.

 
Mass Communication

This guide suggests resources for research in the field of mass communication broadly, as well as in the specific areas of advertising, journalism, media studies, public relations, radio, and video production.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources  |  Additional Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Communication Yearbook Kent Stacks  001.505 C737
Encyclopedia of Advertising R 659.103 Ad964
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics R 170.3 En182
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information R 302.203 En194
Encyclopedia of Television R 791.4503 En19
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution +supplements R 342.02303 En19 2000
Handbook of International and Intercultural Communication Kent Stacks  302.2 H191 2002
Handbook of Public Relations Kent Stacks  659.2 H19171
Handbook of Visual Analysis Kent Stacks  302.23 H19178
History of the Mass Media in the United States R 302.230973 H62991
International Encyclopedia of Communications R 302.203 In8
The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio R 384.5403 M9727

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events. 

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook R 384.540973 B78311
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns R 659.10973 En196
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media R 070 Ay2414
International Dictionary of Broadcasting & Film R 791.403 B634i
NTC's Dictionary of Advertising R 659.103 W634n2
Standard Directory of Advertisers R 659.102573 St24
Websters New World Dictionary of Media and Communications R 302.2302 W431w
[go to top of page]
 
Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases & to access these online resources, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use print indexes and online databases:

ABI/Inform 
(business information)
online database
Academic Search Premier 
(multidisciplinary database)
online database
Business Source Premier online database
Communication & Mass Media Complete online database
Communication Abstracts (1978-1997) in Periodical Index area
Full text journals & magazines related to mass communication online resource
GPO Monthly Catalog
(government information)
online database
Index to Journals in Communication Studies through 1990 Kent Stacks 016.302205 M427i
Lexis-Nexis Academic
(legal & business information & general news)
online database
Project Muse 
(humanities & social sciences full text journals)
online database
PsycInfo online database
Wilson Web OmniFile
includes Humanities Index & Social Sciences Index
online database

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/fi_books_dd_list.htm) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

070s  journalism, publishing, news media
302s  includes mass media, & interpersonal, small group, & visual communication
303s  intercultural communication
306s  political communication
342s-345s  freedom of the press, mass media law
384s  broadcasting
650s  advertising, organizational communication, public relations
791s  tv, radio, film, video
808s  rhetoric, public speaking
 

[go to top of page]
 
People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

The Ad Men and Women: a Biographical Dictionary of Advertising R 926.591 Ad1
Crusaders, Scoundrels, Journalists Kent Stacks
070.92 C8889
Making Waves: the 50 Greatest Women in Radio and Television R 791.4402808
Women in Communication: a Biographical Source R 920.72 W8422

 

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Advertising Federation
American Association of Advertising Agencies
American Communication Association
Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
Broadcast Education Association
Missouri Broadcasters Association
Missouri Broadcast Educators Association
National Association of Broadcasters
National Broadcasting Society
National Communication Association
Public Relations Society of America
Radio-Television News Directors Association  
Society of Professional Journalists
 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources


Advertising Educational Foundation
Advertising World (from University of Texas-Austin)
The Annenberg Public Policy Center
Center for Communication
Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
FindLaw
Nielsen Media Research
NSPA/ACP Student Media Sourcebook
Poynter Online
University of Iowa Department of Communication Studies - Links to Resources
Visual Communication
Who Owns What (media ownership)

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
Additional Resources

 

Annual Review of Psychology Kent Stacks  150.58 An78
Annual Review of Sociology
(searchable online via the JSTOR database)
Kent Stacks  301.05 An78
Encyclopedia of American Radio, 1920-1960 R 791.440973 Si18e
Encyclopedia of Television, Cable, and Video R 302.2303 R251e
Encyclopedia of Television News R 070.195 En19
From Talking Drums to the Internet: an Encyclopedia of Communications Technology R 302.203 G176f
How to Produce a Video   (videorecording) IM Center  IM/VC9587
The Television Industry: a Historical Dictionary R 384.5540973 S134t

 

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ CAR
last updated: 11/21/06