http://library.semo.edu/images/riverboat.jpg
 
 
 
 

 

http://library.semo.edu/images/guide_title.jpg

.

 

Criminal Justice

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on Criminal Justice.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |   Primary Sources  |   Organizations  |  Web Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Crime and the Justice System in America: An Encyclopedia  (R 364.0973 C868)
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
(R 364.0321 En19)
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment  (R 346.03 En194)
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior (R 364.03 En194)
Encyclopedia of Police Science (363.20321 En19)
Encyclopedia of American Prisons (365.973 Si21e)
Encyclopedia of Serial Killers  (R 364.152303 N485e)
Encyclopedia of World Crime (R 364.03 En19)
Great American Court Cases  (R 348.04 G798)
The Oxford Companion to American Law
World Encyclopedia of Organized Crime
  (364.03 En19w)

[go to top of page]

 

Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

Black's Law Dictionary (R 340.03 B561d7)
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on American Criminal Justice (R 364.973 B2629c)
Crime in the United States (R 364.9730212 Un311)
Dictionary of American Criminal Justice:  Key Terms and Major Supreme Court
Cases  (R 353.4097303 C3583d)
Dictionary of Crime: Criminal Justice, Criminology and Law Enforcement   (R 364.03 En19d)
Historical Dictionary of Law Enforcement (R 363.203 R4236h)
Jay Robert Nash's Crime Chronology:  A Worldwide Record, 1900-1983  (R 364.9 N174c)
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics  (R 364.973 So8)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (R 317 Un3)

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and magazine articles, use the following print sources:

American Statistics Index (ASI). (Government Documents Ref 016.3173/AM35)
Monthly Catalog of United States Government
  (Government Documents Ref GP 3.8)
International Index to Periodicals, 1907-1965
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Official Index to the Times & The Times Index, 1906+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)
America: History and Life
ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
Facts.com
GPO (Government Printing Office) (FirstSearch)
Historical Abstracts  
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Research Service)

ProQuest Research Library
PsycINFO (FirstSearch)
Wilson OmniFile

[go to top of page]

 

Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.  Some Criminal Justice subject headings include:

 

Crime

 

Criminology

 

Criminal Justice, Administration of

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

Criminology 364
Penal and related institutions 365

[go to top of page]

 

Primary Sources

Codes and regulations can be found in Kent Library and in online sources:

United States Code (R 348.323 Un3)
  (http://www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode/index.html)
Missouri Code of State Regulations (R 348.78025 M691c)
  (http://www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/csr.asp)
Revised Statutes of the State of Missouri  (R 348.78023 M691l)
  (http://www.moga.state.mo.us/homestat.asp)
United States Codes and Regulations and state codes can be found in Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.List resources here.

[go to top of page]

 

Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences
  (http://www.acjs.org)
American Society of Criminology
  (http://www.asc41.com)
National Center for Victims of Crime
  (http://www.ncvc.org)

[go to top of page]

 

Web Resources

Bureau of Justice Statistics
   (http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs)
Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence
   (http://ibs.colorado.edu/cspv/infohouse/violit)
Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice
   (http://www.cjcj.org)
Department of Homeland Security
   (http://www.dhs.gov/dhspublic)
Department of Justice
   (http://www.usdoj.gov)
Federal Bureau of Investigation
   (http://www.fbi.gov)
Federal Bureau of Prisons
   (http://www.bop.gov)
FedStats
   (http://www.fedstats.gov)
National Institute of Corrections
   (http://www.nicic.org)
National Institute of Justice
   (http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/nij)
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Research Service)
  (http://www.ncjrs.org)
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
   (http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook)
Statistical Abstract of the United States
   (http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/)
THOMAS (Legislative Information)
   (http://thomas.loc.gov)
Uniform Crime Reports
  (http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm)
United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network
   (http://www.uncjin.org)

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/cp 5/2/08