.

Human Environmental Studies

Human Environmental Studies offers programs that focus on the quality of life for individuals and families, and includes courses and degree options in such diverse areas as child development, consumer services, interior design, and food service and hospitality management.

Majors

Food Service and Hospitality Management (B.S.)
Human Environmental Studies (B.S.)
    Options:  Child Development
                     Dietetics
                     Family Life
                     Fashion Merchandising
                     Housing and Interior Design
                     Family and Consumer Services Education (B.S.Ed.)
                     Child Care and Guidance (A.A.)
                     Food Service and Hospitality Management

Minors

                      Child Life Services
                      Child Studies
                      Family Economics and Management
                      Family Studies
                      Food Service and Hospitality Management
                      Gerontology
                      Interior Design
                      Nutrition
                      Fashion Merchandising

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or to learn about a particular topic.  They provide summaries, place topics in context, and often include bibliographies for further reading. 

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence      (R 305.23103 G131)
Encyclopedia of Family Life      (R 306.8509703 En194)
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition      (R 612.303 En195)
Encyclopedia of Interior Design      (R 747.03 En19)
Encyclopedia of Housing      (R 363.503 En195)
 

Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks, and similar works to check facts about topics, people, or events.

Handbook of Early Childhood Intervention      (Stacks 362.19892 H19154 2000)
Manual of Clinical Dietetics      (Stacks 615.854 M319 2000)
The Interior Design Business Handbook      (Stacks 729.068 K723i3)
Statistical Abstract of the United States      (R 317 Un3) 
 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online databases, see the Find:  articles page at: (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp). 

Useful databases include:
    Academic Search Premier
    ABI Inform
    Agricola
    PsycINFO
    CINAHL
    Wilson Omnifile

Useful periodical indexes include:
    Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature

    Art Index
    Humanities Index
    Social Science Index

 

Find General Collection Books


Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, videos, government documents, and other cataloged materials.  Possible subject headings include:
    child development
    dietetics
    diet in disease
    diet therapy
    family
    family life education
    interpersonal relations
    fashion merchandising
    clothing trade
    fashion--economic aspects
    interior decoration
    consumer education
    hospitality industry--management

 

Organizations

American Dietetic Association
    http://www.eatright.org
American Society for Clinical Nutrition
    http://www.ascn.org
American Society for Nutritional Sciences
    http://www.asns.org
Your Child Nutrition eSource; American School Food Service Association
    http://www.asfsa.org

 

American Hotel & Lodging Association
    http://www.ahma.com

International Hotel & Restaurant Association
    http://www.ih-ra.com

National Association of College and University Food Services
    http://www.nacufs.org

National Park Hospitality Association
    http://www.nphassn.org
SHM:  Society for Hospitality Management
    http://www.hospitalitysociety.org


American Society on Aging
    http://www.asaging.org
AGHE (Association for Gerontology in Higher Education)
    http://www.aghe.org/site/aghewebsite
Gerontological Society of America
    http://www.geron.org
International Association of Gerontology
    http://www.sfu.ca/iag

National Council on Aging
    http://www.caregiver.org

National Institute on Aging
    http://www.nih.gov/nia


National Association for the Education of Young Children
    http://www.naeyc.org


National Council on Family Relations
    http://www.ncfr.com/Default.htm

 

American Society of Interior Designers
    http://www.interiors.org

International Interior Design Association
    http://www.iida.org
National Council for Interior Design Qualification
    1200 18th Street, NW
    Suite 1001
    Washington, DC 20036
    Phone: (202) 721-0220
    FAX: (202) 721-0221
 

American Association for Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)
    http://www.aafcs.org
 

Costume Society of America
    http://www.costumesocietyamerica.com
Fashion Group International
    http://www.fgi.org
International Textile and Apparel Association
    http://www.itaaonline.org
 

Additional Web Resources

AARP (American Association of Retired Persons)
    http://www.aarp.org


Children, Youth and Families Education Network
    http://www.cyfernet.org


Foodservice.com
    http://www.foodservice.com
Hospitality News
    http://www.smartbrief.com


National Senior Citizens Law Center
    http://www.nsclc.org
Resource Directory for Older People
    http://www.aoa.dhhs.gov/aoa/resource/html
United States Senate Special Committee on Aging
    http://www.senate.gov/aging~aging
 

A World of Possibilities
    http://www.ca.uky.edu/fcs/possibilities/index.htm

 
Angel of Fashion
    http://www.fashionangel.com
Fashion.About.Com
    http://fashion.about.com
Worthglobalstylenetwork
    http://www.wgsn.com
  

 

page developed by Information Services/PTW
last updated:  6/8/04