.

 

Dietetics

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on dietetics and nutrition.

The Nursing Review Guide may also prove useful.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles
Find Books  |  Selected Books  |   Organizations  |  Web Resources


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

CRC Handbook of Food Additives, 2v.

R 664.06 C1 1972

A Guide to Understanding Dietary Supplements

R 615.1 T1429g 

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, 3V.

R 612.303 En195 

Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease

R 613.2 M72 1999

The American Dietetic Association's Complete Food & Nutrition Guide

R 613.2 D958a 

(1 copy in Reference, 2 copies in Stacks)

The Oxford Companion to Food

641.3 D2811o 1999

 

[go to top of page]

 

Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.
 

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

[go to top of page]

 

Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.

Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor

Keyword Examples:

Subject Heading Examples:

food science

Dietary Supplements

nutrition and statistics

Dietetics

women and nutrition and requirements

Food Analysis

diet and supplements

Nutrition Children

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart provided by Duke University to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

362.176 

Nutritional Services (special diets)

612.3

Nutrition and Digestion

613.2

Dietetics and Applied Nutrition

641.1

Applied Nutrition

664

Food Technology

[go to top of page]

 

Selected General Collection Books

[go to top of page]

 

Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

[go to top of page]

 

Web Resources

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page  

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/ MM
last updated: 02/02/06