http://library.semo.edu/images/riverboat.jpg
 
 
 
 

 

http://library.semo.edu/images/guide_title.jpg

.

 

Communication Disorders

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on communication disorders.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources  |  Additional Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Concise Encyclopedia of Language Pathology  (R 616.855003 C748)
The Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders
(R 617.8003 T847e2)
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience (R 612.803 En19)
Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (R 616.003 G131)

[go to top of page]

 

Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

The American Sign Language Dictionary (R 419 St45a)
Assessment and Treatment for School-Age Language Disorders: A Resource Manual (618.92855 N1671a)
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology: A Resource Manual
(616.855075 Sh643a2)
Pocket Reference of Diagnosis and Management for the Speech-Language Pathologist (616.855 W5851p2)

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and magazine articles, use the following print sources:

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Education Index, 1929+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier
CINAHL
ERIC
GPO

Medline
ProQuest Research Library
PsycINFO
Wilson OmniFile

[go to top of page]

 

Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Some communication disorders subject headings include -
Audiology
Communicative disorders
Deafness
Hearing disorders
Language disorders
Speech disorders
Speech disorders for children
Stuttering in children

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

616   Medicine
617   Medical Sciences
618   Medical Sciences

[go to top of page]
 

Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Academy of Audiology
   (http://www.audiology.org)
American Society for Deaf Children
   (http://www.deafchildren.org)
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
   (http://www.asha.org)
Canadian Association of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists
   (http://www.caslpa.ca/english/index.asp)

[go to top of page]

 

Web Resources

Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
   (http://www.agbell.org)
Council of Academic Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders
   (http://www.capcsd.org)
Gray's Anatomy
   (http://www.bartleby.com/107)
National Association of the Deaf
   (http://www.nad.org)
National Center for Voice and Speech
   (http://www.ncvs.org)
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
   (http://www.ninds.nih.gov)
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
   (http://www.nidcd.nih.gov)
Net Connections for Communication Sciences and Disorders
   (http://www.mnsu.edu/comdis/kuster2/welcome.html)
Sound and Fury
   (http://www.pbs.org/wnet/soundandfury)
Virtual Tour of the Ear
   (http://ctl.augie.edu/perry/ear/hearmech.htm)
The Voice Foundation
   (http://www.voicefoundation.org)
The Whole Brain Atlas
   (http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB)

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]

Additional Resources

Dissertation Abstracts
  
(an online database available at http://library.semo.edu/find/db_az.asp#D)

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/ cp
last updated:  3/9/09