.

Hospitality Management

This guide suggests resources for locating information and materials on the Hospitality and Food Service Industry.

 

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  BooksArticles  |  ReviewsHospitality Law

Country Profiles | People | Statistics | Organizations | Additional Resources


Background Information

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.
HOSPITALITY

 

Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism
available online through Credo Reference

 

Dictionary of Travel, Tourism and Hospitality

R  338.4791 M469d 1994 

 

International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
available online through Credo Reference


FOOD & BEVERAGES

A-Z of Food and Drink

(E-Book: Search & Read Online)

Cook's Dictionary and Culinary References

R 641.03 B284c

Dictionary of Food Ingredients

R 641.03 Ig6d4

Dictionary of Food and Nutrition

(E-Book: Search & Read Online)

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition

R 612.303 En195

Larousse Gastronomique

R 641.03 M76l2001

International guide to food and cookery with photos.

New Encyclopedia of Wines & Spirits

R 641.2203 L617n2

History, etiquette, practice, and alphabetical beverage entries.

Nutrition Almanac

R 641.1 N959 1990

Produce Reference Guide to Fruits & Vegetables from Around the World

R641.35 H352p

Cambridge World History of Food

R 641.309 C144 v.1-2

 


ONLINE GENERAL REFERENCE

Oxford Reference Online

Search over 100 books at time to get quotes, definitions and encyclopedia entries.

Oxford English Dictionary

Get word definitions, history and timeline of use.

World Almanac

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and Four Almanacs

CIA World Factbook

Quick, complete country information.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Search for encyclopedia entries and video clips.

Encarta Encyclopedia Article Center

Search for articles, photographs and video clips.

go to top of page

Books
Use the Kent Library Catalog  to find books,  videos/DVDs, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.

Examples:

table setting hotel and law food and poisoning

Subject Heading searches look for items that are part of a group or topic.

Examples: Cookery Menus
  Food Analysis Nutrition
  Food Composition Tables Quantity Cookery
  Food Service Taverns (Inns)
  Hospitality Industry Tourism
  Hotels Travel

 

Browse the Shelves. Books on Hospitality Management and Food Service can fall into many different subject areas and many different call number ranges.  For a detailed list of sections try this outline.

 

Examples: 

647

Hospitality

641

Food and Drink

664

Food Technology

go to top of page

Articles

Search an article database to find scholarly journal articles, popular magazines articles and trade publications. For a full list of databases see the the database A-Z list or database by subject.

Subject Database
Business & Trade ABI/Inform Complete

Business Source Premiere

Health Health Source Plus Nursing & Academic Edition
Law & News Westlaw Campus
Multidiscipline Academic Search Premier

Proquest Research Library & Newspapers

Multidiscipline:

Art & Current Events

Wilson Omnifile
go to top of page

Restaurant, Hotel & Travel Reviews
Locate restaurant, hotel and travel reviews from newspapers, journals and magazines.

ProQuest Research Library + Newspapers

Select "Document Type" from drop down list. 

Select Restaurant Review.


Westlaw Campus
Select "Newspapers" or "Newswires" from Publication Type
Search for a specific restaurant, hotel or travel site

go to top of page

Hospitality Law

 

Westlaw Campus

Select Law on the left tab at the top of your screen.  Search for legal news, law reviews, state and federal cases

go to top of page

Country Profiles
Use print and electronic sources to learn about geography, economics, politics and culture.

A-Z Countries of the World

E-book: Search & Read Online

 

CIA World Factbook

Online version

 

Countries and Their Cultures

R 306.03 C83265

go to top of page

People
Learn about important people & historical figures in Hospitality and Food Service.

Biography.com from A&E  www.biography.com

 

go to top of page

Statistics

How many people are traveling this year? Where are they going? What is the current employer cost for employee compensation?  Statistics can help identify trends in hospitality management and make predications for businesses.

National Household Travel Survey

From the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, the 2001 Travel Survey has winter, summer, long distance, and holiday travel information.

 

International Travel

From the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, includes border crossings and travel trends.

 

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

The file includes sources in opinion polling such as Gallup, Harris, Roper; ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC; Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal.

 

Bureau of Labor Statistics

U.S. Department of Labor statistics by category.

 

Polling Reports

An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.

 

Gallup
A polling service of American public opinion.

 

 

go to top of page

Organizations

 

Academy of Hospitality Industry Attorneys

American Association of Franchisees & Dealers

American Hotel and Lodging Association

Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals

International Hotel & Restaurant Association

National Tour Association

Professional Association of Innkeepers International

Travel Industry Association

 
go to top of page

Additional Resources
For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page.
Kent Library Research Guides
Health Management Recreation
Marketing World Cultures

Other Guides:

Food Industry and Business: University of Wisconsin - Madison Steenbock Library

Tourism and Hospitality: University of Tennessee - Knoxville Libraries

go to top of page

page developed by Information Services
created: 4/20/2006/ Michelle Dubaj
last updated: 08/26/2009, ES