.
 

 

 
Child Development

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on the physical, psychological, and social development of children.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources  | 


 
Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
    305.23103 C1442
The Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence
    R 305.23103 G131
Dictionary of Developmental Disabilities Terminology
    R 618.9285889 D55616d2
 

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

 Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
    R 372.21072 H191

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.html).

To find historical/source materials, use the following print sources located in the Indexes/Abstracts area:

Education Index
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier
AGRICOLA
ERIC
JStor
Project MUSE
PsycINFO
Wilson Omnifile
 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Child development
Child psychology
Child rearing
Children--Growth
Children with disabilities--Development
Infants--Development
Infants (Newborn)--Development
Motor ability in children
Toddlers--Development

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/fi_books_dd_list.htm) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

Child development        305.231
physiology                    612.65
psychology                   155.4
 

[go to top of page]
 
People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Mary Ainsworth
    http://www.psy.pdx.edu/PsiCafe/KeyTheorists/Ainsworth.htm
Albert Bandura
    http://www.des.emory.edu/mfp/bandurabio.html
Urie Bromfenbrenner
    http://www.psy.pdx.edu/PsiCafe/KeyTheorists/Bronfenbrenner.htm
Robert Coles
    http://www.dbpeds.org/section/fall98/coles.html
Erik Erikson
    http://www.ship.edu/~cgboeree/erikson.html
Sigmund Freud
    http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/freud/freud01.html
Howard Gardner
    http://www.pz.harvard.edu/PIs/HG.htm
Daniel Goleman  
http://www.americanscientist.org/template/InterviewTypeDetail/assetid/30504;jsessionid=aaa5LVF0
Harry Harlow
    http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aso/databank/entries/bhharl.html
Robert Havighurst
    http://faculty.mdc.edu/jmcnair/EDF3214%20Topic%20Outline/Robert%20Havighurst.htm
Karen Horney
    http://www.webster.edu/~woolflm/horney.html
Lawrence Kohlberg
    http://tigger.uic.edu/~lnucci/MoralEd/overview.html#kohlberg
Abraham Maslow
    http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aso/databank/entries/bhmasl.html
Maria Montessori
    http://www.montessori-namta.org/NAMTA/geninfo/mmbio.html
Bruce Perry
    http://www.childtrauma.org/aboutCTA/bio_bruce.asp
Jean Piaget
    http://www.piaget.org/biography/biog.html
B. F. Skinner
    http://www.bfskinner.org/bio.asp
Edward Thorndike
    http://www.indiana.edu/%7Eintell/ethorndike.shtml
Lev Vygotsky
    http://www.sk.com.br/sk-vygot.html
John Watson
    http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aso/databank/entries/bhwats.html
 

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

NACD National Association for Child Development
    http://www.nacd.org/
NAEYC National Association for the Education of Young Children
    http://www.naeyc.org
National Center for Early Development and Learning (NCEDL)
   
http://www.fpg.unc.edu/~ncedl/
Foundation for Child Development
    http://www.ffcd.org/

Society for Research in Child Development
    http://www.srcd.org/
 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources

Facts for Families
    http://www.aacap.org/publications/factsfam/
ChildTrends Databank
    http://www.childtrendsdatabank.org/
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
    http://www.nichd.nih.gov/
Age-Appropriate Toys for Children
    http://www.storknet.com/cubbies/safety/ageappropriatetoys.htm
Child and Family WebGuide
    http://www.cfw.tufts.edu/
ChildStudy.net
    http://childstudy.net/
Zero to Three
    http://zerotothree.org

 

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ PW
last updated: 11/14/06