.
 

 
What Was Happening the Year I was Born?

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on a particular time period.
 

Contents of this research guide

Facts & Figures  |   Find Articles Find Books  |  Primary Sources  |   Web Resources  |  Additional Resources 


 
[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

American Decades (R 973.92 Am352)
American Eras
(R 973 Am3523)
American Years
(R 973.0202 G9141a2)
Born This Day: A Book of Birthdays and Quotations of Prominent People
    through the Centuries
(R 808.882 N867b)
Day by Day, the Forties (R 909.8240202 L553d)
Day by Day, the Fifties
(R 909.8250202 M553d)
Day by Day, the Sixties (R 909.8260202 P228d)
Day by Day, the Seventies (R 909.8270202 L553d)
Day by Day, the Eighties
(R 909.8280202 M496d)
Day by Day, the Nineties
(R 909.8290202 Av16d)
Historical Atlas of American Crime
(R 364.973 R7225h)
World Epidemics: A Cultural  Chronology of Disease from
    Prehistory to the Era of SARS
(R 614.49 Sn52w)

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, such as newspapers and magazines, use the following print sources:

New York Times Index, 1851+
   (located in Index/Abstracts area, main floor)
Official Index to the Times & The Times Index, 1906+
   (located in Index/Abstracts area, main floor;
   indexes the London Times)
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900-current
   (located in Index/Abstracts area, main floor)
St. Louis Post-Dispatch Index, 1980-current
   (located in Index/Abstracts area, main floor)
Wall Street Journal Index, 1958-1991
   (located in Index/Abstracts area, main floor)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

America:  History and Life
Academic Search Premier
(EBSCOHost)
Facts.com
Proquest Research Library and Newspapers
Wilson Web Omni File
 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the third floor.

America--History--Chronology
History, Modern--Chronology
United States--History--Chronology
United States--History--1969-
United States--History--20th century
United States--Politics and government--1945-1989-
United States--Politics and government--20th century
United States--Social conditions
United States--Social life and customs
World history

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/fi_books_dd_list.htm) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

902    Miscellany of history and geography
909    World history
973    History of the United States

[go to top of page]
 
Primary Sources

American Memory
   http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html

Historic Documents  (R 973 H6294)
National Archives Experience:  Digital Vaults  
  http://digitalvaults.org/#

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online -- Timeline Browse
    http://search.eb.com/
History Channel: History of the World Timeline
   http://www.historychannel.com/timeline/index.jsp?year=1900
History Page: Tables of History
    http://www.scholiast.org/history/timetables/index.html

Timelines of History
    http://www.timelines.ws/

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
Additional Resources

Editorials on File
  
(located in Index/Abstracts area, main floor)
Keesing's Contemporary Archives, 1971-1986
  
(located in Index/Abstracts area, main floor)
Keesing's Record of World Events, 1987-1995
  
(located in Index/Abstracts area, main floor)

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ PW
updated: 6/1/04 JM; 6/23/06, 5/5/09 PW