.

 
How to find book reviews

You can always check with a librarian if you do not have the full name of the author, the full name of the work, or the date of publication.

Contents of this research guide

Children's Lit  |  Print Resources  |  Electronic Resources  |  Web Resources  


Children's Lit Book Reviews
Check out the following journals/periodicals to find book reviews focusing on children's literature.

Booklist
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Childhood Education
Horn Book Magazine
Language Arts
The Reading Teacher
Young Children

Print Resources

Many professors direct their students to use paper indexes to find book reviews.  These indexes are usually arranged by year.  Within each yearly volume, the arrangement is by the author's last name.

Book Review Digest, 1905 to current
Indexes/Abstracts Area, Main Floor

Book Review Index, 1965 to current
Indexes/Abstracts Area, Main Floor

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974
Indexes/Abstracts Area, Main Floor

An Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities, 1961 to 1990
Indexes/Abstracts, Main Floor

The New York Times Book Review Index, 1896-1970
Indexes/Abstracts Area, Main Floor

The New York Review of Books, 1963 to current
Periodicals Collection, Main Floor

[go to top of page]
 
Electronic Resources

Many of our electronic databases allow you to limit your search to book reviews.  Often you will use a drop down menu, from which you can select to limit your search to book review.  Note:  A librarian can help you to quickly locate the book review limit feature.

Academic Search Premier

This multidisciplinary database contains book review journals.  To search for a book review, choose Book Review from the drop down menu Document Type under Limit Your Results in the advanced search.

Book Review Digest with Retrospective (1905 - )
An index of nearly 3 million reviews of over 900,000 books from 1905 to the present day.  Includes some full text reviews as well as annotations and excerpts.

Books in Print
Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from over 44,000 North American publishers.  Book reviews in this database are few and far between, but you can get ideas of books to review using this source.

JSTOR
JSTOR commonly covers from the date a journal began publication until the last five to seven years.  To limit to book reviews, check the box next to Review under Limit To: Type.

Project Muse
Project Muse picks up the most recent years of many of the publications found in JSTOR. To search for review, click on Advanced Search and check the box Reviews Only under Type of Content.

Proquest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database contains some book review journals.  To limit to book reviews, click on More Search Options, scroll to Document Type and choose Review > Book Review.

Wilson Omnifile
Multidisciplinary database, contains arts and humanities subjects including some book reviews.  To limit to book reviews, choose Book Review from the drop down menu under Document Type in Advanced Search.

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources


BookBrowse
Use the Search BookBrowse feature to locate a specific author or title.  This Web site contains reviews for recently published books.

BookPage
Use the Archives link to locate book reviews from 1996 to present.

BookSpot
Draws from multiple types of sources: newspapers, magazines, online sources.


New York Review of Books
 
Use the Archives feature at the very bottom of the page to search for book reviews from 1963 to present.

New York Times on the Web: Books
Use the Search Book Reviews since 1981 feature to find book reviews.

Yahoo! Directory: Book Reviews
This directory entry contains children's books reviews as well as many different genres of books written for adults.

[go to top of page]
 
Page developed by Information Services/ MM / MWH
Last updated: 2/24/2009, ES