.
 
EDUCATION

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on education.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


 
Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Alkin, Marvin C. Encyclopedia of educational research. New York: Maxwell Macmillan, 1992. (R 370.3 En19 1992 v.1 - 4)

Barrow, Robin. A critical dictionary of educational concepts: an appraisal of selected ideas and issues in educational theory and practice. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1986.  (R 370.321 B279c)

Clark, Burton R. The encyclopedia of higher education. New York: Pergamon Press, 1992. (R 370.003 En19)

Deighton, Lee C.  The encyclopedia of education. New York: Macmillan, 1971. (R 370.3 En192)

Eisenmann, Linda. Historical dictionary of  women's education in the united states. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1998.  (R 371. 822 H62939)

Grant, Carl A. Dictionary of multicultural education. Phoenix, Ariz: Oryx Press, 1997.  (R 370.11703 D561)

Kurlan, George Thomas. World education encyclopedia. New York: Facts on File Publications, 1988.  (370.321 W893)

Husen, Thorsten.  The international encyclopedia of education. New York: Elsevier Science, 1994.  (R 370.3  In8 1994)

Jones-Wilson, Faustine.  Encyclopedia of african-american education. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1996. (R 371.9796073 En19)

Palmer, James C. Dictionary of educational acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. Phoenix, Ariz: Oryx Press, 1982.  (R 370.321 P182d)

Taylor, Bonnie B.  Education and the law: a dictionary.  Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-CLIO, 1996.  (R 344.0703 T212e)

Unger, Harlow G. Encyclopedia of american education.  New York: Facts on File, 2001. (R 370.97303 Un311 2001)

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)
Bailey, Pam. Active learning for children with disabilities: a manual for use with the active learning series. Menlo Park. Calif: Addison-Wesley, 1996.  (IM 373.9046 Ad25a)

Harmin, Merrill. Inspiring active learning: a handbook for teachers. Alexandria, Va: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, 1994. (371. 02 H228i)

Heller, Kurt A. International handbook of research and development of giftedness and talent. New York: Pergamon Press, 1993.  (371.95 In8)

Lustig, Keith. Portfolio assessment: a handbook for middle level teachers. Columbus, Ohio: National Middle School Association, 1966.  (373.127 L976p)

The new teacher's guide to the department of education. Washington: Department of Education, 1997. (Gov Doc  ED 1.8:T22/3/997)

Putting the pieces together: comprehensive school-linked strategies for children and families. Washington: Department of Education, 1996.  (Gov Doc  ED 1.2: C 43/21)

Rudestan, Kjell Erik. Handbook of online training: innovations in higher education and corporate training. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications, 2002. (378.1734 H19166)

Woodill, Gary A. International handbook of early childhood education. New York: Garland Publications, 1992.  (372.21 In8)

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and magazine articles use the following print source

International Index to Periodicals, 1907 - 1965
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Official Index to the Times & The Times Index, 1906+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature
  
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

ERIC
JStor
Wilson Omnifile
 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Education subject headings include -

Education

Education-(keyword descriptors) as in Education--Aims and Objectives

Education-(geographical descriptor) as in Education--United States

Specific subdivisions of education as in Navajo Indians--Education

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://www.oclc.org/dewey/about/hundreds.htm) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

In Kent Library materials on/ or related to education are classified in the 370's.
 

[go to top of page]
 
People

Altenbaugh, Richard J. Historical dictionary of american education. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1999.  (R 370.9 H62939)

Berube, Maurice R. Eminent educators: studies in intellectual influence. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2000.  (370.1 B4631e)

Hawkins, Hugh. Between harvard and america: the educational leadership of Charles W. Eliot. New York; Oxford University Press, 1972.  (378.744 H314b)

Mooney, Carol Garhart. Theories of childhood: an introduction to Dewey, Montessori, Erikson, Piaget and Vygotsky. Beltsville, MD: Gryphon House, 2000. (372.2101 M779t)

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCACS)  http://nca.asu.edu

National Education Association (NEA)  http://nea.org
 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources

Department of Education Washington D.C. http://ed.gov

National Center for Education Statistics http://nces.ed.gov

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ bl
last updated:
05/13/08