|
|
|
Children's
Literature
|
This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on the subject
of children's literature.
|
|
Contents of this research guide
|
Background Information | Facts & Figures | Find
Articles | Find Books | Criticism & Reviews | People | Organizations
| Web Resources | Additional
Resources
|
|
|
|
|
Background
Information (Overview Sources)
|
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start
a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.
They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further
reading.
A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books (Y-R 011.62
L628a7)
Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6 (Y-R 011.65 B464)
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature (Y-R 809.8928203
C7679)
Fifteen Centuries of Children's Literature (Y-R 028.52 B513f)
International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature (Y-R
809.8928203 In8)
The
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature (Y-R 809.892803 Ox25)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)
|
Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar
works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.
Art and Design in Children's Picture Books: An Analysis of Caldecott
Award-Winning Illustrations (Y-R 028.5 L119a)
The Coretta Scott King Awards Book, 1970-2004 (Y-R 028.5079 C812)
Dictionary of American Children's Fiction (Y-R 813.5409928 H366d)
The Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult Books (Y-R 028
H783)
Newbery and Caldecott Medalists and Honor Book Winners (Y-R 028.5079
N4241)
|
|
[go to top of
page]
|
|
|
|
Find Articles
|
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and
newspaper articles. For a complete list of Kent Library's online
indexes and databases, see the Find: articles
page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).
To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and
magazine articles, use the following print sources:
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Humanities Index, 1974+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the
following online databases:
Academic Search Premier
ERIC
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Primary Search
Proquest Research Library
Wilson OmniFile
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Find General Collection Books
|
Use the Kent Library
Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books,
periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government
documents and other materials.
Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings.
Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on
the main floor.
|
Browse the shelves by call number. Use the Dewey Decimal
chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you
in the right subject areas or try the following:
Y-R Reference books pertaining to children's literature or
education, in the Instructional Materials Center (IM Center) on the third
floor
Y-E Children's picture books in the IM Center
Y Children's and young adult literature in the IM Center
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Criticism & Reviews
|
Book Review Digest (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main
floor)
Book Review Index (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main
floor)
Children's Book Review Index (Y-R 028.52 C4372)
Children's Literature Review (Y-R 028.5016 C437)
Some specific periodicals include:
Booklist
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Childhood Education
Horn Book Magazine
Language Arts
The Reading Teacher
Young Children
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
People
|
Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers &
historical figures related to this topic or field.
Black Authors and Illustrators of Books for Children and Young Adults
(Y-R 809.8928208 M951b3)
Contemporary Authors (928 C7672)
100 Most Popular Children's Authors (Y-R 810.99282 M153o)
St. James Guide to Children's Writers (Y-R 028.52 T918)
Something About the Author (Y-R 928 So54)
Also individual volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography,
including:
American Writers for Children Before 1900 (928.1 D561 v.42)
American Writers for Children, 1900-1960 (928.1 D561 v.22)
American Writers for Children Since 1960: Fiction (928.1 D561
v.52)
American Writers for Children Since 1960: Poets, Illustrators, and
Nonfiction Authors (928.1 D561 v.61)
British Children's Writers, 1800-1880 (928.1 D561 v.163)
British Children's Writers, 1880-1914 (928.1 D561 v.141)
British Children's Writers, 1914-1960 (928.1 D561 v.160)
British Children's Writers Since 1960 (928.1 D561 v.161)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Organizations
|
Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful
topic related information.
Association for Library
Services to Children (American Library Association)
(http://www.ala.org/ala/alsc/alsc.htm)
Center for Children's Books
(http://www.lis.uiuc.edu/~ccb/)
Children's Literature Association
(http://chla.wikispaces.com/)
Missouri Association of School
Librarians
(http://www.maslonline.org)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Web Resources
|
Children's Book Awards
and Other Literary Prizes
(http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/awards.htm)
Internet School
Library Media Center (ISLMC) Children's Literature and Language Arts
Resources
(http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/childlit.htm)
Literary
and Related Awards (Association for Library Services to Children)
(http://www.ala.org/ala/alsc/awardsscholarships/literaryawds/literaryrelated.htm)
The Children's Literature Web
Guide
(http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown)
Vandergrift's
Children's Literature Page
(http://www.scils.rutgers.edu/~kvander/ChildrenLit/index.html)
|
For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources
page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
Additional Resources
|
Cape Girardeau Public
Library
(http://capelibrary.org/default.aspx)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
page developed by Information
Services/ cp
last updated: 5/2/08
|
|
|