.
 

 
Eating Disorders

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research about Eating Disorders, including but not limited to, Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia Nervosa, Compulsive Eating, and Compulsive Exercising.
 

Background information  |  Find Articles | Find Books | Organizations | Web Resources


Background Information
Use these sources for a general overview of eating disorders, clinical definitions and treatment options.  They are in the Reference collection on the third floor.
Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology Credo Reference Coll.
Eating Disorders Sourcebook R 616.8526 Ea8258
CQ Researcher: Eating Disorders (Feb. 10 2006) R 300.8 C8391

DSM-IV-TR. Diagnostic and Statistical

Manual of Mental Disorders.

R 616.89075 D541
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology Credo Reference Coll.
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media R 302.23083 En194
Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders R 616.8526003 C2723e3
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture R 394.1203 En195
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition R 612.303 En195
Encyclopedia of Psychology R 150.3 En191
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender R 305.403 En198
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender Credo Reference Coll.
Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise Oxford Reference Coll.
Girlhood in America: an Encyclopedia R 305.230973 G4436
Handbook for Treatment of Eating Disorders R 616.852606 H191

Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease

R 613.2 M72 1999
New Harvard Guide to Women's Health Credo Reference Coll.
go to top of page

Find Articles

Historical Articles -  use the following print indexes to find articles.  They are located in the Indexes/Abstracts area on the main floor.

Abstracts for Social Workers 1965 -1977
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature 1956 -1984
Humanities Index 1974 -1986
Physical Education Index 1978 - 2003
Social Sciences Index 1974 -1985
Social Sciences & Humanities Index 1964 -1974
Social Work Research & Abstracts 1977 -1993

Recent Articles  - use the following online databases  to find recent articles:

General
Academic Onefile (Gale)
Academic Search Premier (ESBSCO)
Proquest Research Library
Wilson OmniFile

 

 

 

Medical, Psychological, Current Events, or Sport Databases
BioAgIndex (FirstSearch) Life Sciences
CQ Researcher + Archive Current & Controversial Issues
CINAHL (EBSCO) Nursing & Allied Health, Academic Journals
Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health (Gale) Health, Drugs and Conditions, Academic Journals
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) Health, Academic Journals
Health Source Plus Consumer Edition (EBSCO) Health Overviews, Pamphlets
Health Source Plus Nursing and Academic Edition (EBSCO) Nursing & Allied Health, Academic Journals
Issues and Controversies Hot Topics
Medline (FirstSearch) Health, Academic Journals
Psychology Collection (Gale) Psychology, Academic Journals

PsycINFO (FirstSearch)

Psychology, Academic Journals
SPORTDiscus (FirstSearch) Sports, Academic Journals
go to top of page

Find Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog  to find books, videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.

Bulimia and Treatment         Anorexia and Nutrition

Subject Heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor. Below are sample subject headings.

Anorexia Nervosa Eating Disorders
Appetite Disorders Eating Disorders in Children
Body Image Eating Disorders in Literature
Bulimia Exercise Addiction
Bulimia Treatment Food Habits
Compulsive Eating Nutrition
Diet  
[go to top of page]

Organizations
Professional organizations and societies often provide very useful topic related information.
Academy for Eating Disorders
Eating Disorders Coalition for Research, Policy & Action
International Association of Eating Disorder Professionals
National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders (ANAD)
National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA)
go to top of page

Web Resources
Anorexia Nervosa and Related Eating Disorders (ANRED) Simple descriptions of many types of eating disorders. Includes statistics.
Bulimia Nervosa Resource Guide Many treatment references.
Dying to be Thin Companion site to 2000 broadcast on PBS.  Video of show available free online.
Food and Nutrition Information Center Food and dietary guidelines. Includes a directory of websites for eating disorders.
Eating Disorders Fact Sheet Index PDF fact sheets on common eating disorders.

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searching tools page

go to top of page

page developed by Information Services/ md
last updated:06/17/09 by Michaela Willi Hooper - mwillihooper at semo dot edu