http://library.semo.edu/images/riverboat.jpg
 
 
 
 

 

http://library.semo.edu/images/guide_title.jpg

.

 

German Language and Literature

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on German language and literature.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources  |  Additional Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Der Brockhaus in Fünf Bänden (033 B782)
Cyclopedia of World Authors
(R 809 C9924)
Dictionary of Literary Biography
(928.1 D561)
Encyclopedia of German Literature
(R 830.90003 En19)
European Writers
(R 809.894 Eu74)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama (R 809.203 M178)

[go to top of page]

 

Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

The Cambridge History of German Literature (R 830.9 C144)
The Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary (English-German)
The Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary (German-English)
Das Große Wörterbuch der Deutschen Sprache
(R 433 G914)
The Oxford Companion to German Literature
(R 830.3 G183o3)
The Oxford-Harrap Standard German-English Dictionary
(R 433.21 Ox24)

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and magazine articles, use the following print sources:

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Humanities Index, 1974+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1966-1974)
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
International Index to Periodicals, 1907 - 1965
  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier
ERIC
JSTOR
MLA
  
Project Muse
ProQuest Research Library
Wilson OmniFile

[go to top of page]

 

Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the third floor.

Some German language and literature subject headings include:

German drama
German fiction
German language
German literature
German poetry

Browse the shelves by call number. Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

German and related languages 430s
German and related literatures 830s

[go to top of page]

 

People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Biography Index (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Contemporary Authors (928 C7672)
Dictionary of Literary Biography (928.1 D561)
Literature Resource Center (http://library.semo.edu/find/db_az.asp#L)

[go to top of page]

 

Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Association of Teachers of German
   (http://www.aatg.org/)
German Studies Association
   (http://www.g-s-a.org)
Modern Language Association
   (http://www.mla.org)

[go to top of page]

 

Web Resources

Foreign Language News and Newspapers
   (http://libraries.mit.edu/guides/types/flnews)
German Language and Literature
(http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/german/german.shtml)
German Resources
   (http://www.uni-karlsruhe.de/Outerspace/VirtualLibrary)
German Studies Trails on the Web
   (http://www.uncg.edu/~lixlpurc/german.html)
German Studies Web
   (http://www.dartmouth.edu/~wess)
Internet Resources for German Language and Literature
   (http:www2.lib.udel.edu/subj/lang/internet.htm)
Wörterbuch
   (http://www.student-online.net/woerterbuch.shtml)

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]

Additional Resources

Dissertation Abstracts
  (http://library.semo.edu/find/db_az.asp#D)

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/ cp
last updated: 6/18/09 | mo