.

 

Economics

This guide suggests resources for research in the field of economics.  See also the research guide for Industry Information.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.  Sources with call #s preceded by R, are located in Kent Reference, main floor.

A Dictionary of Economics Library subscription resource
An encyclopedia of macroeconomics R 339.03 En196
Librarians' Internet Index - Economics web resource
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Library subscription resource

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works, and web sites to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.  Sources with call #s preceded by R, are located in Kent Reference, main floor.

Dictionary of economics R 330.3 Sh62d
EconData.Net web resource
Economic Census web resource
Economic Indicators web resource
State of the Nation (STAT-USA) (call Reference Desk at 573-651-2230 for access information) web resource
Statistical Resources on the Web - Economics web resource
World Development Indicators web resource

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases & to access these online resources, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following print indexes and online databases:

ABI/Inform 
business-related information
online database
Academic Search Premier 
multidisciplinary database
online database
Business Source Premier
includes economics
online database
E Journal Portal  - Business & Economics - full text journals & magazines online resource
EconLit
economic journals, books, working papers - some full text
online database
GPO Monthly Catalog
U.S. Government publications
online database
JSTOR
full text access to a number of economics  journals
online database
Westlaw Campus
legal & business information & general news
online database
Wilson Web OmniFile
includes Social Sciences Index
online database

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

330s   economics
380s   commerce
 

[go to top of page]
 
People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Distinguished women economists R 923.3 C483d
Google Directory - Economics > People web resource
Great economists and their times (from the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco) web resource
Lives of the laureates: eighteen Noble economists 330.0922 L758 2004

 

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Economic Association (AEA)
 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources


Bureau of Economic Analysis
Federal Reserve Banks
Bureau of Labor Statistics - US Department of Labor
Federal Reserve Board- Economic Research & Data
EconData.Net
Economic Policy Institute (EPI)
Economic Report of the President
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Office of Social and Economic Data Analysis (OSEDA) - Missouri info
Resources for Economists on the Internet (RFE)
U.S. Department of Commerce
Working Papers & Technical Reports in Business, Economics & Law
World Bank

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web seaching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ CAR
created 12/05; updated 2/09