.

    

     Industry Information
      This guide suggests resources and strategies for researching an industry. 
 

     Contents of the research guide
     
Industry Information  I  Company Information  I  Indexes & Databases  I  Other Helpful Sources


Industry Information

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Reference collection, R 338.50973 T759a  (earlier editions in Kent Stacks)

Business.gov
http://www.business.gov/

Business Data Since 2002 from the U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/recent.htm

Current Industrial Reports (CIR) from U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/cir/www

2002 Economic Census from U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/

1997 Economic Census from U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/econ97.html

Encyclopedia of American Industries
Reference collection, R 338.0973 En19

Encyclopedia of Associations
Reference Desk collection,  R 061 G131e
Industry & trade associations are a great source of information. 
Use the association encyclopedia to find industry specific associations, then see if 
the associations maintain Web sites.  Also, the Internet Public Library maintains 
a non-comprehensive list of associations on the Web at http://www.ipl.org/div/aon/ 

Hoover's Online
http://www.hoovers.com

Industry, Trade, and the Economy: Data and Analysis
from Office of Trade and Industry, U.S. Department of Commerce
http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/

Mergent's Industry Review
Reference collection, R 332.6322097 M7762

Overview of BLS Statistics by Industry - US Dept. of Labor
http://www.bls.gov/bls/industry.htm

RMA Annual Statement Studies
Reference collection, R 338.0973 R541a  (earlier editions in Kent Stacks)

Special Magazine Issues
Business Week
- "Industry Outlook", appears each year in January

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Reference collection, R 338 St241

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides industry& company information.
Reference collection, R 332.6305 V249

back to top



Company Information

Annual Report Service
http://www.annualreportservice.com/

EDGAR Database (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission)
http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm

Hoover's Handbook of American Business
Reference collection, R 338.7402573 H769

Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies
Reference collection, R 338 H769

Hoover's Handbook of World Business
Reference collection, R 338.7402573 H7694

Hoover's Online
http://www.hoovers.com

LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
Reference collection, R 338.802573 L591

Mergent Manuals - print and online collection
   Bank & Finance Manual,
Reference collection, R 332.1 M776
   Industrial Manual, Reference collection, R 332.6 M7761
   OTC Industrial Manual, Reference collection, R 332.6 M7762
   Public Utility & Transportation, Reference collection, R 380 M7761
Information is updated weekly and available online. Search the Kent Library Catalog
on the name of the publication for access to online information.

Mergent's Handbook of Common Stocks
Reference collection, R 332.63 M776h

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors, & Executives
Reference collection, R 332.6 P799

Standard & Poor's Stock Reports
Reference collection, R 332.67 St24

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Reference collection, R 338.7402573 W219

back to top



Indexes & Databases

Use these library subscription databases to find articles related to find current industry and company news, government statistical information, and more! 

Accessible via the Library's homepage at
http://library.semo.edu/find/db_az.asp

ABI/Inform
Use this to find articles in trade publications and journals.

Academic Search Premier
Use this to find articles in general magazines and some journals.

Business Full Text (Wilson)
Use this to find articles in trade publications and journals.

Business Source Premier
Use this to find articles in trade publications and journals.
Hint: select the alternate business searching interface for precision searching!

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Use this to find business & industry news, fulltext trade publications, SEC filings,
company & industry reports , etc.  From the main Lexis-Nexis menu, select "Business."

Index to the Wall Street Journal
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe indexes & provides article summaries to the Journal from 1973+.


Other helpful sources

Business Wire
http://www.businesswire.com/

1997 NAICS and 1987 SIC Correspondence Tables
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naicstab.htm

2002 NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
http://www.census.gov/epcd/naics02/

2007 NAICS
http://www.census.gov/naics/2007/index.html

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Search
http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html

back to top


created February 2002, last updated 5/08
by Claudia Ruediger
Kent Library, Southeast Missouri State University

Kent Library Homepage
Southeast Missouri State University Homepage