|
|
|
Copyright Law |
This guide suggests resources and
strategies for research on United States copyright law, with emphasis
on its application to academic pursuits.
|
|
Contents of this
research guide |
Background
Information | Facts & Figures |
Find Articles | Find Books
|
Primary Sources |
Organizations | Web
Resources
|
|
|
|
|
Background
Information (Overview Sources) |
Encyclopedias and other reference works
are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn
more about a particular topic. They provide topic summaries, context,
and bibliographies for further reading.
| Cybercrime: A Reference Handbook |
2004 |
R 364.168 Sch262c |
|
Patent, Copyright and Trademark |
1999 |
R 346.048 El42p3 |
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Facts & Figures
(Fact Sources) |
Copyright Basics. Circular 1. U S
Copyright Office.
http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ01.pdf
Fair Use. FL 102. U S
Copyright Office Factsheet.
http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl102.html
How to Open and Maintain a Deposit
Account in the Copyright Office. Circular 5. U S
Copyright Office.
http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ05.pdf
How to Investigate the Copyright Status
of a Work. Circular 22. U S Copyright Office.
http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ22.pdf
Make Sure Your Application Will Be
Acceptable. Circular 1c. U S Copyright Office.
http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ1c.pdf
Reproductions of Copyrighted Works by
Educators and Librarians. Circular 21. U S
Copyright Office.
http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ21.pdf
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Find Articles |
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases
to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. For a complete
list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the
Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.html).
To find historical/source materials,
use the following print sources, which are housed in the
Indexes/Abstracts area:
International Index
Social Sciences and Humanities Index
Social Sciences Index
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles
use the following online databases:
LexisNexis Academic Universe
JStor
Project Muse
Wilson OmniFile
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Find General
Collection Books |
Use the
Kent Library Catalog
(http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals
(journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and
other materials.
Keyword searches allow you to use
your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject
headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the
Reference Desk on the main floor.
Copyright
Copyright, International
Copyright infringement
Copyright and Distance Education
Internet -- Law and legislation
Multimedia systems -- Law and legislation
Computer software -- Law and legislation
Video recordings -- Fair use (Copyright)
|
Browse the shelves by call
number. Use the
Dewey
Decimal chart (http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/fi_books_dd_list.htm)
to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:
| Copyright |
346.0482 |
| international law |
341.7582 |
| law |
346.0482 |
| library operations |
025.12 |
| public administration |
352.749 |
| Intellectual property |
346.048 |
| international law |
341.758 |
| public administrative support |
352.749 |
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Primary Sources |
17 USC R 348.323 Un3
Title 17 of the United States Code is entirely devoted to
Copyright, and is the embodiment of Federal statutory law on the
subject. The Title is broken down into thirteen chapters as
follows:
| Chapter |
Heading |
Section |
| 1 |
Subject Matter and Scope of Copyright |
101 |
| 2 |
Copyright Ownership and Transfer |
201 |
| 3 |
Duration of Copyright |
301 |
| 4 |
Copyright Notice, Deposit, and Registration |
401 |
| 5 |
Copyright Infringement and Remedies |
501 |
| 6 |
Manufacturing Requirements and Importation |
601 |
| 7 |
Copyright Office |
701 |
| 8 |
Copyright Arbitration Royalty Panels |
801 |
| 9 |
Protection of Semiconductor Chip Products |
901 |
| 10 |
Digital Audio Recording Devices and Media |
1001 |
| 11 |
Sound Recordings and Music Videos |
1101 |
| 12 |
Copyright Protection and Management Systems |
1201 |
| 13 |
Protection of Original Designs |
1301 |
37 CFR AE 2.106/3
Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations is the
embodiment of Federal rules and regulations implementing the statutory
requirements set forth in Title 17 of the United States Code.
37 CFR is broken out as follows:
| Chapter |
Heading |
Part |
| I |
United States Patent and Trademark Office,
Department of Commerce |
1 |
| II |
Copyright Office, Library of Congress |
201 |
| III |
Copyright Royalty Board, Library of Congress |
301 |
| IV |
Assistant Secretary for Technology Policy,
Department of Commerce |
401 |
| V |
Under Secretary for Technology, Department of
Commerce |
501 |
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Organizations |
Professional organizations and/or
societies often provide very useful topic related information.
American Library Association (ALA)
Copyright Issues
http://www.ala.org/ala/washoff/WOissues/copyrightb/copyright.htm
Association of Research Libraries (ARL)
Federal Relations and Information Policy
http://www.arl.org/info/frn/copy/copytoc.html
Association of Research Libraries (ARL)
Copyright Committee
http://www.ala.org/ala/acrlbucket/copyrightcommitt/copyrightcommittee.htm
Digital Future Coalition
http://www.dfc.org/
Educause Copyright/Intellectual Property
Policies
http://www.educause.edu/Browse/645?PARENT_ID=112
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
|
Web Resources |
Digital Millennium Copyright Act. H.R. 2281
http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/z?c105:h.r.2281.enr:
Cornell Law School. LII/Legal Information Institute.
U S Code collection.
Title 17 -- Copyrights
http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/html/uscode17/usc_sup_01_17.html
Bitlaw: A Resource on Technology Law; Intellectual Property
Regulations (37 CFR) Index
http://www.bitlaw.com/source/37cfr/index.html
Cornell Law School. LII/Legal Information Institute.
Supreme Court Collection. Search the
opinions of the U S Supreme Court. Search term
'copyright'
http://supct.law.cornell.edu/supct/search/index.html?query=copyright
U S Copyright Office
http://www.copyright.gov/
North Carolina State University Libraries Scholarly Communication
Center. Online Copyright
Tutorial Series
http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/scc/tutorial/
The Copyright Primer
http://www-apps.umuc.edu/primer/enter.php
|
For a list of Web searching tools,
see the Find:
web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
page developed by Information
Services/ PW
last updated: 08/31/06 |
|
|