.

 
Film Reviews and Criticism

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on film reviews and criticism.

Contents of this research guide

Background InformationArticles  |  Books  |  Criticism & Reviews  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources


 

Find Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to begin your research.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.  Those with call numbers are in print on the third floor, while the hyperlinked titles are available electronically.

General Sources

Title Location
Chamber's Film Factfinder Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings, and Series R 791.437503 Ar584e
The Film Studies Dictionary R 791.4303 B61f
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film R 791.4303 G7671s
The Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies ask at reference desk

Specialized Sources

Use specialized sources to find information about a particular category or type of film.

100 American Independent Films R 791.4375 W85o
African American Films Through 1959 R 791.4365203 R392a
The BFI Companion to German Cinema R 791.430943 B4692
The Blue and Gray on the Silver Screen R 973.7 K622b
The Companion to French Cinema R 791.430944 V743c
The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood R 791.4365206 P2192e
The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film R 791.436 T432e
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films:1895 - 1930 Credo Reference
Film It with Music R 791.436 H622f
Frame by Frame: A Black Filmography R 791.4309093  K698f
Frame by Frame II R 791.4308996 K698f
Frame by Frame III R 791.4308996 F8434
Images in the Dark: An Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Film and Video R 791.43653 M966i 1996
Missing Reels: Lost Films of American and European Cinema R 791.4375016 W146m
Silent Films, 1877 - 1996 R 791.4375 K678s

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. 

To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and magazine articles written at the time of the film's release, use the following print sources:

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Art Index,1959-
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Humanities Index,
1974 - 1987
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
International Index to Periodicals
, 1907 - 1966
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page.

Academic Onefile (Gale)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Humanities Full Text (Wilson)
JSTOR (select Film Studies under Discipline(s) and/or Title(s))
MLA Bibliography (EBSCO)
Proquest Research Library + Newspapers
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Full Text (Wilson)


[go to top of page]
 
Find Books

Unlike the reference books listed in background information, the Kent Stacks houses books on very specific topics.  Other collections include periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), government documents, and videos.  Use the Kent Library Catalog to search all of these collections.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Film related subject headings include:

film adaptations--encyclopedias
film criticism
motion pictures
motion pictures--reviews
motion picture plays--history and criticism

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart  to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

791.43 - 791.437    Motion pictures

302.234    Social aspects of motion pictures

384.8   Communication aspects of motion pictures


[go to top of page]
 
Criticism & Reviews
5001 Nights at the Movies R 791.4375 K117f
British Film Institute Film Classics 791.4375 B77752
Film Review Annual    R 791.4375 F487 (Library has 1981 +)
Index to Motion Pictures Reviewed by Variety, 1907-1980 R 791.4375 V4271 (companion to Variety Film Reviews, below)
Magill's Survey of Cinema  1st Series R 791.4375 M272m
Magill's Survey of Cinema 2nd Series R 791.4375 M272
Selected Film Criticism R 791.4375 Se48
Variety Film Reviews, 1907-1980 R 791.4375 V427

[go to top of page]
 
People

Reference books about important people, such as performers, screenwriters, producers & directors.

American Actors and Actresses    R 016.79143028 Ar24a
Blacklisted: The Film-Lover's Guide to the Hollywood Blacklist R 791.430973 B867b 2003
Contemporary North American Film Directors: A Wallflower Critical Guide R 791.430233 C7675 2002
From Silent to Sound: A Biographical Encyclopedia of the Performers Who Made the Transition to Talking Pictures R 927.9143028 L622f
Halliwell's Who's Who in the Movie R 791.430922 H157h14
New Biographical Dictionary of Film R 927.9143 T3827n4

 

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations
Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Film Institute
   
http://www.afi.com/
Broadcast Film Critics Association
    http://www.bfca.org/
Chicago Film Critics Association
    http://www.chicagofilmcritics.org/
Motion Picture Association of America
   http://www.mpaa.org/

 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources
Film Resources on the Web    http://www.duke.edu/~kennethl/filmsite.html
Internet Movie Database
http://us.imdb.com
Movie Review Query Engine
  http://www.mrqe.com
OFCS: Online Film Critics Society http://ofcs.rottentomatoes.com/
Rotten Tomatoes http://www.rottentomatoes.com/
Yahoo! Film Awards Site
http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Movies_and_Film/Awards
 
For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page.
[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ pw
last updated:
07/17/09 by Michaela Willi Hooper - mwillihooper at semo dot edu