literary Connected with the Palatine Counties of
Lancaster and Chester: (Old Series), New Series,
and Third Series published by the Chetham Society
Call No.: MR 942.7 C426r
Arranged by volume number within each series
The Chetham Society's Web page www.chethams.org.uk/Chetham_Society.htm
states that the object of the Society was to publish 'Remains Historical and
Literary connected with the Palatine Counties of Lancashire and Chester',
although since the 1870s the literary element has been dropped and the work of
the Society has concentrated entirely upon the publication of history.
Access:
1) A catalog record for the microform set can be found in the Kent Library
online catalog.
2)
For individual titles in each of the three series, consult E. L. C. Mullins
Texts and
Calendars: An Analytical Guide to Serial Publications (R Microform Guides
016.942 An13).
3) For Web access to a list of items in the collection, see URL
listed
above.
page developed by
Kent Library/JB
last updated:
05/13/08
|