.

 
Environmental science

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on environmental science.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |    Organizations  |  Web Resources  | 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Encyclopedia of environmental analysis and remediation (R 628 En19)
Encyclopedia of environmental issues (R  363.7003 En194)
Encyclopedia of environmental science (R 363.703 En194)
Encyclopedia of environmental science and engineering (R 628.03 En194 1998 )
Encyclopedia of environmental studies (R 333.703 As399e 2001)
Soil and environmental science dictionary (R631.403 So 341)

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

The atlas of U.S. and Canadian environmental history (R 304.2097022 At658)    
The complete guide to environmental careers in the 21st century (R  331.702 D775c) 
Dictionary of ecology and environmental science (R 363.7003 D561)
Dictionary of environmental law (R 344.04603 G427d)
Statistical record of the environment (R 363.730973 D251s)
[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, use the following print sources:
Biological Abstracts (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area)


To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier
Agricola

BioAgIndex
Environmental Science Journals -- a browsable list of print & electronic titles
Environmental Studies & Policy Collection
Jstor
Wilson Omnifile

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Ecology
Environmental Law
Environmental Management
Environmental Protection
Environmental Sciences

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart  to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

333 Economics of land & energy
363 Other social problems and services
630 Agriculture & related technologies.
 

[go to top of page]
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology
Institute of Professional Environmental Practice
National Association of Environmental Professionals
National Registry of Environmental Professionals
 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources
Librarian's Index to the Internet subject page: Environment
Missouri Department of Conservation
National Library for the Environment
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ kfs
last updated:10/10/2009