.
 
Biology
This guide suggests resources and strategies for research in Biology
Contents of this research guide
Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find General Collection Books   |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 

 
Background Information (Overview Sources)
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology (R 503 M178 2002) 
Encyclopedia of genetics.
(R 576.503 En195)
Encyclopedia of mammals. (R 599.03 En19)
Encyclopedia of microbiology. (R 576.03 En19)
[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)
Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

Concise encyclopedia of biology (R 570.3 C748 1996)
Concise Oxford dictionary of ecology
(R 574.503 C748)
Dictionary of Biology
Dictionary of microbiology and molecular biology (R 576.03 Si64d2)
Dictionary of genetics (R 576.503 K586d6)
Dictionary of Zoology
Penguin dictionary of plant sciences (R 580.3 P3767 1999)
Plant identification terminology : an illustrated glossary (R 581.014 H242p)

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical and specialized articles (paper indexes)

Biological Abstracts
    (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Helminthological Abstracts
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Zoological Record
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts, main floor)

 

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier
Agricola
BasicBiosis
JStor

Proquest Research Library
Wilson Web Omni File

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books
Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Life Sciences
Biology

The biology heading lists many 'narrower terms' or related, more specific terms. Some examples are:
Anatomy
Botany
Cytology
Ecology
Genetics
Parasitology
Physiology
Zoology
Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

570s Biology & life sciences
580s Plants (Botany)
590s Animals (Zoology)

[go to top of page]
People
Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers, & historical figures, related to this topic or field.

American men and women of science. (R 925 Am35 )
Dictionary of scientific biography (R 925 D561)

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations
Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Association of Plant Biologists
American Institute of Biological Sciences.
National Association of Biology Teachers.

Society for Applied Microbiology.
Internet Public Library listing of life sciences associations (biology and related fields)

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources
National Association of Biology Teachers Links page a categorized listing of biology related links.
Librarian's Internet Index -- biology links
Internet Public Library listing of life sciences links
For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).
[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ ks
last updated: 08/18/2006