.

 

Fashion Merchandising

This guide suggests resources for research in the various dimensions of fashion merchandising and related fields.  See also Industry Information and Marketing research guides.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Journals  |   Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.  Sources with call #s preceded by R, are located in Kent Reference, third floor.

Color: the secret influence Kent Stacks  535.6 F322c
Contemporary fashion R 746.920922 C767
Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion R 391.003 En194
Encyclopedia of textiles R 677.003 J471e
Fairchild's dictionary of fashion R 391.00321 C125f2
Historical encyclopedia of costumes R 391.009 R115h
How clothing is sold (video) IM/VC 10011
Men's fashion: the complete sourcebook Kent Stacks  391.1 P313m
Twentieth-century American fashion 391.00973 T9181 2005

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.  Sources with call #s preceded by R, are located in Kent Reference, third floor.

Apparel retail industry profile: United States available in library subscription database:
Business Source Premier
Best customers: demographics of consumer demand 568.81 B4643 2005
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys R 338 St241
[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases & to access these online resources, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following print indexes and online databases:

Academic Search Premier 
multidisciplinary database
library subscription database
Business Source Premier
business & industry articles, and statistic sources
library subscription database
E Journal Portal   - gateway to "shelves" of full text journals & magazines online resource
Lexis-Nexis Academic
business & industry information
library subscription database
Wilson Web OmniFile
includes Art Index
library subscription database

 

[go to top of page]
 
Journals, Magazines, Newspapers


Titles available in print in Kent Library and/or accessible fulltext via our E Journal Portal.

Allure
Apparel
Chain Store Age
DNR
DSN Retailing Today
Glamour
Journal of Consumer Marketing
Journal of Retailing
Stores
Textile World
Vogue
VM & SD: Visual Merchandising and Store Design
Women's Wear Daily

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings.

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

391s   fashion, costume, psychology of clothing and fashion
640s   clothing and dress
658s   retail trade
677s   textile design, textile fabrics, textile industry
687s   accessories, clothing trade, fashion, fashion merchandising
 

[go to top of page]
 
People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Current biography R 920 C936
Yahoo!  fashion designers web resource
[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Apparel and Footwear Association (AAFA)
International Textile and Apparel Association (ITAA)
 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources


Apparel News.net
Apparel Search
The Costumer's Manifesto
fashion net
Google Directory > Arts > Design > Fashion
Google Directory > Business > Consumer Goods and Services > Clothing
InfoMat - fashion industry search engine
Office of Textiles & Apparel, U.S. Dept. of Commerce
Style.com
 

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ CAR
created 4/11/06, last updated: 4/30/07