.

 
Manufacturing engineering technology

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on manufacturing engineering technology.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |   People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.


Chambers technical dictionary; comprising terms used in pure and applied science, medicine, the chief manufacturing industries, engineering, construction,
the mechanic trades; with definitions by recognised authorities. 603 C355

De Vries, Louis. German-english technical and engineering dictionary. 603 D499g2 1966

Encyclopedia of american industries. 338.0973 En19 v. 1 & 2

Engineering encyclopedia. 620.3 J631e3

Ernst, Richard. Dictionary of industrial technics: including related fields of science and civil engineering. 603 Er67d 1968 v. 1 & 2.

Graham, Glenn A. Automation encyclopedia: A to Z in advanced manufacturing.
670.420321 G76a

IEEE standard dictionary of electrical and electronic terms. 621. 303 In7i2

Machine tool and advanced skills technology: common ground: towards a standards-based training system for u.s. machine tool and metal related industries.
(microform) ED 1.310/2:401431-


Tver, David F. Encyclopedic dictionary of industrial technology: materials,
Processes, and equipment. 670.321 T899e
 

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

 Fuchs, Jerome H. Prentice hall illustrated handbook of advanced
manufactuting methods. 658.5 F951p

Handbook of industrial engineering: technology and operations management. 658. H191 2001

Handbook of production design for manufacturing: a practical guide to low cost production. 671 H191

Hobbs, Dennis P. Lean manufacturing implementation: a complete execution manual for any size manufacturer. 658.5 H6523l

Liggett, John V. Dimensional variation management handbook: a guide for quality, design, and manufacturing engineers. 620.0045 L626d

Mann, Lawrence. Applied engineering statistics for practical engineers. 519.02462 M315a

Manufacturing and mining: numerical list of manufactured and mineral products. C 3.24/2:P 94/5/2002

Tool and manufacturing engineers handbook: a reference book for manufacturing engineers, managers, and technicians. 670 T617
 

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, use the following print sources:

Code of federal regulations: CFR index and finding aids. AE 2.106/3-2
Index of trademarks issued from the united states patent and trademark office. C 21.5/3
Mergent complete corporate index. 332.6 M7761
U. S. government research and development reports index. C 51.9/4

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, use the following online databases:

Ameristat
Business Full Text (Wilson)
Business Source Premier
EconLit
General Science Full Text (Wilson)
GPO
Statistical Universe
 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Industrialization
Manufacturing Industries
Manufacturing Process
Mass Production
Production Engineering
Production Management
System Design
 

People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Asimov, Issac. Asimovs biographical encyclopedia of science and technology: the lives and achievements of 1510 great scientists from ancient times to the present chronologically arranged. 925 As42a2

Cambridge dictionary of scientists. 925 C144

Carvill, James. Famous names in engineering. 926.2 C257f

Feldenkirchen, Wilfried. Werner von siemens: inventor and international entrepreneur. 338.76213 Si15f

Great engineers and pioneers in technology. R 926.2 G798

Zierdt-Warshaw, Linda. American women in technology: an encyclopedia. R 920.72 Z641a

 

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Association of Engineering Societies (http://www.aaes.org)

National Association of Manufacturers (http://www.nam.org)

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (http://www. sme.org)

 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources

Manufacturing Technology Information Center (http://mitac.alionscience.com)

National Center for Manufacturing Sciences (http://ncms.org)

National Council for Advanced Manufacturing (http://nacfam.org)
 

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ BL
last updated: 05/06