.

Animal Science

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on Animal Science

Contents of this research guide

Background InformationFind Articles | Find Books  |   Web Resources


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

 

Print reference works are shelved on the third floor of Kent Library.

 

Encyclopedia of Animal Science

R 636 En193   

Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science

R 630.3 En19

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

R 591 G929g 2003

Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia

R 503 V839 2002

 

Electronic reference works on many topics can be found in the Credo Reference Collection and the Oxford Reference Collection, available on Kent Library's Quick Facts page.  Click the hyperlink below to go to a specific book.  You may have to log in if you're off campus.

 

Animals and Science: A Guide to the Debates Credo Reference Collection
Black's Veterinary Dictionary Credo Reference Collection

A Dictionary of Animal Behaviour

Oxford Reference Collection

A Dictionary of Zoology Oxford Reference Collection
Saunders Comprehensive  Veterinary Dictionary Credo Reference Collection

 

 

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page.

To find recent articles, including scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, use the following online databases:

To find historical articles, including scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, use the following print indexes and online archives:

Helminthological Abstracts (1932 - present)

Indexes and Abstracts (1st Floor)
JSTOR  
Wildlife Review (1935 - 1995) Indexes and Abstracts (1st Floor)

[go to top of page]

 

Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Keyword Examples:

Subject Heading Examples:

animal science

livestock

dairy and farming

animal nutrition

cattle feeding

dairy science

horses and communication

horses

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

590 zoological sciences 

591.5

animal behavior

598 birds
599 mammals

636

animal husbandry

636.2

dairy cattle

636.1

horses

638 insect culture
639 hunting, fishing & conservation

[go to top of page]

 

Web Resources
For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page.

 

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services. 
Updated 7/16/09 by Michaela Willi Hooper - mwillihooper at semo dot edu