.
 
 

International Studies  (Business)

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on International Sudies (Business).

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources  |  

 
Background Information (Overview Sources)
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading

Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of business ethics  174.403  B568
Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of finance 
R 332.03  B568
Business library and how to use it: a guide to sources and research strategies for information on business and management 
R  027.69  B964
Hoovers handbook of world business 
R  338.7402573  H7694
International encyclopedia of business and management 
R  650.03  In8
Johannsen
, Hano International dictionary of management  658.00321  J598i3
Marcic
, Dorothy.  Management international: cases, exercises, and readings  658.049
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of economics 
R  330.03  M178
Mexico
business: the portable encyclopedia for doing business with mexico  
658.8480972  M574
Morrison, Terri.  Dun & bradstreets guide to doing business around the world  658.848  M834d
 

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

 To find recent articles and scholarly/peer reviewed articles use the following online databases.

ABI/Inform Complete
Academic Search Premier
Business Full Text  (Wilson)
Business Source Premier
Econlit
Edgar
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
Wilson Omnifile
World Almanac
 

[go to top of page]

 

Find Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk. 

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you in the right subject areas.   See examples below:

Bjorkman, Ingemar and Forsgren, Mats (ed)  The nature of the international firm: nordic contributions to international business research  338.7  N219

DiMaggio, Paul (ed)  The twenty-first-century firm: changing economic organization in international perspective  658.406  T9186

Harris, Phillip R.  Managing cultural differences: global leadership strategies for the 21st century  658.18  H243m6

Hodgetts, Richard M.  International management 658.049  H667i3

Hooker, John  Working across cultures  306 H764w

Elashmawi, Farid  Multicultural management 2000: essential cultural insights for global business success  658. 3008  El14m

Schultz, Don E.  Communicating globally: an integrated market approach  658.484  Sch822c

Sethi, S. PrakashSetting global standards: guidelines for creating codes of conduct in multinational corporations  658.314  Se75s

[go to top of page]

 

People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Carosso, Vincent P.  The morgans: private international bankers 1854 1913  332.150922  M822c

Cassis, YoussefBusiness elites  305.554  B964

Dickie, John.  Whos who in Africa: the political, military and business leaders of Africa  920.06 D56w

Feldenkirchen, WilfriedWerner von siemens: inventor and international entrepreneur  338.76213  Si15f

Reynolds, John.  Andre citroen: the henry ford of france  338.7629222  C498r

Rodgers, William.  Think: a biography of the watsons and IBM  338.7616518  R616t

[go to top of page]

Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information. 

ICC (International Chamber of Commerce)
(http://iccwbo.org)

International Association for Management Education
(http://aacsb.edu)

 International Association of Business Communicators
(http://iabc.com)

International Franchise Association
(http://franchise.org)

International Trade Association
(http://ita.doc.gov)

International Organization for Standardization
(http://iso.org)

Web Resources 

http://executiveplanet.com

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com

http://internationalist.com

http://ipi.org

http://cnn.com

http://businessweek.com

http://usatoday.com

http://ibfconferences.com

[go to top of page]

 

page developed by Information Services/BL
5/1/06