.

 
Computer Science

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on computer science.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  Criticism & Reviews  |  Primary Sources  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources  |  Additional Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.


Encyclopedia of computer science and technology ( R 004.03 H3834e)

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

Dictionary of Computing
Dictionary of the Internet
The Penguin concise dictionary of computing ( R 004.03 P865p 2003)

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, use the following print sources:

Computer & Control Abstracts
Computer Literature Index
 

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Individual Computer Science Journals  -- a  list of titles for browsing
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library Database
Wilson Omnifile Database

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Computer Programming
Computer Science
Computers

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

004 Data processing Computer Science.
005 Computer programming, programs, data
006 Special computer methods
 

[go to top of page]
 
Criticism & Reviews

Computing Reviews (Index area)
Tom's hardware guide

[go to top of page]
 
People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

International biographical dictionary of computer pioneers. (R 920.9004 In8 )
 

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

Association for Computing Machinery
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources

Infomine links for Computer Science
Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library Database
W3 Schools -- web development tutorials

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).

[go to top of page]
Additional Resources

Great jobs for computer science majors (R 331.702 G564g)

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ ks
last updated:3/7/2006