.
 

 
Health Management

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on Health Management and it's three options: Athletic Training, Exercise Science and Health Promotion.

Getting Started  |  Find Articles | Find Books | Organizations | Websites


Getting Started
Use these sources for a general overview and facts about health management topics. They are in the Reference Collection on the main floor.
General Overview
The Alternate Health and Medicine Encyclopedia R 615.5303 M362a2

The American Dietetic Association's Complete

Food & Nutrition Guide

R 613.2 D958a
The American Medical Association Family Medical Guide R 610 Am35 1994
Encyclopedia of Sports Science R 613.71 En19
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition R 612.303
Magill's Medical Guide R 610.3 M2728 1998
Sports Injuries Sourcebook R 617.1027 Sp6748
Checking Facts

A Dictionary of Sport Injuries and Disorders

R 617.102703 P849d 

Health Professional's Guide to Popular Dietary Supplements

R 613.28 Sa777h

Idyll Arbor's Therapy Dictionary

R 617.0303 Id9 2001

Mellonis Illustrated Medical Dictionary

R 610.321 D769i4  

Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference (With Herbal Interactions) 

R 615.1 M85 2004

Office of Global Health Affairs www.globalhealth.gov

Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine

R 617.102703 Ox2

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary

R 610.3 T114

 

go to top of page

Find Articles

Recent Articles 

For a complete list of Kent Library's online databases, see the Find: articles page.  For help with Databases, try Module 4 of Searchpath - Research and Library Tutorial.

Use the following online databases to find recent scholarly/peer-review articles.

Subject Databases
Alt Health Watch Life Sciences
Basic BIOSIS Life Sciences
CINAHL Nursing & Allied Health
Health Source Plus - Consumer Edition Pamphlets and References
Health Source Plus - Nursing Edition Nursing & Health
MEDLINE Medicine

PsycINFO _1887

Psychology
SPORTDiscus Sports
General Databases
Proquest Research Library Wilson OmniFile

Academic Search Premiere

   (Online Tutorial from Ebscohost)

 

Historical Articles

To find historical materials, use the following print sources located in the indexes/abstracts area on the main floor of the library:

Title Years
CINAHL 1977-1984
Humanities Index 1974-1987
Physical Education Index 1978-2003
Social Sciences Index 1974-1985
go to top of page

Find Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog  to find books, videos,

government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.

Subject Heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor. Below are sample subject headings.

Athletic Trainers

Pediatric Sports Medicine

Athletes-Nutrition

Physical Fitness

Exercise Tests

Sports Injuries

Exercise Therapy

Sports Physical Therapy

Health Attitudes

Weight Training

Health Promotion

 

 
Browse the shelves by call number.
612 Human physiology
613 Personal health & safety  (Physical Education, Health Promotion)
614 Incidence & prevention of disease (Public Health)
615 Pharmacology & therapeutics
617 Surgery & related medical specialties (Athletic Training)
[go to top of page]

Organizations
Professional organizations and societies often provide very useful topic related information.
Organization URL
The Aerobics and Fitness Association of America (AFAA) www.afaa.com/
The American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD) www.aahperd.org/
American Council on Exercise (ACE) www.acefitness.org/
American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) www.acsm.org/
American Public Health Association www.apha.org
The Cooper Institute for Aerobics Research www.cooperinst.org/
IDEA Health and Fitness Association www.ideafit.com/
Missouri Athletic Trainers Association www.moata.net/
National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA) www.nata.org/
The National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (CHEC)  www.nchec.org/
National Strength & Conditioning Association (NSCA) www.nsca.com/
The National Wellness Institute www.nationalwellness.org/
The Wellness Councils of America  (WELCOA) www.welcoa.org/
go to top of page

Websites
Use websites to find statistics and summaries on health topics.


Demographic and Health Surveys  - Global Health by country and topic.
http://www.measuredhs.com/


State Health Facts - From the Kaiser Foundation

go to top of page

page developed by Information Services/ michelle dubaj, Instruction Librarian

creation date:10/15/2004
last updated: 05/13/2008