.

 
Child care and guidance

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on child care and guidance

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  Criticism & Reviews  |  Primary Sources  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources  |  Additional Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Cambridge encyclopedia of child development
Encyclopedia of early childhood education ( R 372.2103 En19 )
Key concepts in earlyc childhood education and care

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

 Handbook of research on the education of young children

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).


To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier
Education Full Text
ERIC
PsycInfo
Wilson Omni File

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Child care 
Child care services
Child care workers
Day care centers
Early childhood education
Early childhood education activity programs

(note: try browsing through the list of subject headings: there are a lot of subdivisions such as 'Child care -- United States'  or 'child care workers -- Training of -- United States'

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

370
372
649

[go to top of page]
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

Association for the Education of Young Children -- Missouri Affiliate (AEYC-MO)
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
River's Bend Association for the Education of Young Children (Eastern Missouri regional branch of AEYC-MO)

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources

http://www.earlychildhood.com/
Missouri dept. of education early childhood standards

Missouri dept. of education early childhood

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
Additional Resources

 

Child care research guide
Children's literature research guide
Education research guide

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ KS
last updated: 10/07/2009