.
 

 

 
U. S. Government Documents

 

Kent Library is a selective federal depository library, and receives a substantial number of federal documents in formats ranging from printed, hardcopy publications to microforms and electronic resources.  This guide suggests resources and strategies for undertaking research using these materials.

 

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Documents  |  Primary Sources  |  People  | 
Web Resources  |  Additional Resources 


 
Background Information  

 

A federal government document is any publication issued by or for an office or agency of the U. S. government.  While some of the more heavily used reference works, such as the Statistical Abstract of the United States, are integrated into the Reference Collection, most paper documents are kept together in the Government Documents area on the third floor, and are arranged using the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) Classification System.

Unlike the Dewey Decimal System, which groups materials by subject, the SuDoc system groups materials by issuing agency.  The call number begins with an alpha-numeric designation indicating the parent agency and  subordinate bureau, followed by a number designating the title, and numbers indicating the year of publication.  For example, the SuDoc number C61.34:987 indicates the following:

 

C 61. 34: 987
Commerce Department (issuing agency) International Trade Administration (subordinate bureau within the agency) Number designating title Year of publication

 

The federal documents include a great deal of primary source material in the form of House and Senate hearings; reports on the results of federally funded research and other activities; legal materials such as federal statutory, regulatory, and case law; Executive Orders and other presidential documents; official military records from the various wars in which the United States has been a combatant; and a wide range of other materials.

In recent years, there has been a move to provide documents in digital formats.  Many of these are listed in Kent Library's online catalog, which provides links directly to the documents.  Others are available only through the federal government's online databases, GPO Access and FirstGov.

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

Useful paper publications include:

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States  R Ref Desk 317 Un3
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970  R 317.3 Un3h 1975
Official Congressional Directory  R 328 Un3
Occupational Outlook Handbook  R Ref Desk 331.702 Un3
The United States Government Manual  R Ref Desk 353 Un31
Code of Federal Regulations  AE 2.106/3:
Federal Register  AE 2.106:
United States Code:  Containing the General and Permanent Laws of the United States, in force on January 2, 2001  R 348.323 Un3 2000
United States Statutes at Large, Containing the Laws and Concurrent Resolutions ... and Reorganization Plan, Amendment to the Constitution, and Proclamations  AE 2.111
United States Reports  JU 6.8:
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements  S 9.12:
 

Sample online publications include:
 

The 9/11 Commission Report:  Final Report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States  linked from library catalog record
The Aviation Security System and the 9/11 Attacks  linked from library catalog record
Reforming Law Enforcement, Counterterrorism, and Intelligence Collection in the United States  linked from library catalog record
Occupational Outlook Handbook http://stats.bls.gov/oco/home.htm
DOD Dictionary of Military Terms http://www.dtic.mil/doctrine/jel/doddict/
Core Documents of U S Democracy http://www.gpoaccess.gov/coredocs.html
Davis-Bacon Wage Determinations http://www.gpo.gov/davisbacon/index.html
The Plum Book (United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions)* http://www.gpoaccess.gov/plumbook/2004/index.html
Report of the Select Committee on Intelligence on the U.S. Intelligence Communitys Prewar Intelligence Assessments on Iraq http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/creports/iraq.html

*Alternately prepared after each Presidential election by the Senate Committee on Governmental Affairs and the House Committee on Government Reform, the Plum Book provides comprehensive information on thousands of Federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the Federal Government that may be subject to noncompetitive appointment, nationwide.

[go to top of page]

 
Find Documents

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find recent materials in documents.

Advanced Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms and to limit your search to government documents.

Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.  Subject Heading searches cannot be limited to the documents collection.

Federal documents published since July of 1976 can also be identified using the GPO database.  Materials published prior to that time must be identified using a variety of printed indexes which are housed in Documents Reference.  Documents published in electronic format can be retrieved using GPO Access, which is the official database of the Government Printing Office.
 

[go to top of page]
 
 
Primary Sources
 
Many primary source materials are government documents.  Some examples of major resources include:
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents  AE 2.109:
 or http://www.gpoaccess.gov/wcomp/
A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789 - 1908  R 353.035 Un3com
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States

(current president plus the two immediately preceding him are in reference; earlier presidents in Docs)
 R 353.035 Un3   (earlier in AE2.114:)  
 or  http://www.gpoaccess.gov/pubpapers/index.html
 
United States Statutes at Large  AE 2.111:    
 or http://www.gpoaccess.gov/plaws/index.html
United States Code  R 348.323 Un3 
 or http://www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode/index.html
Code of Federal Regulations  AE 2.106/3
 or http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
Federal Register  AE 2.106:
 or http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html
United States Reports  JU 6.8:
 or http://www.supremecourtus.gov/
Concurrent Resolution on the Budget for Fiscal Year 2005 : Hearings before the Committee on the Budget, United States Senate, One Hundred Eighth Congress, second session  U S Gov Doc Fiche
 
Y 4.B 85/2:S.HRG.108-521 
Regulations of U.S. Customs and Border Protection  HS 4.106/2:  2003 
[go to top of page]
 
People

Biographical information can be located in government documents:

Vice Presidents of the United States, 1789-1993  Y 1.1/3: 104-26
Women in Congress, 1917-1990  Y 1.1/7: 101-238
Black Americans in Congress, 1870-1989  Y 1.1/7: 101-117
The Presidents of the United States of America [1982]  Y 3.H 62/4: 2 P 92
The First Ladies [1981]  Y 3.H 62/4: 2 F 51
The Secretaries of State:  Portraits and Biographical Sketches [1978]  S 1.69: 162
Signers of the Constitution; Historic Places Commemorating the Signing of the Constitution  I 29.2: H 62/9 v.19
Signers of the Declaration; Historic Places Commemorating the Signing of the Declaration of Independence  I 29.2: H62/9 v.18/975
Presidents of the United States  http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/presidents/
Congressional Pictorial Directory http://www.gpoaccess.gov/pictorial/index.html
Members of the Supreme Court of the United States (1789 to date) http://www.supremecourtus.gov/about/members.pdf
The Justices of the Supreme Court (current member biographies) http://www.supremecourtus.gov/about/biographiescurrent.pdf
 

[go to top of page]

 
Web Resources
Databases
GPO Access
    http://www.gpoaccess.gov/
Provides access to a wide range of full-text materials in electronic format
GPO Subsumed under FirstSearch.  Provides indexing and abstracting for government documents back to July, 1976
Factfinder Database produced by the U S Bureau of the Census
FirstGov
    http://www.firstgov.gov/
The U S Government's official web portal
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Collective title of Lexis-Nexis sources covering news, business, legal research, medical, and reference
National Center for Education Statistics Contains a wide variety of statistical data for all levels of education
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Contains summaries of over 150,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research
Occupational Outlook Handbook
    http://www.stats.bls.gov/oco/#content
Useful for exploring career options.  Provides information on various occupations, including required levels of education or training, average salaries, and job prospects
PubMed Open access version of Medline.  Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles back to 1966
PubMed Central Open access electronic archive for full text journal articles. Every full text article in PubMed Central has a corresponding entry in PubMed.
StatUSA One stop internet browsing for business, trade, and economic information.  Maintained by the Department of Commerce.  Some areas of the site are password protected, and can only be accessed in the Library, with the assistance of the Reference Librarians.
Thomas
    http://thomas.loc.gov
Open access database of legislative information maintained by the Library of Congress.  Good place to look for the text and status of bills, Public Laws, voting records, Congressional committee reports, etc.
 
Web Sites
White House http://www.whitehouse.gov/
United States House of Representatives http://www.house.gov/
United States Senate http://www.senate.gov/
Supreme Court of the United States http://www.supremecourtus.gov/

Individual agencies and sub-agencies offer web resources dealing with the particular subject areas which fall within their purviews.  Some example include:

Agency Sub-agency Web Address
USDA (U S Department of Agriculture)   http://www.usda.gov/
  Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Department of Agriculture http://www.aphis.usda.gov/
U S Department of Commerce   http://www.commerce.gov/
  Bureau of Industry and Security, Department of Commerce http://www.bis.doc.gov/
U S Department of Defense   http://www.defenselink.mil/
  Smallpox Vaccination Program http://www.smallpx.army.mil/
  Department of the Air Force http://www.af.mil/
  Department of the Army http://www.army.mil/
  Department of the Navy http://www.navy.mil/
  United States Marine Corps (under the Department of the Navy) http://www.usmc.mil/
U S Department of Education   http://www.ed.gov/
  Federal Student Aid http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/fsa/index.html?src=oc
U S Department of Energy   http://www.energy.gov/
  Los Alamos National Laboratory http://www.lanl.gov/worldview
U S Department of Health and Human Services   http://www.dhhs.gov/
  U.S. Surgeon General's Family History Initiative http://www.hhs.gov/familyhistory/
  Food and Drug Administration http://www.fda.gov/
U S Department of Homeland Security   http://www.dhs.gov/dhspublic/index.jsp
  Office for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties http://www.dhs.gov/dhspublic/display?theme=9&content=3720
  United States Coast Guard (a branch of the Armed Forces under the Navy, and also a service within the Department of Homeland Security) http://uscg.mil/
U S Department of Housing and Urban Development   http://www.hud.gov/
  Center for Faith-Based and Community Initiatives http://www.hud.gov/offices/fbci/index.cfm
U S Department of the Interior   http://www.doi.gov/
  National Park Service http://www.nps.gov/
U S Department of Justice   http://www.doj.gov/
  Federal Bureau of Investigation http://www.fbi.gov/
U S Department of Labor   http://www.dol.gov/
  Bureau of Labor Statistics http://www.bls.gov/
U S Department of State*   http://www.state.gov/
  Foreign Consular Offices in the United States http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/fco/
U S Department of Transportation   http://www.dot.gov/
  Federal Aviation Administration http://www.faa.gov/
U S Department of the Treasury   http://www.ustreas.gov/
  Internal Revenue Service, Department of the Treasury http://www.irs.gov/
U S Department of Veterans Affairs   http://www.va.gov/
  National Cemetery Administration http://www.cem.va.gov/site_map.htm

*NOTE:
  to find links to Background Notes, the CIA World Factbook entry, or Country Study on a given country, go to the Department of State home page and use the A-Z link under "About the State Department" on the left side of the screen.  Select the letter the country's name begins with; then click on the country link.  Not all country links will include the CIA World Factbook or the Country Study.

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).

[go to top of page]
Additional Resources

 

General Resources  
LewisandClark200.gov http://www.lewisandclark200.gov/
Cybercemetery of Former Federal Web Sites http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cybercemetery.html
Federal Toll-Free Numbers by Agency http://www.info.gov/toll-free.htm
Specialized Collections http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/ec/scfti.html
State of the Union http://www.gpoaccess.gov/sou/index.html
Presidential Libraries http://www.archives.gov/presidential_libraries/addresses/addresses.html
Country Studies http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
U.S. Government Graphics and Photos http://www.firstgov.gov/Topics/Graphics.shtml
Resources for Children and Teachers  
Ben's Guide to U S Government for Kids http://bensguide.gpo.gov/benfranklin/index.html
Celebrating America's Freedoms http://www1.va.gov/opa/feature/celebrate/index.htm
Environmental Kids Club http://www.epa.gov/kids/
FirstGov for Kids http://www.kids.gov/
Free Federal Resources for Educational Excellence http://www.ed.gov/free/index.html
Gem:  Gateway to Educational Materials http://thegateway.org/
The Learning Page . . . Especially for Teachers http://memory.loc.gov/learn/
Our Documents Initiative:  100 Milestone Documents http://www.ourdocuments.gov/index.php?flash=true&
NASA Education Program http://education.nasa.gov/home/index.html
Science.Gov http://www.science.gov/browse/w_133A.htm
Smithsonian Education:  Students http://smithsonianeducation.org/students/index.html
Smithsonian Education:  Educators http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/educators/
Genealogical Resources  
Ellis Island http://www.ellisisland.org/
Immigration Arrival Records http://uscis.gov/graphics/aboutus/history/immrecs/immrec.htm
National Archives Genealogy Resources http://www.archives.gov/research_room/genealogy/index.html
Naturalization Records http://uscis.gov/graphics/aboutus/history/natzrec/natrec.htm
Ports of Entry and Their Records http://uscis.gov/graphics/aboutus/history/poelist/poe.htm
[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ PW
last updated:
05/13/08