.

 

American Art and Artists

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on American art and artist.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources  |  


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading

The American art book  Q  709.7303 Am3516

Baigell, Matthew  A concise history of American painting and sculpture  709.73  B149c

Baigell, Matthew  Dictionary of American art  R 709.73 B149d

Bennett, Ian A history of American painting Q 759.13 B493h

Berlo, Janet Catherine (ed)  Plains Indian drawing, 1865 1935 : pages from a visual history  Q 741.9708997 P691

The Britannia encyclopedia of American art  R  709.73  B777

Craven, Wayne  American art: history and culture  709.73  C855a

Dempsey, Amy  Art in the modern era: a guide to styles, schools, & movements 1860 to  the present  709.0403  D3994a

Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco  The Rockefeller collection of American art at the fine   arts museums of san Francisco  Q  759.1307479  F493r

Kort, Carol  A to z of American women in the visual arts  R  920.72  K8451a

Kovinick, Phil  An encyclopedia of women artists of the American west  R  920.72  K8495e

McCoubrey, John W  American art, 1860 1960; sources and documents  709.73  M137a

McCoy, Garnett  Achieves of American art; a directory of resources 709.73  M137a

Morgan, Ann Lee  The oxford dictionary of American art and artists  R 709.7303 M8211o

Rosenak, Chuck  Museum of American folk art encyclopedia of twentieth-century American folk art and artists  R 709.22  R723m

Turner, Jane  Encyclopedia of American art before 1914  709.7303  En193

Wertkin, Gerald C  Encyclopedia of American folk art  R 745.097303  En193

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find newspapers, magazines and journal articles and reviews, use the following print   recourses:

            American Historical Review   ( located in the periodicals area)

            Book Review Digest      (located in the periodicals area)

             Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities     (located in the periodicals area)

            Readers Guide to Periodical Literature    (located in the periodicals area)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer reviewed articles use the following online databases.

                   Academic Search Premier 

                    American History & Life 

                    American Memory 

                    Art Stor

                    Article 1st 

                    Dissertation Abstracts 

                    Encyclopedia Britannica 

                    Historical Abstracts

                   Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia

                  Jstor 

                  MasterFILE Premier

                  Oxford Art Online

                 Oxford Reference Online

                 Proquest Research Library + Newspapers

                Wilson Omnifile  

 

Find Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk.  Use Art, American for your primary subject heading when researching the subject.

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

Alloway, Lawrence  American pop art  709.73  Al57a

Breeze, Carla  American art deco: architecture and regionalism  720.9730904  B7459a

Ferguson, Russell (ed)  Hand painted pop: American art in transition Q  759.1309045  H191

Foresta, Merry A  American photographs: the first century from the issacs collection in the national museum of American art  779.0973074  N213a

Haskell, Barbara  The American century: art & culture, 1900 1950  709.7307474  H2734a

Joachimides, Christos and Rosenthal, Norman  American art in the 20th century: painting and sculpture 1913 1993 Q  709.73074  Am35

Leja, Michael  Looking askance: skepticism and American art from eakins to duchamp  709.73  L537l

Lucie-Smith, Edward  American realism  759.13  Am35l

Rago, David  American art pottery  738.30973  R127a

Rosenbluth, Robert  On modern American art: selected essays  709.7309045  R7239o

            Seitz, William Chapin  Abstract expressionist painting in America  759.13 Se45a

Steffensen-Bruce, Ingrid A  Marble palaces, temples of art: art museums, architecture, and American culture, 1890 1930  727.7097309  St32m

Troccoli, Joan Carpenter  Painters and the American west: the anschultz collection  758.9978007  T741p

Whitney Museum of American Art  American art of the twentieth century: treasures of the whitney museum of American art  709.7307474  W615a

Whitney Museum of American Art  American visionaries: selections from the whitney museum of American art  709.7307474  W615a

[go to top of page]

 

People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

Boswell, Peyton  George bellows  759.1  B657

Cikovsky, Nicolai  Winslow homer Q 759.13  H752c

Fairbrother, Trevor J  John singer sergeant Q 759.13  Sa73f

Gallati, Barbara Dayer  William merit chase  759.13  G135w

Goodrich, Lloyd and Bry, Doris  Georgia okeeffe  759.13  Ok2g

Hassrick, Peter H  Charles m. russell  Q 709.24  R912h

Henkes, Robert  Latin American women artists of the united states: the works of 33 twentieth-century women  704.0420896  H3893l

Keller, Gary D.  Contemporary chicana and chicano art: artists, works, culture, and education  Q 704.036872  C7673

Lane, James Warren  Whistler  759.13  L242w

Levin, Gail  Theme & improvisation: kandinsky & the American avant-garde 1912 1950: an exhibition organized by the dayton art institute 759.130904 L578t

Lyons, Deborah  Edward hopper and the American imagination 759.13  L995e

Metropolitan Museum of Art  African-American artists, 1929 1945: prints, drawings, and paintings in the metropolitan museum of art  973.049673  M567a

Nemerov, Alexander  Frederic Remington & turn-of-the-century America  709.2  R284n

Otfinoski, Steven  African Americans in the visual arts  704.0396073  Ot2a

Pollack, Griselda  Mary cassatt: painter of modern women  759.13  P7653m

Robertson, Bruce  Marsden Hartley  Q 759.13 R545m

Sewell, Darrel  Thomas eakins  Q 759.13 Se89t

Shapiro, Michael Edward  George Caleb Bingham  Q 759.13  Sh22g

Swinth, Kirsten  Painting professionals: women artists & the development of modern American art, 1870 1930   759.13082  Sw65p

Venn, Beth  Unknown terrain: the landscapes of Andrew wyeth  759.13 Y561u

Waldman, Diane  William de kooning  Q 709.24 D369w

[go to top of page]

Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

 American Society of Portrait Painters (http://asopa.com)

 Arts Midwest  (http://artsmidwest.org/)

 Friends Of The Arts  (http://fota.com/)

             Missouri Arts Council (http://missouriartscouncil.org/)

             National Endowment For The Arts (http://arts.endow.gov/)

             Oil Painters of America (http://oilpaintersofamerica.com)

             Plein-Air Painters of America (http://p-a-p-a.com)

Web Resources

            American Art Festivals  (http://americanartfestivals.com/)

American Artists (http://princetonol.com)

 Artcyclopedia (http://artcyclopedia.com/)

 Metropolitan Museum of Art  (http://metmuseum.org/)

 National Museum of American Art  (http://sc94.ameslab.gov/)

 National Gallery of Art  (http://nga.gov/)

 Smithsonian American Art Museum  (http://americanart.si.edu/)
 

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/BL
last updated: 2/17/09