.

 
Arts and Crafts Architecture in America

This guide suggests resources for locating information on the Arts and Crafts movement in American architecture and interior design

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


Background Information (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Bibliographies, other)


Calloway, Stephen (ed)  The elements of style: a practical encyclopedia of interior architectural details from 1485 to the present  721  El26

Craftsman-style houses  Q 728.0973  C842

Ford, Edward R  The details of modern architecture  724.5  F751d

Kaplan, Wendy  "The art that is life": the arts and crafts movement in America, 1875 - 1920  745.0973  K141a

Stickley, Gustav  Craftsman bungalows: 59 homes from the craftsman  728.373  C842

Stickley, Gustav  Craftsman homes: architecture and furnishings of the American arts and crafts movement  728.3  St51c  1979

Stickley, Gustav  More craftsman homes: floor plans and illustrations for 78 mission style dwellings  728.370223  St52m  1982

[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find newspapers, magazine and journal articles and reviews, use the following print resources:

American Historical Review, 1995 - (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

Book Review Digest, 1905 + (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

Book Review Index, 1965 + (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886 - 1974 (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History, 1838 – 1974  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

Essay and General Literature Index, 1900 -  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

Humanities Index, 1974  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

Index to Book Reviews in Historical Periodicals, 1972 – 1977  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities, 1961 – 1990  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

International Index to Periodicals, 1907 – 1966  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

New York Times Book Review Index, 1876 – 1970  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

New York Times Index, 1851 +  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature, 1990 +  (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

 

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer reviewed articles use the following online databases.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)

American History & Life  (ABC-CLIO)

American Humanities Index  (EBSCOHost)

American Memory  (Library of Congress)

Article 1st  (FirstSearch)

Encyclopedia Britannica  (Britannica)

Historical Abstracts  (ABC-CLIO)

Jstor  (Jstor)

MasterFILE Elite  (EBSCOHost)

Proquest Research Library + Newspapers  (PROQUEST)

Wilson Omnifile  (H.W. Wilson)

[go to top of page]
 
Find Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.

Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.  Use Arts and Crafts Movement for your primary subject heading when researching this subject.  This term may be subdivided as in Arts and Crafts Movement - United States.

Browse the shelves by call number. Use the Outline of the Dewey Decimal System (http://lib.duke.edu/libguide/fi books dd list.htm)  to get you to the proper subject areas. Some titles with Dewey numbers are listed below.

Anscombe, Isabelle  Arts & crafts style  745.4441  An81a

Bowman, Leslie Greene  American arts & crafts: virtue in design  Q 745. 0973074  B684a 

Cathers, David M  Furniture of the american arts and crafts movement: Stickley and roycroft mission oak  749.213  C286f

Dempsey, Amy  Art in the modern era: a guide to styles, schools & movements: 1860 to the present  709.0403 D3994a

Massey, James C  House styles in america: the old-house journal guide to the architecture of american homes  728.3720973  M385h

Mayer, Barbara  In the arts & crafts style  745.097309  M452i

Meyer, Marilee Boyd  Inspiring reform: boston’s arts and crafts movement  745.0974461  In729

Naylor, Gillian  The arts and crafts movement: a study of its sources, ideals, and influence on design theory  745.44942  N233a

Royka, Paul A  Mission furniture: furniture of the american arts and crafts movement 749.213  R815m

Trapp, Kenneth R (ed)  The arts and crafts movement in california: living the good life  745.9794   Ar79

Winter, Robert  American bungalow style  728.3730973  W734a

[go to top of page]
 
People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Ashbee, Charles Robert  An endeavor towards the teaching of john ruskin and william morris  745.44942  As32e

Boris, Eileen  Art and labor: ruskin, morris, and the craftsman ideal in america  745.0973 B644a

Cumming, Elizabeth  The arts and crafts movement  745.09034  C912a

Kaplan, Wendy  Charles rennie mackintosh  709.2  M217c

Kornwolf, James D  M. h. ballie scott and the arts and crafts movement; pioneers of modern design  720  K843

Kuzmanovic, N. Natasha  John paul cooper: designer and craftsman of the arts & crafts movement  745.4492  K9697j

Lang, Michael H  Designing utopia: john ruskin’s urban vision for britain and america  307.1216092  R897l

Parry, Linda  William morris  745.4492  W66 

Sanders, Barry  A complex fate: gustav stickley and the craftsman movement  749.213  Sa56c

Smith, Mary Ann  Gustav stickley, the craftsman  728.37092  St51s 1992

Stansky, Peter  Redesigning the world: william morris, the 1880’s, and the arts and crafts 745.942        St26r

Winter, Robert  Toward a simplier way of life: the arts and crafts architects of California  720.9794    65

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

Arts and Crafts Society of Ann Arbor, Michigan
(http://www.arts-crafts.com)

Arts & Crafts Society of Central New York
(http://www.acsny.org)

Colorado Arts & Crafts Society (http://www.co.jefferson.cous/ext/dpt/comm_res/boettcher/cacs.htm)

Society of Arts and Crafts
(http://www.societyofcrafts.org)

William Morris Society in the United States
(http://www.morrissociety.org)

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources


The Arts and Crafts Movement in the American Midwest (http://www.cl.utoledo.edu/canaday/artsandcrafts/rootshtml)

Craftsman Perspective
(http://www.craftsmanperspective.com)

Foundation For the Study of the Arts and Crafts Movement at Roycroft. (http://www.roycroft.org)

Historic Chicago Bunalow Initiative
(http://chicagobunalow.org)

Online Arts & Crafts Movement Resource Directory (http://www.ragtime.org/Ragtime_Resources.html)

Roycrofters-at-large Association
(http://www.roycrofter.com/rala/rala.html)

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ BL
last updated:
01/25/08