.
 
Elementary, Early, and Special Education

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on elementary, early, and special education.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


 
Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Dictionary of Multicultural Education  R 370.11703 D561
Education and the Law: A Dictionary
  R 344.0703 T212e
Encyclopedia of African-American Education
  R 371.9796073 En19
Encyclopedia of American Education 
R 370.97303 Un311
The Encyclopedia of Education 
R 370.3 En192
Encyclopedia of Educational Research
  R 370.3 En19
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
R 372.21072 H191
The International Encyclopedia of Education
  R 370.3 In8
Learning Theories A to Z 
R 370.3 L5523l
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
R 370.1 P5493
World Education Encyclopedia
  R 370.321 W893

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

The Almanac of American Education
R 370 Al62
Inspiring Active Learning: A Handbook for Teachers 
371.02 H228i
International Handbook of Early Childhood Education
  372.21 In8
International Handbook of Research and Development of Giftedness and Talent
  371.95 In8
Patterson's Elementary Education R 372.973025
[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and magazine articles use the following print source

New York Times Index, 1851+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Official Index to the Times & The Times Index, 1906+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
  
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

ERIC
JStor
PsycINFO
Wilson Omnifile

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Some education subject headings include:

Early childhood education
Education
Education-(geographical descriptor) as in Education--United States
Education, Elementary
Education, Preschool
Education, Primary
Elementary school teaching
Elementary schools
Kindergarten
Nursery schools
Teaching

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/fi_books_dd_list.htm) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

In Kent Library materials related to education are classified in the 370s.

[go to top of page]
 
People

Eminent Educators: Studies in Intellectual Influence  370.1 B4631e
Historical Dictionary of American Education
  R 370.9 H62939
Theories of Childhood: An Introduction to Dewey, Montessori, Erikson, Piaget and Vygotsky
  372.2101 M779t

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Federation of Teachers
   (http://www.aft.org/index.htm)
International Reading Association
   (http://www.reading.org/)
National Association for the Education of Young Children
   (http://www.naeyc.org)

National Education Association (NEA)
   (http://www.nea.org/)
North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement   
   (http://www.ncacasi.org)

 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources

Certification Requirements for 50 States
   (http://www.uky.edu/Education/TEP/usacert.html)

Children's Literature Web Guide
   (http://www.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/index.html)
Discovery Channel School
   (http://school.discovery.com/schoolhome.html)
The Educators Network
   (www.theeducatorsnetwork.com
)
The Educator's Reference Desk
   (http://www.eduref.org)

Funbrain
   (http://www.funbrain.com)
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators
   (http://school.discovery.com/schrockguide)

Kindergarten Teacher
(http://www.lib.csufresno.edu/subjectresources/curriculumjuvenile/kindergarten)
Marc Sheehan's Special Education/Exceptionality Page
   (http://www.halcyon.com/marcs/sped.html)

Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
   (http://dese.mo.gov)
NASA Education
   (http://education.nasa.gov/home/index.html)
National Center for Education Statistics
   (http://nces.ed.gov)
Office of Special Education Programs (U.S. Dept. of Education)
   (http://www.nytimes.com/learning/teachers/lessons/archive.html)
Smithsonian Education
   (http://smithsonianeducation.org)
Special Education Resources on the Internet (SERI)
   (http://www.zerotothree.org)
Teacher Resources
   (http://www.marshall-es.marshall.k12.tn.us/jobe/Res.htm)
Teachers Network
   (http://www.teachnet.org/lessonplans)
U.S. Department of Education
   (http://www.ed.gov)
Zero to Three
   (http://www.zerotothree.org)

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ cp
last updated:
10/11/06