.

 

The Great Depression

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on the great depression.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources  |  


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Ciment, James  Encyclopedia of the great depression and the new deal  R 973.91703  En197

The Great Depression: a historical bibliography  338.542016  G798

McElvaine, Robert (ed)  Encyclopedia of the great depression  R 973.91603  En197

Olson, James  Historical dictionary of the great depression, 1929 1940  R 973.91 H629

Wynn, Neil Historical dictionary from the great war to the great depression  R 973.9103  W 992h

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page.

To find newspapers, magazines and journal articles and reviews, use the following print   recourses:

American Historical Review   ( located in the periodicals area)

Book Review Digest      (located in the periodicals area)

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities     (located in the periodicals area)

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature    (located in the periodicals area)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer reviewed articles use the following online databases.

Academic Search Premier  (EBSCOHost)

American History & Life  (ABC-CLIO)

American Memory  (Library of Congress)

Ameristat  (Population Reference Bureau)

Article 1st  (FirstSearch)

Dissertation Abstracts  (FirstSearch)

Encyclopedia Britannica  (Britannica)

Historical Abstracts  (ABC-CLIO)

Jstor  (Jstor)

MasterFILE Premier  (EBSCOHost)

Proquest Research Library + Newspapers   (PROQUEST)

Wilson Omnifile   (H.W. Wilson)

[go to top of page]

 

Find Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog  to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk.  Use Depressions - 1929 for your primary subject heading when researching the subject.

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

Agee, James and Evans, Walker  Let us now praise famous men  917.6  Ag32

Badger, Anthony J   The new deal: the depression years, 1933 40            973.917  B1421n 2002

Bernanke, Ben S  Essays on the great depression   338.542 B4564e

Bordo, Michael D, Doldin, Claudia, and White, Eugene N (ed)  The defining moment: the great depression and the American economy in the twentieth century  338. 542 D361

Brendon, Piers  The dark valley: a panorama of the 1930s  940.52 B75d

Burg, David  The  great depression: an eyewitness history  923.91 B91g

Cohen, Robert (ed) Dear mars. Roosevelt: letters from the children of the Great   Depression  973.917092  R677

Ellis, Edward Robb   A nation in torment: the great American depression, 1929 1939  309.1  El59n

Howard, Donald S  The wpa and federal relief policy  331.1377 H823w

Kennedy, David M  Freedom from fear: the American people in depression and war, 1929 1945  973 Ox2 v.9

Melzer, Richard  Coming of age in the great depression: the civilian conservation corps experience in new Mexico, 1933 1942  978.9052  M499c

Nardo, Don  The 1930s  973.917 N166n

Neal, Arthur G  National trauma and collective memory: extraordinary events in the American experience  973.91  N25n2

Rose, Nancy E  Put to work: relief programs in the great depression  331.1377 R72p

Smiley, Gene  Rethinking the great depression  330.9730917  Sm44r

Thompson, Kathleen and Mac Austen, Hillary  Children of the depression        305. 230973 C4374

Watkins, T.H. The hungry years: a narrative history of the great depression in America   973.916 W327h

Wecter, Dixon   The age of the great depression, 1929 1941  973 H692 v. 13

[go to top of page]

 

People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Carlise, Rodney P   Hearst and the new deal the progressive as reactionary  070.50924 H351c

Carpenter, Ronald H   Father Charles e. couglin: surrogate spokesman for the disaffected  282.092  C8312c

Davis, Kenneth Sydney   FDR, the new deal years, 1933 1937: a history  973.9170924  R6771d

Frisch, Morton J   Franklin d. Roosevelt: the contribution of the new deal to American political thought and practice  320.9730917  F917f

Fusfeld, Daniel Roland   The economic thought of Franklin d. Roosevelt and the origins of the new deal  330.973 F985e

Hair, William Ivy  The kingfish and his realm: the life and times of huey p. long  976.306092  L972h

Jeansonne, Glen   Gerald l. k. smith, minister of hate  973.910924  Sm57j

Liebovich, Louis   Bylines in despair: Herbert hover, the great depression, and the u.s. news media  973.916092  H769l

Lowitt, Richard   George w. Norris: the triumph of a progressive, 1933 1944  328.730924  N791l

Mayer, Dale C and Miller, Dwight M (ed)  Historical material in the Herbert hover presidential library  AE 1.102:H 62/5

Neal, Steve  Dark horse: a biography of Wendell Willie  973.9170924  W679n

Roosevelt, Eleanor  The autobiography of Eleanor Roosevelt 973.9170922  R677a 1984

Schlesinger, Arthur Meier   The age of Roosevelt  973.91  Sch38

Schwarz, Jordan A   The new dealers: power politics in the age of Roosevelt  338.973009  Sch96n

Tull, Charles J   Father Coughlin and the new deal  973.917  T822f

Tugwell, Rexford G   The democratic Roosevelt: a biography of Franklin d. Roosevelt  973.9170924 R6771t

White, Graham J   Harold ickes of the new deal: his private life and public career  973.9170924  Ic5w

Wolfskill, George   All but the people: Franklin Roosevelt and his critics, 1933 1939   320.973  W833a
 

[go to top of page]

 

Web Resources

Americas Great Depression   (http://amatecon.com/greatdepression.html)

The Great Depression   (http://english.uiuc.edu/maps/depression/depression.htm)

The Great Depression Documenting America   (http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/fsowhome.html)

Sliding Into the Great Depression   (http://econ161.berkeley.edu/TCEH/Slouch_Crash14.html)

New Deal Network: A Guide to the Great Depression of the 1930s   (http://newdeal.feri.org/)

Photographs of the Great Depression   (http://history1900s.about.com/library/photos/blyindexdepression.htm)

The Main Causes of the Great Depression   (http://gusmorino.com/pag3/greatdepres

The Great Depression   (http://webtech.kennesaw.edu/jcheek3/depression.htm)

Timeline of the Great Depression   (http://huppi.com/kangaroo/Timeline.htm)
 

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/BL
last updated: 04/28/09