|
Background Information |
Facts & Figures |
Databases |
Periodical Indexes |
Books and Other
Cataloged Materials | People |
Organizations |
Web Resources |
| |
Encyclopedias are an excellent
place to start a research project or to learn more about a particular topic. They provide summaries, place topics in context
with related subjects, and often include bibliographies for further reading. |
| |
|
| |
| |
Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Education |
|
R 510.71 En196 |
| |
|
|
|
| |
Encyclopaedia of Mathematics: An Updated and Annotated
Translation of the Soviet "Mathematical Encyclopaedia"
|
|
R 510.321 En195 |
| |
|
|
|
[Return
to top]
| |
Dictionary of Applied Math
for Engineers and Scientists |
R 510.3 D5614 |
| |
|
|
| |
Dictionary of Mathematics |
R 510.3 D5615 |
| |
|
|
| |
International Handbook of Mathematics Education |
R 510.71 In85 |
| |
|
|
| |
The Words of Mathematics: An Etymological Dictionary of
Mathematical Terms Used in English |
R 510.3 Sch95w |
| |
|
|
| |
Mathematics Illustrated Dictionary: Facts, Figures, and People |
R 510.3 B433m 1989 |
| |
|
|
| |
CRC Handbook of Mathematical Sciences |
R 510.212 C11 1987 |
| |
|
|
| |
Breakthroughs: A Chronology of Great Achievements in Science and
Mathematics, 1200 - 1930 |
R 509 P229b |
| |
|
|
| |
Handbook of Mathematical, Scientific, and Engineering Formulas,
Tables, Functions, Graphs, Transforms |
R 510.212 H191 1984 |
[Return
to top]
| |
ERIC |
|
Provides indexing and abstracts for journal
articles and unpublished documents
in the field of education. Includes references for materials dealing
with mathematics education. |
| |
|
|
|
| |
JStor
|
|
An archival database with the full text and
full page image of 117 scholarly journals
from the first issue up until the last 2-7 years. Most journals will
continue to be
updated as time goes on. Major disciplines covered by JStor journals
include
African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, Literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, sociology, and statistics.
|
[Return
to top]
[Return
to top]
| |
Books and other cataloged
materials, such as video and audio recordings, are located using the Library's online catalog (http://library.semo.edu). Relevant
Library of Congress subject headings include: |
| |
|
| |
Mathematics |
| |
Algebra |
| |
Arithmetic |
| |
Business mathematics |
| |
Equations |
| |
Ethnomathematics |
| |
Factorization (Mathematics) |
| |
Fractions |
| |
Functions |
| |
Fuzzy mathematics |
| |
Geometry |
| |
Logic, symbolic and mathematical |
| |
Numeracy |
| |
Probabilities |
| |
Set theory |
| |
Trigonometry |
| |
Word problems (Mathematics) |
| |
|
| |
|
| |
Books dealing with mathematics are
most commonly found in the call number range 510 - 519, and are grouped by subject as follows: |
| |
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
510 |
|
|
|
|
|
Mathematics |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
511 |
|
|
|
|
|
General principles of mathematics |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
512 |
|
|
|
|
|
Algebra |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
513 |
|
|
|
|
|
Arithmetic |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
514 |
|
|
|
|
|
Topology |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
515 |
|
|
|
|
|
Analysis |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
516 |
|
|
|
|
|
Geometry |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
517 |
|
|
|
|
|
[unassigned] |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
518 |
|
|
|
|
|
Numerical analysis |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
519 |
|
|
|
|
|
Probabilities and applied mathematics |
[Return
to top]
| |
Notable Mathematicians:
From Ancient Times to the Present |
|
R 925.1 N843 |
| |
|
|
|
| |
Women of Mathematics: A
Biobibliographic Sourcebook |
|
R 925.1082 W842 |
| |
|
|
|
| |
The Mathematical
Practitioners of Tudor and Stuart England |
|
R 925.1 T213ma |
| |
|
|
|
| |
The Mathematical
Practitioners of Hanoverian England, 1714 - 1840
|
|
R 925.1 T213m |
[Return
to top]
Mathematical Association of
America
http://www.maa.org
Clay Mathematics Institute
http://www.claymath.org
National Council of Teachers of
Mathematics
http://www.nctm.org
COMAP: The Consortium for
Mathematics and its Applications
http://www.comap.com
T3 Worldwide
http://www.t3ww.org
Association of Mathematics
Teacher Educators
http://www.amte.net
Learning First Alliance
http://www.learningfirst.org/issues/math/
Association for Women in
Mathematics
http://www.awm-math.org
International Mathematical Union
http://www.mathunion.org
Institute for Mathematics and
its Applications
http://www.ima.umn.edu
Institute of Mathematical
Statistics
http://www.imstat.org
International Society of the
Arts, Mathematics, and Architecture (ISAMA)
http://www.isama.org
Conference for African-American
Researchers in the Mathematical Sciences
http://www.math.buffalo.edu/mad/CAARMS/
Mathematics Foundation of
America
http://www.mfoa.org
International Society for
Mathematical and Computational Aesthetics (IS-MCA)
http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~mleyton/ISMA.htm
National Association of
Mathematicians
http://www.caam.rice.edu/~nated/orgs/nam
[Return
to top]
Algebra
Math Forum: Algebra
Problem of the Week
http://www.mathforum.org/algpow/
Abstract Algebra Online
http://www.math.niu.edu/~beachy/aaol/
The Mathematical Atlas:
Algebraic Areas of Mathematics
http://www.math.niu.edu/~rusin/known-math/index/tour_alg.html
Elements of Abstract and Linear
Algebra
http://www.math.miami.edu/~ec/book/
Catalogue of Algebraic Systems
http://www.math.usf.edu/~eclark/algctlg/
Algebra Links
http://www.spartanburg2.k12.sc.us/links/algebra.htm
Calculus
Calculus-Help.com
http://www.calculus-help.com
e-Calculus
http://www.math.uakron.edu/~dpstory/e-calculus.html
Calculus @ Internet
http://www.calculus.net/ci2/?tag=
Automatic Calculus and Algebra
http://www.calc101.c0m
Calculus on the Web
http://www.math.temple.edu/~cow/
The Connected Curriculum
Project: Calculus
http://www.math.montana.edu/frankw/ccp/calculus/topic.htm
Topics in Integral and
Differential Calculus
http://www.ma.utexas.edu/users/kawasaki/mathPages.dir/index.html
Calculus.org: The Calculus
Page
http://www.ecalculus.org
The Elementary Calculus Line
http://cne.gmu.edu/modules/dau/calculus/calculus_frm.html
World Web Math: Calculus
Summary
http://web.mit.edu/wwmath/calculus/summary.html
Geometry
Geometry in Action
http://www.ics.uci.edu/~eppstein/geom.html
Geometry Center
http://www.geom.uiuc.edu/
Math Forum: POW/POM Search
http://mathforum.org/powgrepform.html
Geometry from the Land of the
Incas
http://agutie.homestead.com/
Geometry
http://astronomy.swin.edu.au/~pbourke/geometry/
Erich's Packing Center
http://www.stetson.edu/~efriedma/packing.html
Geometry Formulas and Facts
http://www.geom.uiuc.edu/docs/reference/CRC-formulas/
Fundamentals of Geometry
http://polly.phys.msu.ru/~belyaev/geometry.htm
Logic
Mathematical Logic Around the
World
http://www.uni-bonn.de/logic/world.html
The Mathematical Atlas:
Mathematical Logic and Foundations
http://www.math.niu.edu/~rusin/known-math/index/03-XX.html
Number Theory
Number Theory
http://www.mathpages.com/home/inumber.htm
The Mathematical Atlas:
Number Theory
http://www.math.niu.edu/~rusin/known-math/index/11-XX.html
Integer Relations
http://www.cecm.sfu.ca/projects/IntegerRelations/
Number Theory Web
http://www.numbertheory.org/ntw/
The On-Line Encyclopedia of
Integer Sequences
http://www.research.att.com/~njas/sequences/index.html
Number Theory
http://www.alpertron.com.ar/NUMBERT.HTM
Number Theory Glossary
http://www.math.umbc.edu/~campbell/NumbThy/Class/Glossary.html
Probability
The Probability Web
http://www.mathcs.carleton.edu/probweb/probweb.html
The Mathematical Atlas:
Measure and Integration
http://www.math.niu.edu/~rusin/known-math/index/28-XX.html
The Mathematical Atlas:
Probability Theory and Stochastic Processes
http://www.math.niu.edu/~rusin/known-math/index/60-XX.html
The Layman's Guide to
Probability Theory
http://www.peterwebb.co.uk/probability.htm
Probabilistic Thinking
http://www.princeton.edu/~bayesway/ProbThink/
Reference Resources
Digital Library of Mathematical
Functions
http://dlmf.nist.gov/
The Mathematical Atlas: A
Gateway to Modern Mathematics
http://www.math.niu.edu/~rusin/known-math/welcome.html
Platonic Realms
http://www.mathacademy.com/pr/index.asp
Math2.Org
http://www.math2.org/
Math Assistance Online
http://www.ercangurvit.com/
Math Reference Project
http://www.mathreference.com/
Statistics
The World Wide Web Virtual
Library: Statistics
http://www.stat.ufl.edu/vlib/statistics.html
Research Randomizer
http://www.randomizer.org/
Basic Principles of Statistical
Analysis
http://duke.usask.ca/~rbaker/stats.html
Statistics to Use
http://www.physics.csbsju.edu/stats/
Free Statistics on the Web
http://freestatistics.altervista.org/
Statistical Review
http://www.kaspercpa.com/statisticalreview.htm
Statistics Resources
http://soldzresearch.com/statisticsresources.htm
Statistics on the Web
http://my.execpc.com/~helberg/statframes.html
Trigonometry
Dave's Short Trig Course
http://aleph0.clarku.edu/~djoyce/java/trig/
An Introduction to Trigonometry
http://www.ping.be/~ping1339/gonio.htm
Trigonometry
http://fergusmurray.members.beeb.net/trig.htm
Basic Trigonometry
http://abe.www.ecn.purdue.edu/~agen215/trig.html
Addition Formulas for Sines and
Cosines
http://www.pitt.edu/~wek3/sineadd/node1.html
[Return
to top]
2004/PTW
last updated 7/16/2004
|